We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints, very modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Sun Montecasino
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No complaints, very modern”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel sets the benchmark for 4 star properties in South Africa. One of the most modern rooms that the Southern Sun Group has created. I had my family with and booked 3 rooms which they managed to give us next door to one another.

Check in was quick and easy. Parking was ample, safe and secure. The hotel lobby had a lovely ambiance and lots of friendly faces greet you. Service was immaculate. I just cannot fault the property. Very impressed and will stay here on every visit to JHB.

Excellent Value for money especially since is walking distance to the Montecasino Complex for food, entertainment and everything else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiamondMerchant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    268
    58
    13
    7
See reviews for
209
174
22
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Arrived very tired after a very long journey and had a bit of of a problem on checking in. The hotel was expecting me a day earlier and as I had not appeared, they charged a cancellation fee. I explained that this was an error as I had arrived as planned and the problem was quickly fixed.

Luggage taken promptly to my room and got settled in.

Room was nice and some unusual features seen. 2 large wooden doors divide the bedroom from the bathroom just opposite the bed. When you pull the doors back, you gain access to a lovely bath. Separate access to toilets, wash basin and shower cubicle.

Shower is amazing with a choice of and overhead shower or a high pressure hand shower. Had to ensure bath mat was in place when the power shower was in use as the water passes under the glass door onto the bathroom floor. Nice little selection of toiletries and clean white towels supplied daily.

Bed is a double with white bed linen and 4 good quality pillows.

Flat screen tv, hair dryer and safe also available.

The mini fridge has 2 bottles of water and one cam of juice - complimentary.

Tea and coffee making facilities are fine.

View from window was possibly one of the better views as I overlooked the pool area.

2 big mirrors are nice but the have a picture of a flower attached so the mirrors are more like picture frames.

Food in this hotel is superb. Breakfast has an enormous choice of fresh food, fruit, meats and cheeses, breads, pancakes, bacon and sausages, eggs cooked to order. The chefs are very efficient at producing omelettes within a few minutes.

Overall, I loved this one. Although I never got the chance to go to the pool due to time constraints, it appeared to be small but nice. Think it may be in the shade though in the afternoon.

The little terrace outside is just perfect for chilling out with a delicious glass of chilled wine. The little dish of olives were a great appetiser too.
Staff are efficient and friendly and service is excellent.

Price .. Well it's not the cheapest hotel in the area but it still is value for money. It's location is great for nightly visits to monte casino.

Hope to return and would recommend this for business and pleasure.

Room Tip: 2 lifts and a stairwell so access is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaidoftheLoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

i have previously stayed at both palazzo and sunsquarevmobtecasino hotels and i believe southern sun is a good mix of both. quck checkin. i stsyed in room 130 that is locsted just behind the bar but it was no sound into my room. fresch and modern designed rooms and very very good wuality of breakfast. highly recommended for business, pleassure or fsmilly trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was in this Hotel for business and It's very confortable, the service is great, the restaurante are very very good but the breakfast it's awesome. Everything was perfect and the staff very friendly and professional. I will come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventureswithnarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Excellent multi-cuisine food,soome great restraurents nearby,Has a huge screen to watch soccer with beer,Gym with good equipments,well-suited and spacious conference room,good room-service,fun spending money in the casino and lot more!!!

Room Tip: Ideal for a family holiday in Joburg!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishabh1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WR
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Enjoyable experience....from dining to sleep to breakfast. Add the mall and entertainment and you have a top spot.

The rooms are clean and spacious. The food was exceptional and the variety too. Would be nice with your partner as there is a sliding door between the room and the bathroom....makes for good company. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whydoyouneedascreenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Comfortable, clean & cosy. Breakfast normal fare and good - no other meals at hotel. Staff extremely helpful and friendly - receptionist at check in point to waitrons on deck. Strange artwork on mirror in bedroom covering most of mirror?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
1.7 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 48 in Sandton
866 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Montecasino

Property: Southern Sun Montecasino
Address: cnr Witkoppen Road & Montecasino Boulevard, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Montecasino 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Montecasino, Johannesburg Bold, glamorous and undeniably spectacular, Southern Sun Montecasino brings together modern convenience and old-world Venetian elegance with ease. This Tsogo Sun hotel was inspired by the 15th-century villa of Palazzo Corsini that lies on the slopes between Gianicolo and Tiber River in Italy. With a host of modern facilities and a convenient location within the Montecasino Entertainment & Gaming Complex, you are sure to be swept away from the moment you step inside the impressive lobby of this memorable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Southern Sun Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Montecasino Hotel Fourways

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing