We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palazzo Montecasino
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Palazzo is everything you would expect from a luxury hotel. The building, the grounds and the service are top notch. It is conveniently located a minute away on foot from the casino complex, bird sanctuary and balloon. The room itself, while not very large had every amenity needed.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogli43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear mogli43,

Thank you for your valued comments and review about your stay at The Palazzo Hotel.

We do appreciate all the feedback we receive and take cognisance of our guests' insights.

It is always especially good to receive positive input and we are so pleased your experience speaks well of our hospitality and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Amanda Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    226
    73
    24
    16
See reviews for
216
373
42
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed on business at this hotel and by and large found it a very good place to stay at. The establishment needs a little "polishing" to be a true 5 star, but there is no doubt the settings are beautiful, the pool in particular, and everyone makes a genuine effort, particularly the housekeeping and restaurant staff i found extremely polite and helpful. The rooms are small but very clean, the buffet breakfast is excellent and it is nice to see the management paid attention to details, like the ample supply of newspaper in the morning or the inevitable chocolate on the pillow.

The location was good for me, and while the entertainment at the nearby casino is a little low-key, it is nice to know there are cinemas and theaters on your doorstep. I would recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Frankieandcharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Frankieandcharl,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about The Palazzo.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the location convenient. It certainly is a plus to have the beautiful grounds we do within the limitations of the city.

We start with the refurbishment of our rooms next month and I'm sure the new look rooms will be well received by our guests.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Arrived at the Palazzo ~ 20:30 in the evening and drove into the secure car park but was advised to park the car instead of parking outside reception. So we dragged our bags to the hotel to be met by a pretty miserable receptionist who certainly didn't offer any words of advice etc regarding the hotel even though we stated it was our first time here. We found reception to be pretty surly over the 3 days / 2 nights we stayed here.

No concierge offered or available, so myself and my colleague dragged our bags to our respective rooms.

I had a room on the 3rd floor and it was a very good walk from the lifts! Good for exercise, so for me it didn't bother me but if you are older or infirm beware that some rooms are a trek.

The hotel itself is nice decorated in the reception / restaurant / bar area, the never ending corridors to the rooms though are very bland.

The standard rooms are paired in two's and have their own entrance from the corridor, that is a nice touch as it removes a lot of noise normally experienced from corridor traffic. The rooms are smaller than expected though but nicely decorated.

I was very pleased to find that I had a fresh bucket of ice in my room, which was a nice touch! Which then led me to the minibar for a refreshing gin and tonic. The Mini Bar was well stocked and automatic billing etc. The TV was good, a DVD player also provided.

A small matt provided by the bed was also a nice touch, refreshed nightly.

The wardrobe was adequate and a good room safe provided.

The bathroom is oddly configured, smallish and you the door always seemed to cause me an issue. The shower though was great (even though it leaked out of the door, perhaps drains need a clean-out to help water exit faster). Everything you need was provided and the bed was nice and comfortable.

So feeling refreshed after a shower I headed down to the bar, the bar staff were friendly and efficient which was a relief after the miserable atmosphere from reception!.

However I was very disappointed to find myself propositioned by two hookers within minutes of sitting down. Personally I like a hotel to be a safe refuge and if I wanted that service, I would head out for it!

This raises the fact that I didn't see any effective security in the hotel during my 2 nights / 3 days apart from the guys at the car park. Perhaps the hotel is more of a "party" place than I anticipated,. It did seem to have more holiday / family guests than business people whilst we stayed.

The hotel grounds are amazing and would be great in the summer and the pool looks great.

For a 5 star hotel I wasn't impressed, perhaps after 12 years the management are also tired as some of the decor.

The other montecasino hotels in the same complex appear far better managed.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing the room and if your room is 301 etc, then you are the furthest away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneWayorReturnPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear EvoqueUK,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your experience at The Palazzo Hotel. We do take cognisance of our guests' input as we use these personal insights to improve both our levels of service and our guests' hotel stay.

Some concerning issues have been raised and require further investigation. Please would you be so kind as to correspond directly with the hotel regarding your complaints.

On a positive note, refurbishment of our rooms starts next month and we are equally looking forward to our 'new' rooms!

Kind regards,
Amanda Murray
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

It's a good place to,stay with family,I didn't actually stay there,but my dad did since his a pilot,so we went to Johannesburg,we stayed in my aunt's house,and my dad came too,but stayed in the palazzo so we went there it was amazing,is a Italian theme hotel,and there's a shopping mall too,the montecasino,it was,so great since I love Italy,but the cinema was too crowded soo we went bowling..it's a great place,to stay

Room Tip: All of the rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Laureen M,

We are delighted your father's stay at The Palazzo was a pleasant one and thank you for your comments and taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review.

We look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you all back to experience our warm hospitality and 5 star service.

Kind regards,
Amanda Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We celibrated our wedding anniversary at the Palazzo and were most impressed by the superb service luxurious rooms and welcoming warmth and friendliness of the staff. The Rooms, reception halls and restaurants were luxurious well furnished and maintained. the proximity to the theater at Monte is fantastic-we will be back

Room Tip: The garden view rooms do have a better view but one never really has a great view in any city hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug pullen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Doug pullen P,

We are delighted your wedding anniversary celebrated here at The Palazzo was a specially memorable one and you received our traditional warm hospitality and service!

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have stayed here multiple times. The staff are very friendly and will organize all transport for you from the hotel, which alleviates any security worries. The restaurants are good, however the breakfast restaurant always worries me from a hygiene standpoint as there are a lot of small birds flying around in the summer. The bedrooms are functional, although cold in winter given the tile flooring in entrance and bathrooms. The walk way to the Monte casino complex is easy and opens up for lots of eating options just a stroll away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Rachel T,

Thank you for your taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Palazzo Hotel. We appreciate the feedback and insights we receive and do use these to improve both our service levels and hospitality.

We have introduced special bird feeders in our gardens to attract the sparrows away from the tempting breakfast buffet, but occasionally one or two do still find their way amongst the tables! One of Johannesburg's redeeming facets is that it is the city with the most trees in the world and these naturally provide a home for our prolific and varied bird-life.

Our rooms all have aircons which are individually adjustable. Please let our staff at Concierge know when you're next here and they will assist you with the settings to make sure you are more comfortable.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Warm regards,
Amanda Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbabane, Swaziland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nice hotel with good facilities. Two niggles. The restaurant has absolutely no main courses for vegetarians. Nothing. Nada. Not good enough in this day & age. Also bath design is useless. One of the two safety handles is impossible to grasp as the mixer tap and two taps (faucets) have been installed inches above it. Architect, project manager and hotel manager have obviously never looked at the baths properly. Main plus point is proximity to the excellent theatres in Montecasino.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngwePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear IngwePhil,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide us with your observations about your stay.

The Palazzo is now 12 years old and we are in the process of upgrading and refurbishing our rooms and am sure the new 'look and feel', once completed, will be welcomed by all. We have noted your comments about the bath handle.

Our Medeo Restaurant menu does change from time to time, dependant on availability of ingredients and taking into consideration the seasons, but we always have a vegetarian option on our menu. Currently our Starter vegetarian option is 'Zuppa di Farro' (an Italian-style soup with barley, cannelinin beans and fresh tomato) and for Main course there is a 'Cannelloni' dish (pasta tubes filled with oven-roasted aubergine, sun-dried tomato and ricotta cheese in a delicious rich tomato sauce.) All our mains are served with roasted baby vegetables and your choice of potato. Our Chef and his team are also available and more than happy to prepare something special for our vegetarian guests upon request.

We hope you will return to experience the sublime venue that Medeo affords our diners and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Amanda Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
SunSquare Montecasino
SunSquare Montecasino
#3 of 7 in Fourways
867 reviews
10.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
508 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
727 reviews
6.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palazzo Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palazzo Montecasino

Property: The Palazzo Montecasino
Address: No. 1 Montecasino Boulevard | Fourways, Fourways 2021, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palazzo Montecasino 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recreating the look and feel of old-style Mediterranean glamour, without compromising on modern luxury, the Palazzo hotel is a treat for all of the senses. The 246 beautifully-appointed rooms include Standard, Deluxe, Executive and Superior Rooms as well as King Suites, a lavish, opulent Penthouse and bespoke Presidential Suite. Every room is equipped with all of those small touches that add to your comfort - direct-dial phones, tea and coffee stations, mini bars, 24-room service, free WiFi and electronic safes to list but a few. Highlights to add to your stay include the Mangwanani Spa Boutique, a fully-equipped fitness centre, business centre, Montecasino Entertainment Complex, delicious Mediterranean dining at Medeo Restaurant, relaxing cocktails at Cafe Rialto, conference rooms and many more. Outdoors, a large swimming pool invites you to dip into its cool waters to escape the heat of a long day, while the poolside area beckons hours of relaxation as you let your mind finally unwind from the daily pressures of life. This is the start of your experience at the Palazzo in Montecasino... Book now to discover what else lies ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palazzo Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Palazzo Montecasino Johannesburg
Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg
Montecasino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing