We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our life saver”

Flintstones Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flintstones Guest House
Ranked #9 of 12 Fourways B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We found this guesthouse totally by default as the place we booked was a total fraud. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. it is very basic accommodation and needs a bit more activities for children however we enjoyed our stay very much and in future will definitely consider returning there should we be in Johannesburg again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annoited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Why is it that a guest house that has 17 rooms, does not have a manager? When I arrived, there were 4 staff slouching around the dining room, which was very intimidating? All queries have to be phoned through to the absent owner. The place is lacking in passion and any attention to detail, the absentee owner squeezing as much profit as he can out of the place. Very basic rooms with no home comforts, and not even a fridge in the room. Very poor lighting in the rooms, and poor maintenance. You have to go outside the room to switch on the hot water???
Unbelievably, the laundry was left to dry on the patio around the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 247LiveLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff have no proper training. They sit around talking. the accommodation is not very welcoming. the rooms could do with a good clean. The staff have to phone owner/mamager everytime there is a query. They do not inform you about how the breakfast works and seem to 'hang around the dining area making it seem crowded.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liezel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

A comfortable adequate and clean bedroom with an en suite shower and a private garden. The furnishings need a little modernization and some TLC.
Breakfast was served timely and was good.
Would I recommend this Establishment, most certainly it is not a 5 star experience but a very pleasant 3/4 star.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I needed accommodation for a business trip in Johannesburg and didn't feel like paying R1200 for a hotel room to simply sleep at and leave again early the next morning.
I booked at Flintstones Guest House and received friendly efficient service and everything that I requested on by booking form, apart from air conditioning. Fortunately it was not so hot in October and I will consider this Guest House again as long as its not in mid-summer.
Signage could have been better. I drove past it twice in the dark before finding it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrantNobleMTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We have stayed at Flintstones Guest House in Durban North and loved it. So, when we were in Fourways visting family we thought we would give this one a try. It is fantastic value for money and could not be better located. We have found in the past Guest Houses are not always child friendly - this one is. There is a lovely pool and relax area. Our room even had it's own private garden area. Connie, the lady in charge gave us a wonderful breakfast every morning - you get to choose each evening what you want from a menu ! Something we only found out when we got there - you do not have to take an expensive taxi ! The Gautrain and bus stops right near the house.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveltime082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We spent one night at the Flintstones Guest House in Gauteng (they also have another location in Durban). We chose this guest house because of its proximity to friends that we were visiting nearby. It’s tough to say too much about the facilities because we arrived late at night and left early in the morning – so we didn’t spend too much time there. From what we could tell it looked like a beautiful space with lots of common areas both indoors and outdoors. Our bedroom was incredibly spacious and very clean and well maintained. The hot-tub in our room was very relaxing, especially after our long flight into JoBurg from the U.S. The staff was friendly, helpful, and very accommodating of us needing to get up and check out very early in the morning. Pretty convenient to JNB (airport). As with a lot of other places we stayed, we had trouble finding their actual website, rather than the website of travel companies that tell you about them. THIS is a link to their site: http://www.flintstones.co.za/html/home.html.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fourways hotels
2.5 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
601 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
0.6 mi away
Norscot Manor Guest Lodge
Norscot Manor Guest Lodge
#5 of 12 in Fourways
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green Park Manor
Green Park Manor
#1 of 12 in Fourways
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flamingo Rest
Flamingo Rest
#1 of 8 in Fourways
9 reviews
1 mi away
Dalberry Guest House
Dalberry Guest House
#3 of 12 in Fourways
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flintstones Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flintstones Guest House

Address: 89 Leslie Avenue, Fourways, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fourways
Price Range: $41 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flintstones Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flintstones Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing