We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palazzo Montecasino
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have booked a night away at the Palzzo Montecasino for a suprise for my husband. From making the reservation to the morning we left. it was an amazing experience. We were looked after by Deon Prinsloo, Guest Relations Manager. As we arrived at the front of the Hotel, Deon was there to meet us, checked us in and went with us to our room and made sure that we were find. We felt to special and looked after. We had drinks in the bar and the next day enjoyed our breakfast at the downstairs breakfast area. The hotel is in a good condition and are very clean and well maintained. We were very impressed by the quality of service we have received from Deon Prinsloo and his team. Thank you for making our day such a specail occasion.
Regards
Laurette and Deon Hanekom

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurette042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMPalazzo, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Hanekom,

Thank you for choosing The Palazzo as your choice to pamper your husband. By posting this review Deon has yet again been recognised for the excellent service he provides to our guests.
He loves nothing more than ensuring that our guests are taken care of on a personal level and he together with his team are constantly motivated by the great feedback that we receive.
We appreciate your comments, and thank you for your patronage.

Kind regards

Madeleine Roux | Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    224
    73
    24
    16
See reviews for
211
369
42
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is an excellent 5 star hotel in the posh Northern Suburbs of Johannesburg and it is absolutely awesome.
Beautiful gardens, rooms, foyer and amenities.... and add excellent dining and service and a stay here would be absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMPalazzo, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor. It is always so great to hear that our guests appreciated the ambiance and service the hotel has to offer.

Your comments will be shared with our chefs and service staff.

Once again thank you.

Kind regards

Madeleine Roux | Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I spent a weekend here and really enjoyed the hotel. Great choice of pubs, restaurants & entertainment next door at the casino. Very good gym. The buffet breakfast is excellent.

My room rate included free WIFI / Ethernet access to the Internet. All rooms should - in all hotels. Don't pay extra for a service that has zero marginal cost and should be standard in the price of the room.

The level of service from the staff is very good. The rooms are super-clean.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMPalazzo, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed the comforts of our hotel as well as the entertainment that Montecasino offered. Your breakfast comments will most certainly inspire our chefs to continue to deliver the most important meal of the day!

Kind regards

Madeleine Roux | Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
143 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Yes, the hotel is beautiful. Great entrance and lounge areas. The room is attractive, but really small for a hotel charging the prices they do. The bathroom is also really tight. No problems with the quality of this hotel, but I do think you pay a lot for the tiny room you get. Would rather stay at the Monte Casino Southern Sun hotel. Half the price for an equally nice, if not nicer, room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGMPalazzo, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased that you appreciate the beauty of our hotel as well as our sister hotel Southern Sun Monte Casino. It is unfortunate that your room size did not meet your expectation. We do have larger room stock, and will most certainly be able to accommodate your needs. Should you visit us again, I would recommend that you discuss your requirements with our management team upon arrival or when making your reservation.

Kind regards

Madeleine Roux | Deputy General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a night at this friendly luxury hotel where service is willing and done with a warm smile. Room is extremely comfortable and breakfast was sumptuous and excellent value. Try it and spoil yourself!

Tony

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonydry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
We are really pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments with regards to the service levels and friendliness of the staff will be shared with them. We appreciate your feedback, and assure you that this will go along way to keep them smiling and motivated.
Thank you for the breakfast feedback, it is wonderful to hear that our guests are enjoying our new breakfast selection.

We look forward to hosting you again in the new future.

Kind regards

Madeleine Roux | Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I recently spent a weekend at the Palazzo hotel at Montecasino. I had stayed at this hotel about twelve years ago, but nothing has changed since then. The rooms, common areas, etc, are exactly the same. The check-in was quick, porters were pleasant, my only complaint is the condition of the rooms. They need to be refurbished as soon as possible. They cannot justify charging those rates, when there are three star hotels in Johannesburg with better rooms!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolskjaerZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Traveller,
We appreciate your feedback on the aesthetics of the hotel.
We are in the process of refurbishing public areas and have already completed the Medeo restaurant and the Rialto Bar in our public areas. All fabrics and designs have remained the same in order to keep the “look” the same, therefore one might not recognise a change, how ever the furniture and quality is new.
In terms of our rooms, we have already refurbished our first floor, and the second to fifth floors are currently in the design face, and we look forward to the roll out in 2013.
Thank you for your patronage.
Kind regards
Madeleine Roux | Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I booked the Palazzo hotel for one night to surprise my husband for his birthday. Since it was special i went all out and booked the deluxe room. I communicated with the hotel it was a very special occasion and they assured me that upon arrival the room will be decorated with rose petals, a slice of cake and a bottle of champers. However when we for to the room , which was way smaller than expected, there was nothing.

To say i was livid was an understatement! I chose the palazzo over the Michalengelo and the Westcliff hotel.

I spoke to the manager Chad, who was very sympathetic and helpful. He arrange for a "surprise" later on that night as well as a discount on my room.

At 7pm the room was transformed. The bed was covered in rose petals, the bath was run with rose petals and candles, Campagne was chilling and a slice of decadent chocolate cake was waiting for us. And that was not all, the left me a bunch of beautiful roses and an italian serving platter!

The next morning we ordered our breakfast to the room and it was heavenly!!!!!! Served to perfection. While the room was tiny the service we received was big and excellent!

The hotel is stunning and the gardens immaculate. You would not think you are in the hustle and bustle of four ways. The only downside to this 5 star hotel is that the room is to small. It would suffice for a standard, and it would be ok for a superior, but for a deluxe room this was not on.

However while it started of with a disappointment, the Palazzo was lovely. I would not go back because of the small rooms and bath tub but it was a lovely hotel.

And they provide Charlotte Rhys products which was heavenly :)

Room Tip: Perhaps pay for the standard and the superior as the deluxe probably has better finishes but is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of your stay at the Palazzo Hotel.
Following our investigation, we realised that the prior arrangement you made was via our room service department who failed to deliver on your request for arrival, and had it only flagged for the turn down in the evening. I sincerely apologise for the frustration that this has caused you.
If I may make a recommendation for future, that should you have any special requests that these be done at the reservation stage, as all notes and comments are updated with your room requirements.
I am pleased to hear that Charl managed to assist with the reduction in rate and that he then arranged to ensure the delivery of the service.


We are pleased to hear that the rest of your stay was not affected by the disappointing arrival and that you will return to us for future celebrations.

Kind regards

Madeleine Roux | Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
10.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
922 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
717 reviews
6.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palazzo Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palazzo Montecasino

Property: The Palazzo Montecasino
Address: No. 1 Montecasino Boulevard | Fourways, Fourways 2021, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palazzo Montecasino 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recreating the look and feel of old-style Mediterranean glamour, without compromising on modern luxury, the Palazzo hotel is a treat for all of the senses. The 246 beautifully-appointed rooms include Standard, Deluxe, Executive and Superior Rooms as well as King Suites, a lavish, opulent Penthouse and bespoke Presidential Suite. Every room is equipped with all of those small touches that add to your comfort - direct-dial phones, tea and coffee stations, mini bars, 24-room service, free WiFi and electronic safes to list but a few. Highlights to add to your stay include the Mangwanani Spa Boutique, a fully-equipped fitness centre, business centre, Montecasino Entertainment Complex, delicious Mediterranean dining at Medeo Restaurant, relaxing cocktails at Cafe Rialto, conference rooms and many more. Outdoors, a large swimming pool invites you to dip into its cool waters to escape the heat of a long day, while the poolside area beckons hours of relaxation as you let your mind finally unwind from the daily pressures of life. This is the start of your experience at the Palazzo in Montecasino... Book now to discover what else lies ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palazzo Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Palazzo Montecasino Johannesburg
Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg
Montecasino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing