We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but a bit of an odd location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Sun Montecasino
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a number of times now. Great service, wonderful food and lovely rooms (as long as you don't get a smoking room as the smell is not very pleasant!).

The thing about Montecasino is that it built in a kind of Italian style (after the original Montecasino) and the whole thing I find slightly odd as it is a little like being part of a film set. There are any restaurants in the complex outside the hotel and these can be found by entering into a 'town' which had been constructed inside with streets, night sky and stars, shops etc. there is a wide range of choice which is great and it's all very convenient but anyone looking for an authentic African experience might want to stay elsewhere.

I think it is problematic for people staying in Johannesburg to find somewhere that may allow them to wander around freely so this is definitely a safe option but for me, it feels pretty surreal being there. Having said that, I will probably stay there again with business as it is convenient, comfortable with great service but just bear in mind that you are stuck in a complex that has been manufactured for a certain type of experience.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Montecasino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 824 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

On arrival we can park underground with a R10 fee on first visit not refundable. Thereafter you can use you room card to scan for parking. Very good.

Reception is welcoming with good staff serving. Generally all staff are great. Smiley. A young lady on particular was impressive. Voicing around in different roles. See her at breakfast. At reception. She helped with room change. Management were proud of her which shows there interest in customer service.

Rooms were small. Way too small for two people. Showers need more attention to avoid shower water spills but you can just call maintenance as they know how to fix with beading of the glass door. We changed room from one with lovely balcony to one without as we needed that space for our luggage. Long stay I would not suggest. Short stay yes. Business stay yes.

Breakfast is awesome. It's a typical South African and British breakfast. But elevated in a grand way. You can order latte's and other warm drinks. Desserts sections is great. Egg station was fantastic. Best omelettes ever. Would have liked more chicken or lamb sausages but my tries failed. Saying there for 8 days split 4+4 means we needed variety. And I guess we got it.

Did not use facilities much. With Montecasino next door we were always busy meeting friends there. The views from lobby bar lounge are lovely.

Just a feel good hotel but with small rooms. With bigger rooms (unlikely) and tweaking some maintenance issues I will give it a fiver. For this visit its just a well earned 4.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank pt2pt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stay here every time I visit South Africa for a week at a time, three times per year
Nice atmosphere, friendly helpful staff. Rooms are comfortable but I prefer rooms facing the terrace that the Pivot, as there are brighter.
Nice bar and terrace and they also do a great cappuccino.
The atmosphere for the whole monte casino complex is a bit surreal in its Italianate style but it's good fun and lots of restaurant options across the rod in the casino itself

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

If you would like to stay in n 4 star hotel with NO mirror, the Southern Sun is the hotel to stay in! Staff and management did not really care. I've stayed here before a couple of times, and I don't no why they changed it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnardC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is an excellent hotel. The rooms are beautiful, the staff are friendly, breakfast are value for money. An amazing experience overall. Can recommend this hotel to everyone that would like 5* service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

southern sun monte always tops.great service and always look at their patrons needs and wants. i or rather we find that although i stay half an hour to home i find it a home away from home. chad and the other front office staff give their very best. they handle situations with the utter professionalism that tshogo the brand shows off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Edmund R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

A camp cot was requested and assured on booking. Whilst checking in this was again requested and assured to be available by staff. No camp cot was provided, and we had to constantly request it. The staff otherwise were very friendly, and the hotel room and food was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
0.1 mi away
SunSquare Montecasino
SunSquare Montecasino
#3 of 7 in Fourways
909 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
533 reviews
6.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
966 reviews
10.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Montecasino

Address: cnr Witkoppen Road & Montecasino Boulevard, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range: $179 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Montecasino 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Montecasino, Johannesburg Bold, glamorous and undeniably spectacular, Southern Sun Montecasino brings together modern convenience and old-world Venetian elegance with ease. This Tsogo Sun hotel was inspired by the 15th-century villa of Palazzo Corsini that lies on the slopes between Gianicolo and Tiber River in Italy. With a host of modern facilities and a convenient location within the Montecasino Entertainment & Gaming Complex, you are sure to be swept away from the moment you step inside the impressive lobby of this memorable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southern Sun Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Montecasino Hotel Fourways

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing