We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Place to Stay in Provence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taven Residences

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Baux de Provence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taven Residences
princeton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay in Provence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

La Riboto de Taven is one of the nicest travel experiences my wife and I have enjoyed. Christina and Phillippe are fantastic hosts. We spent 6 days there and feel we have made new friends for life. In addition to their helpfulness, the site is magically beautiful, convenient as a central location for touring, and the food is outstanding. The grounds are immaculatly groomed. The pool is perfect for some relaxing after a hot day of driving. We have traveled all over the world and this is one of the most enjoyable places we have stayed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
150 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

This place was recommanded to us by the owner of our B&B (Mas de Cornud) in St. Remy.
We just had dinner here, but in fact we were sorry that we did not book this place to stay.
The setting is great but two things really need special mentioning here.
The food. They serve a set menu for every evening with two choices for starters and main courses. Excellent food!
The hosts; very and again, very friendly people.
Next time we are in the area, we will definately book this place!
NB. we did not check the rooms, but they do have an internet site.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

This hotel is in the perfect setting - in a valley surrounded by beautiful moutains with a perfect view of the town Les Baux en Provence (and Les Baux was in walking distance of the hotel) . The owners were the perfect hosts. When we left, we felt like we were leaving family. We also had a wonderful dinner at the hotel with all fresh ingredients. Breakfast was also lovely taken outside in peaceful, gorgeous surroundings. We stayed in the "Apartment" which was just lovely with a beautiful view of the pool and gardens. Because of the locality of the hotel, it made it very easy for day trips, St. Remi, Avignon, Uzes, Isle Sur La Sorgue, Fountain de Voucluse, Gordes, Rousillion, Arles, St. Marie de la Mer and many other beautiful towns. The next time we are in Provence, we will be coming home to La Riboto de Taven. Thanks Christine, Jean Pierre, Philippe for everything!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvana_Michel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

This lovely old family home, converted into a small, intimate hotel, is a perfect destination. The setting is idyllic - in a small valley just below Les Baux with gorgeous views up to the hilltop town. Paths lead up to the town and, despite appearing very steep, provide easy access to the town - and then away from it when the mid-day crowds arrive. The hosts and chef, members of the family who have owned this large home for generations, have all three been in the hotel and restaurant business their entire careers, and they know what they are doing. Previously the property was a One Star Michelin restaurant, but the family decided, after many years of working to the exacting Michelin standards, that they preferred to run the property as a small hotel and restaurant with a more personal touch. The chef, however, is the same - so you get One Star Michelin food without the fuss or expense usually associated. What a find! We ate dinner at the hotel every night as the food was - hands down - the best we had during our three week stay in France. The menu is very limited - two appetizers, two entrees and two desserts every night - which allows the chef to use what was fresh in the market on that day, and to create dishes according to his own sensibilities. When the food is this good, it isn't necessary to have so many choices. We had excellent fish, creative salads and very simple yet to-die-for desserts. A small pool - square - in the lovely garden - provided a perfect respite from the mid-day sun.

This is a lovely, well appointed but not extremely high amenity property - if you want extreme luxury, a lot of fuss, extras, etc. - this is not for you. But, if you want a quiet stay in a beautiful, expertly managed, friendly, authentic and delicious location, this is the place for you. We will definately stay again, and have already recommended this property to friends.

One small comment - our mattress was a little stiff - might be good to get a more plush one and/or add a topper. Other than that, the stay was perfection.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkeley_CA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

My wife and I visited La Riboto de Taven for 3 days in the first weekend of July. The beautifully renovated and comfortable farmhouse, the perfectly manicured gardens, the wonderful location just below Les Baux, and the excellent restaurant make this a truly fantastic place to be based at for a relaxing and enchanting holiday. But the cherry on the cake is the hospitality of the owners who make you feel at home and are very helpful, friendly, and not intrusive.

The hotel itself is an ideal base to view so many quaint villages and areas in the surrounding Provencal countryside .... including Le Pont du Gard, Nimes, Arles in one day and various Luberon villages on another day trip by car. Not forgetting the advantage of being able to get to Les Baux easily early morning when it is quieter.

My wife and I will definitely be back at La Riboto. It is one of the best ever hotels I have been to, and so refreshingly different to the larger and international hotel chains in many cities in Europe. You really feel that you are immersed in the Provence countryside when staying at La Riboto, and it is a memorable experience worth remembering.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAAttard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

As I write this review, I realize there is little I can add to what has already been glowingly stated about La Riboto de Taven. This little slice of heaven is a wonderful spot to relax and experience first class Provencal hospitality. Every element is pleasing to the senses. The hosts are lovely and caring, the rooms are beautiful and decorated in a style appropriate to the area, the grounds are beautifully manicured, and the food is incredibly delicious. The half-board option is definitely the way to go here. Too bad the restaurant is closed on Wednesdays; my husband and I would have gladly eaten here every night! This was a truly wonderful vacation experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oregon2Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

Number 1 on Trip Advisor for Les Baux de Provence is absolutely well-deserved. If you are planning to be in this region, you should dine here and if available, stay with the most gracious people you will ever have the pleasure of meeting.

The beauty of the grounds can keep you from sight-seeing. The magnificant food will keep you coming back for more. Chef Jean Pierre represents his region's food and style so well. We actually decided to dine here for our entire stay, execpt Wed. night when the dining room is closed. The breakfast at 20 euros is perfectl. I have never had or will ever have a croissant as good as the one served. Also included, other breads which were delicious, home-made jam, fruit, yogurt and a little cheese. (very little), coffee and juice.

We were upstairs with a bedroom, sitting room separate bathroom and toilet. It was comfortable and adequate. The t.v. was tiny with only French channels, but actually it was good to be tuned out.

Christine and Philippe make you feel at home and there is nothing they can not help you with. This location is very central to many interesting and beautiful towns and sights. You will have a magnificant view (up) of the town of Les Baux. If you choose to visit, go early as it gets very congested with tour buses, cars and bikes.

If you are looking for a really special and magical place look no further than La Riboto de Taven

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSSMetroD.C.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Baux de Provence
0.9 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baumaniere les Baux de Provence
Baumaniere les Baux de Provence
#4 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.7 mi away
Benvengudo
Benvengudo
#5 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
#6 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Mas d'Aigret
Le Mas d'Aigret
#3 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hameau des Baux
Hameau des Baux
#2 of 2 in Paradou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taven Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taven Residences

Property: Taven Residences
Address: Vallon de la Fontaine, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Les Baux de Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Les Baux de Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
La Riboto De Taven Hotel Les Baux De Provence
Taven Residences Provence, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing