We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great house and grounds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dyrham Park

Dyrham Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Dyrham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dyrham Park is home to an ancient deer park, 17th-century house and formal garden. In 2015/16, the house underwent a huge conservation project to replace the leaking roof and install a biomass boiler. The house and garden are now in a state of transformation and include new tours, areas and exhibitions.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great house and grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Wonderful view of the house if you walk down from the car park. It is a large estate with wonderful walks. The house itself is beautifully furnished and there are some great paintings and Flemish tapestries. The metal statue on top of Dyrham Park looks very much like the work of Cellini, a Florentine silversmith, the guides asked around and looked in books until they discovered that the reason for this was that the statue was done by one of Cellini's students. So a big thank you to the guides for satisfying my curiosity.
This house and estate is well worth repeat visits.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aguest1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    286
    80
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Go off the beaten track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We walked around the perimeter of dyrham Park, very quiet also caught a glimpse of deer. We started on the green route, fabulous views as far as the Clifton suspension bridges, called in at the cafe then followed the blue route back to the car park, it helped that it was a beautiful clear day. There is a bus from the visitor centre to the house.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth it for the views and deer park alone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

And the house and garden were well worth a visit too!
We went on a lovely sunny day and walked around the park for a long time without even seeing the house which is hidden in the valley. The views were magnificent-right across to Wales and we saw herds of deer.
The house itself was interesting and the guides very approachable and knowledgeable. The first owner was fascinating as he managed to keep his position through various monarchs just be being very good at his job-a first class civil servant! I especially enjoyed the kitchen area and the glimpse of life 'below stairs'.
Lovely gardens and wild flower meadows.
The sort of place to go back to again and again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abby1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

we went without too much expectation, one of our party was in a small mobility scooter so we knew that their visit would be compromised, but to our delight the room attendants were so helpful and caring that although she couldn't see the top floors a folder had been prepared for such occasions, an amazing place to visit

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank c_john610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful break in our journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We called in at Dyrham en-route to our holiday base in Somerset. What a delight. The courtesy bus takes you to the house which is quite a long downhill walk away from the car park. We walked down to the house and saw deer on the way which was lovely. The gardens are beautiful and very easy to get round with paths everywhere. The house is fascinating and well worth a look round. Very good restaurant/tea room with an outside seating area for fine days. Loved the day at Dyrham and will be visiting again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobby079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dyrham Park also viewed

Ozleworth, Gloucestershire
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 
Coleford, Forest of Dean
Castle Combe, Cotswolds
 

Been to Dyrham Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing