We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel where you are taken excellent care of”
Review of Taven Residences

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Baux de Provence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taven Residences
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Hotel room was very pretty and it had enough space for our needs. We get a very good night sleep since the room and environment were so quiet. The hotel restaurant was romantic with great home food, I recommend having at least one dinner there (they had nice packages in the hotel site). We stayed just one night in the hotel on August 2010, but if we would have known how nice and relaxing the hotel and its surroundings were, we would have booked another two nights.

The location is great also for daytrips around Provence. And my favourite hotel in Provence.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SummerKesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Taven Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 69 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

We spent 5 nights at Riboto recently and had a wonderful time. The location is ideal- easy access to other parts of Provence for day trips. Looking up at Les Baux every day as well as the cliffs above Riboto was fantastic.

The grounds are very green and lush with well maintained and designed terraced gardens.

Public area such as the dining room, lobby restrooms, pool and outdoor gravel patio where we ate breakfast each morning are beautiful. Considerable attention and time has gone into making every detail perfect.

The owners and chef owner are unusually nice and warm. The food was outstanding. I recommend the half board plan which was a bargain considering the quality of the food and expert preparation. Breakfast was also delicious and bountiful. Eggs or cheese at breakfast are available on request. There are also other very good restaurant options just minutes away (e.g. Bistrot du Paradou) for those wanting more variety in ambiance. But one of the reasons we chose Riboto was the reputation of the cuisine and ability to dine in at night after running around during the day.

We stayed in Vincent, one of two troglodyte suites. I’m wondering if the Trip Advisor reviewers who are recommending these suites have actually stayed in them or just observed their ideal location and assumed they must be even more perfect than the main house rooms.

Vincent had moisture issues on arrival. The fabric sofa and beds were slightly damp. The owner showed us the remote control for air conditioning and fan or dehumidifier (?) They also recommended keeping the windows open even while running the a/c or fan and were the first to mention the musty smell that pervaded the room. Running the a/c or dehumidifer eliminated the moisture problems but the strong, musty smell remained throughout our stay regardless if the windows were open or closed. Despite glass doors, four windows and lots of lamps, the room was also too dark for our taste. It’s possible that the adjacent suite, which appeared smaller and shallower with the bed closer to the glass entrance doors, was less musty and dark.

Advantages to the cave suites were privacy, spaciousness and amazing views. Beds were very comfortable with nice linens. There were two bathrooms in Vincent: one with just a toilet and another with a separate shower, double sink, bidet and excellent soaking tub with strong sprayer.
We slept well.

Unfortunately, the rooms in the main house were booked up during our stay and we were unable to move or look at them. We did, however, speak to another couple who loved their main house room and said it had a balcony with some chairs.

All guests are welcome to use the mid level gravel patio near the cave suites with plenty of tables and upright chairs and can enjoy the same mesmerizing views as the suites.

We highly recommend this area of Provence and La Riboto de Taven.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This was a gem! The owners were so hospitable--they made it seem like home for us. They even made american pancakes for the girls for breakfast and at dinner they prepared whatever the girls wished. The food was fantastic. The rooms were wonderful, quite large and the bathrooms huge and modern. The setting is lovely. It is now a favorite in France.

Room Tip: ask for a trogladyte room but all the rooms are great
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jill f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This was the third trip for my wife and I to Provence, but this time we had our two kids and my parents with us. So, finding a hotel that would satisfy everyone can be tricky at the best of times, but finding a place that exceeds everyone's expectations is truly special - La Riboto de Taven was one of these places.
First, Philippe and Christine are as good a host as you can find anywhere. They were always readily available and ready to help with everything. They booked an olive oil tasting for us, had good recommendations on restaurants for lunch in towns we were visiting each day, and were great to talk with about so many things.
Second, the hotel was perfect - only 7 rooms, so small and intimate, but the rooms were well appointed with good air conditioning, very quiet and comfortable. We stayed in the suite and secondary room (there were 6 of us in total) in the top level of the house, and it was like our own private area of the hotel. The pool was wonderful, their dog (Fred) was a great source of fun for all us, and the property is so beautiful both inside and out.
Third, the food - oh my god. I can't understand why the place is not packed every night with people from outside of the hotel, since they don't serve only hotel guests. Christine's brother Jean Paul is the cook, and we had the best meals of our entire trip while staying there. Every bottle of wine Philippe recommended was exquisite and paired perfectly with the meal. The breakfasts were full of the best of Provence - ultra fresh croissants, fresh fruit, coffee, jams, etc. and they went out of their way to make little surprises for our son. When they made him pancakes one day, and a cheese omelette the next, he declared that this was the best hotel he'd ever stayed in (and although only 13 years old, he's experienced traveller!).
Finally, the location - right below Les Baux backed against another cliff, the views alone were great. But Les Baux is also in a very central location to make for easy day trips to almost all the Provence highlights. Avignon, Arles and Pont du Gard are less than 30 minutes, Orange and Aix are 45, and St Remy is 10 minutes up the spectacular winding road.
All in all, this was one of the best experiences we have ever had in a hotel, and cannot wait to find an excuse to visit again. Congratulations, Christine, Philippe and Jean Paul on creating such a special place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Real_FoodieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We just had dinner but I wish we had stayed here. While the dinner was delightful, it was the hospitality and wonderful conversation with Christine and Philippe that made this so special.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 909,090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

French Impressions: An elegant dinner in late June at twilight, set under an orchard of olive trees just outside the main house. We were not staying at the small hotel here, we had made reservations for dinner only. A welcoming owner and her husband serve us, with her brother as the chef. They had inherited the property from her parents. They spoke excellent English. White tablecloth service. A high quality prix-fixe meal of 4 courses, very reasonably priced - around 65 Euros per guest I believe. Lovely wine, also reasonably priced. Many choices for each of us to choose our favorites for each course and included a lovely cheese course, too. My skate appetizer and Filet Mignon dinner were both superb. My sister and mom loved the fish entree. The orchard abuts the cliffs of Les Baux, and this area is haunted (?) by Taven, the local witch, as I understand the story (and hence the restaurant's name). The cliffs are beautifully up-lit and create a dramatic backdrop as the night gets darker. Candles light the table. The tables are set quite far apart from other diners, giving us almost total privacy and a feeling that this was created for us alone. We were very happy. I recommend La Riboto de Taven most enthusiastically and would go back.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank DarienM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Beautiful Inn with first-class surroundings and amenities. The hosts could not have been more gracious. Strongly recommended. You won't be disappointed! P.S. Definitely take advantage of dining at La Riboto (the chef is not available every night). Much better than dining at L'Oustau de Baumanieres, which is immediately next door. Also, about 1/4 the price of Oustau.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arrowatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Baux de Provence
0.9 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
456 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
#6 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Benvengudo
Benvengudo
#4 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Mas d'Aigret
Hotel Le Mas d'Aigret
#2 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baumaniere les Baux de Provence
Baumaniere les Baux de Provence
#5 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
821 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taven Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taven Residences

Address: Vallon de la Fontaine, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Les Baux de Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Les Baux de Provence
Price Range: $182 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
La Riboto De Taven Hotel Les Baux De Provence
Taven Residences Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing