We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely great stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palazzo Montecasino
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for the first time in the Palazzo at Montecasino. The hotel is very grand and the service was really of the highest standard. The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous and they made every effort to make you feel welcome and at home. On arrival we received champagne and a very attentive receptionist booked us in. On arrival in our room we were given a crash course on all the amenities in the room. From the complementary bottle of wine, olives and chocolates all the way thru to the exceptionally well appointed breakfast was a treat. The only criticism I have was that the television was a little disappointing (very old) and the furniture in the hotel room probably needs a refresh. My car was parked for me by an attendant however the key was never brought back to my room - I had to go down and ask around for it. Great hotel none the less...well worth the money you pay to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Jeff A,

We much appreciate your feedback and the time taken to write a Trip Advisor review, and of course are delighted your stay was a pleasurable one.

We commence our hotel room refurb towards the end of this month and with that, new TV's are going into the rooms.

I'm sure, should you choose to return for another stay at the Palazzo Hotel, that you will be pleased with the new 'look and feel' of the rooms and the upgraded amenities.

Warmest regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
There are newer reviews for The Palazzo Montecasino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

What can one say about this hotel? They have perfected their service and one could not find fault with them, the rooms although a tad small for a 5 Star establishment are well laid out, clean and the bed comfortable! The bathroom sports a separate shower, although the shower door in the room I was in opens into the shower, stupid design fault if you ask me!
Otherwise the hotel was fantastic and worth a second visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Daveset,

Wonderful to read your review and the positive comments about your stay!

We are commencing with our room refurbishment towards the end of this month and have taken cognisance of our guests' comments

Thank you for taking the time to write your review - it is much appreciated.

Warm regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights in a suite located on 5th floor hotel was very good within Monte casino with a safe and secure environment and lots of activities nearby. My suite was good well decorated with complimentary bottled water. Breakfast was excellent. I really enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rehandhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Rehandhund,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel so comfortable and conveniently situated.

Thank you for taking the time to write a response and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay at the Palazzo Hotel.

Kind regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel with my partner. On first impressions it is very grand and the lobby is amazing. To be honest we didn't spend that much time there as my partner was working and I had organised tours on both days. The staff were friendly - the porters more than the front desk staff however!! Our room was very nice although on arrival I did find some long black hairs on the floor in the bathroom which was very off putting... It is in a good location with the Montecasino mall within a few minutes walking distance. The communal areas and the main restaurant were lovely and lots of nice touches. We had arrived here from Cape Town - we stayed at The Cape Grace hotel and I did think the Cape Grace was better in terms of friendly, approachable staff and little luxuries in the rooms. That said, overall it is a good hotel and in a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Julia P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a candid review of your recent stay at the Palazzo Hotel.

We do appreciate the insight and feedback from our guests and your comments have been brought to the attention of the relevant departments for their actioning.

Yes, the hotel does provide a fabulous setting and ideal city location - a real oasis and in close proximity to attractions, shopping and entertainment.

Our hotel room refurbishment commences towards the end of September and new room amenities are in the process of being selected as part of that programme, so I'm sure, should you return in the future for another stay, you will be delighted with our upgrade!

Warm regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our second stay at The Palazzo Montecasino. A beautifully decorated hotel with beautiful gardens and surrounding areas.
Once checked in we went to our room which was lovely and overlooked the gardens. The room wasn't big but was clean.
The only problem we had was with the surrounding rooms - when they flushed the toilet or turned on the taps/shower you could hear the noise of the water going down the pipes and it was very loud. Unfortunately this kept us awake for most of the night - our worst night sleep of the holiday!! It would not prevent us from returning to this hotel because the location is good and there is a casino next door!! We didn't have breakfast there so unable to comment on the food ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wishinguwerehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Wishinguwerehere,

Thank you for taking the time to write your Trip Advisor review about your recent stay at the Palazzo. Yes, it is a great location with easy access to all major routes and highways, business hubs, and of course shopping, cinemas, theatres, casino, award-winning bird park and restaurants.

We have taken cognisance of your comments and will address these with our Maintenance department.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hotel was very busy when we stayed as it was a public holiday in South Africa. Yet despite that pressure staff were friendly and helpful.

Had to queue for breakfast as hotel was full but the staff were very efficient and we were warned of this at check in, so no major issue. Only had a wait of about 3-4 minutes which was nothing.

The room was very hot when we checked in and the air conditioner was pretty loud. One of the lampshades was split and the room was 'cosy' with two suitcases in it. Room was facing road but noise was almost non-existent

Internet was free.

The bathroom was clean a good size, but the hot water was no more than warm when on full. This however may well have been because the hotel was full.

Location was good in terms of parking and walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Overall an enjoyable stay but made all the more enjoyable due to the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stdoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear stdoro,

We appreciate the time it takes to write a review and thank you for doing so and providing us with your feedback and insights about your recent stay at the Palazzo.

We do continually strive to improve our standard and provide an environment which is hospitable and inviting and thereby encouraging our guests to return again and again and of course we do hope we will have the opportunity of warmly welcoming you back should you return to South Africa.

Kind regards,

Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Every member of staff was absolutely amazing. Obliging, friendly, helpful, interested and well spoken. Wow. Well done to the Management!!! .Breakfast choices are brilliant although expensive, but then that is what you would expect from a truly 5* hotel. The Palazzo is really world class & right next to Monte makes it an ideal place to celebrate any occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bggl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Bggl,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review and your comments about your stay and staff at the Palazzo.

We are always pleased to receive positive feedback from our guests and do endeavour to create a destination which is special for all who visit us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmly,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun Montecasino
0.2 mi away
SunSquare Montecasino
SunSquare Montecasino
#3 of 7 in Fourways
909 reviews
10.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
6.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palazzo Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palazzo Montecasino

Address: No. 1 Montecasino Boulevard | Fourways, Fourways 2021, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range: $208 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palazzo Montecasino 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recreating the look and feel of old-style Mediterranean glamour, without compromising on modern luxury, the Palazzo hotel is a treat for all of the senses. The 246 beautifully-appointed rooms include Standard, Deluxe, Executive and Superior Rooms as well as King Suites, a lavish, opulent Penthouse and bespoke Presidential Suite. Every room is equipped with all of those small touches that add to your comfort - direct-dial phones, tea and coffee stations, mini bars, 24-room service, free WiFi and electronic safes to list but a few. Highlights to add to your stay include the Mangwanani Spa Boutique, a fully-equipped fitness centre, business centre, Montecasino Entertainment Complex, delicious Mediterranean dining at Medeo Restaurant, relaxing cocktails at Cafe Rialto, conference rooms and many more. Outdoors, a large swimming pool invites you to dip into its cool waters to escape the heat of a long day, while the poolside area beckons hours of relaxation as you let your mind finally unwind from the daily pressures of life. This is the start of your experience at the Palazzo in Montecasino... Book now to discover what else lies ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palazzo Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Palazzo Montecasino Johannesburg
Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg
Montecasino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing