We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy days”
Review of Le Prince Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Prince Noir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hard to imagine more romantic and unusual place to stay . Very private,hidden from the crowds, quiet, breathtaking panorama of the mountains around. Rent one of the rooms with a patio,on second level. Remember you have to walk up the village with your luggage, so pack lightly!
Great breakfast.everything fresh and tasty.

Room Tip: Take one of the upper level,doesn't matter which one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franciszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 219 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in September. The accommodations are unique as the bed breakfast is built into the side of a hill. We stayed in the least expensive room and loved it. It was very clean with a nice bath. It had beautiful views. We enjoyed the quietness at night and spent one evening on the terrace drinking wine and watching the beautiful sunset. You have the village to yourself after all the tour buses leave which was really nice. It is very quiet. There are only 2 restaurants open at night in Les Baux de Provence, but you can drive to nearby villages in 10-15 minutes. The breakfast was fabulous. Fresh croissants, bread, yogurt, fresh fruit, and freshly squeezed orange juice along with a pot of coffee or hot tea. Ute and Benoit, the owners were so helpful. Ute planned itineraries for us for 2 days visiting local villages and the area, and we thoroughly enjoyed those days. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest(cheapest) room, but it was adequate in size as we did not spend our days i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CountryGal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here at the end of August, originally booking for two nights. The accommodation is very unusual and quite cute. The rooms are simply furnished, beautifully clean. The breakfast was fabulous, fresh fruit, yogurts, and those ever so fattening french chocolate croissants and pastries with freshly brewed coffee, all brought to our room on a tray. The check in time of 4pm for us was a bit late and meant we were hanging around the entrance gate waiting to check in. Our only issue was with the village itself. The place is well worth a visit, very busy in the day and packed with tourists,but very lively with many restaurants , shops and cafes. The problem is at night it is dead, when we were there in August all the shops close and so do most of the cafes and restaurants. At night the place felt a bit soulless. There we're only two restaurants open on the night we stayed, however one had stopped serving at 8.45pm when we arrived ( late eaters).We were left with only one option, as it was too far to walk down the hill out of the village anywhere else. We had a pretty poor meal - gristly steak smothered in a cream sauce with french fries.

We decided to check out the next day, as for us it was just too quiet. if you like remoteness and wandering around the village streets and sites in the quietness, then I would certainly recommend a stay here. But if you are staying for more than one night check out which restaurants are open and book ahead or consider a drive out to one of the restaurants in the hotels outside the village.

Room Tip: le Bijou on the top floor is the best room it has its own private terrace and stunning views across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMWTMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I surprised my wife for her 50th birthday with a 2 night stay at Le Prince Noir and it was the perfect choice. Les Baux after dark is much more enjoyable when the tour buses depart and the you can wander the narrow streets and soak up the ambience.The b & b had stunning views from our room and the terrace at breakfast.The rooms were spotless and spacious and we particularly liked the unique bathroom which had a screenless shower, all very upmarket.Great host,excellent breakfast and great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgcox098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the most interesting places we have ever stayed. A few yards from the castle ruins. Build right in the rock. We were there during the mistral. Extremely cold outside with strong winds. And still we enjoyed it. Too bad it was too cold to eat outside on the terrace. The views are incredible.

We stayed at the cheapest room (La dame a la licorne). The room is small but very cozy and nice, and the ceiling shower was nice.

The breakfast was great. Fresh squeezed orange juice with some blood orange, fresh bread, the pastries... And the owners are very nice and welcoming.

An unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, which we felt was enough time to experience this amazing place. The B and B is part of the medieval village and is built against the side of the rocky mountain on which the ruins of the castle remain ( the back wall of our suite was rock!)The rooms were clean and comfortable and the shower was amazing as it drains through the floor. We really enjoyed exploring the village and the castle and it was good to have somewhere to go when we were tired. The rooms were cool and quiet and quite private and the layout of "LaSuite" meant that our daughter could have her own room. Our hostess was very helpful and the WiFi reception was good too.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Gumtrees_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This really is a beautiful spot to visit and a wonderful place to stay, once the crowd goes you can really feel you have a village all to yourself.

The breakfast at Le Prince Noir was second to none the room comfortable and the shower was great with views of the roof tops and then the rocks over the valley beautiful.

We will return here if we can

Room Tip: There are only three rooms each offering something different all very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrat102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Baux de Provence
1 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
487 reviews
0.8 mi away
Benvengudo
Benvengudo
#4 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baumaniere les Baux de Provence
Baumaniere les Baux de Provence
#5 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Mas d'Aigret
Hotel Le Mas d'Aigret
#2 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
444 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
#6 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
248 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chateau de Roussan
Chateau de Roussan
#9 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Prince Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Prince Noir

Address: rue de l Orme | Cite Haute, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Les Baux de Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Les Baux de Provence
Price Range: $116 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Baux de Provence is one of the most fascinating areas in all of Provence and it is a very special place to stay in this guest house (especially when the crowds have all disappeared and you and the few permanent residents have Les Baux to yourselves)... Nestled in the heart of Les Baux in Provence is this delightful tiny inn with just three rooms... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Prince Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Prince Noir Hotel Les Baux De Provence
Le Prince Noir Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing