We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor Management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

My stay with City Lodge, Fourways,

Dirty Room.
Leaking Aircon.
Non-smoking room with a stench of cigarette smoke.
Broken mechanical blind which separates room and bathroom and yes it was stuck in the open position.
Three room changes to sort out the above, unfortunately no joy!
By the way nobody helped me move my luggage between these room.


Dirty foyer, stairs, lifts, etc

The list goes on...

Recommendation; CHOOSE ANOTHER HOTEL!

Room Tip: Face the parking lot as the main roads are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ross432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    88
    32
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
25
3
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This Hotel is comfortable and has a more homely feel about it a lot quieter basically across the road from the Monty Casino in Rand burg South Africa, this is defiantly value for monies and a lovely hotel to use for visitors that don't want to be right in the middle of the hustle and bussel but near enough to take a walk to the bright lights and a choice of restaurant, theaters and bars plus casino

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We really are glad that you enjoyed your stay and could share this news. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

"I had to book 3 of my staff into a hotel at late notice, and City lodge proved an excellent choice, so much so that we have rebooked teams into the hotel for further nights. Rooms were well appointed, reception excellent and safe secure parking and close to Monte Casino and other facilities close by. Excellent central location and value for money."

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad your staff enjoyed their stay and that our staff
were so accommodating. We look forward to seeing your teams very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Although the topic I actually enjoyed staying there, but here is the thing-
I bought 500MB WiFi which didn't work properly (hang-ups, signing in problems) and almost didn't use it. Nevertheless, they made me pay for it without even trying to hear what I had to say. Disappointing.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sharonas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks for your review - sorry about the wifi, we will look into your complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbeya, Tanzania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been to the City lodge twice and wouldn't mind visiting it again.
The Location is really good, nearby all the touristic places especially my Fav - Monte Casino Mall :)
When i first entered the hotel, i fell in love with it and also felt at home straightaway.
Their Service is Top of the world, very warm and friendly Staff and also helpful and co-operative.
They also allow you to order food from the nearby restaurants and Fast food services.
You have the Breakfast in the morning literally like a King, they have everything from milk, yogurt, fruits, pastries, omelettes,juice,coffee, tea and many more!
I would strongly recommend everyone to stay at this hotel.
Keep it up Guys! :) !

Room Tip: Any room is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Not being a fan of chain hotels, we chose this one because we were going to the theatre in Montecasino. We were so glad we did. Not only was the perfect location, but the hotel was so much more than we expected. We got a good price thanks to the weekend discount it ended up being very good value for money. The room was super clean, spacious, comfortable and very quiet. Wifi was very good, not free but inexpensive. Breakfast was excellent. But the best of all was definitely the staff! In places like this you normally find people that just do their job, but the staff here must be very well motivated and managed (and hopefully paid) because they seemed to enjoy their work, were extremely helpful and kind, and were always trying to make things better for us. As always for Johannesburg it's good to choose a place according to your activities (traffic can be horrible) but if you are going to Montecasino and Fourways, or want to be close to Randburg, Sandton or Midrand, this is the perfect place to stay. We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moniqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Fourways, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of our hotel - we're chuffed you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were so kind to you. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had to book 3 of my staff into a hotel at late notice, and City lodge proved an excellent choice, so much so that we have rebooked teams into the hotel for further nights. Rooms were well appointed, reception excellent and safe secure parking and close to Monte Casino and other facilities close by. Excellent central location and value for money.

Room Tip: I would suggets dining at the local Monte Casino where you have a myriad of choices and and excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
1.1 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
The Palazzo Montecasino
#1 of 7 in Fourways
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
4.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
#26 of 47 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Road Lodge Rivonia
Road Lodge Rivonia
#3 of 3 in Rivonia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.5 mi away
Green Park Manor
Green Park Manor
#2 of 12 in Fourways
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dalberry Guest House
Dalberry Guest House
#1 of 12 in Fourways
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Fourways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Fourways

Property: City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Address: Corner Witkoppen Road & Monte Casino Boulevard, Fourways 2062, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Fourways 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the heart of Johannesburg's Northern Suburbs, City Lodge Fourways is the ideal location for business and leisure travellers looking for quality accommodation in the area. The Hotel is a stone throw from Monte Casino, the area's entertainment icon, which boasts a world-class theatre, great dining, a casino as well as a cinema complex and many other opportunities to keep you entertained during your stay. Spacious air-conditioned rooms with queen or twin beds. Get the perfect start to another sunny day in South Africa with a legendary City Lodge breakfast, with an option to enjoy outdoors on the hotels large sundowner deck or indoors in the spacious breakfast area. Fitness Room, Boardrooms, Infinity pool ideally positioned on the sundowner deck, safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Fourways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Fourways Hotel Fourways

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing