We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Le Prince Noir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Prince Noir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I stayed for 8 nights at the Prince Noir. We used this B & B as a base to visit other places in Provence. The experience of staying in Les Baux was truly unique. The owners are really helpful and friendly people. The view of the village, the nearby hills and valley from the breakfast balcony was breathtaking. The village of Les Baux is extremely busy (with tourists) during the day from around 10am to 7pm. Cars are only allowed into the village after 7pm so you may need to park in the car park and walk to the Black Prince during the day. A car is essential if you intend to visit the surrounding areas such as the Camargue and the Luberon and nearby towns.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PerthWATraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 219 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2011

If you'd like a magnificent view at the top of the most adorable medieval city in Provence, stay at La Prince Noir. I stayed here for 2 nights with 3 friends . We booked 2 suites and were equally impressed with both, although the one at the top had the killer view and it's own private terrace, as well as a kitchen.
The hosts were extremely helpful, the rooms were well appointed and the breakfasts were great.
We went sightseeing during the day, and were able to miss the huge crowds that descend upon Les Baux. In the evening this town becomes magical after everyone leaves and you have the whole place to yourself.

Room Tip: Stay at the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelostraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stayed at Prince Noir for 2 nights and loved it! It was a great experience. Our suite was very comfortable for our family of 4 - the kids loved having their own room complete with balcony! The breakfasts were outstanding - we had the best croissants there!!! It was a great base to explore the surrounding areas. Great restaurants close by. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
Thank cleonemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights for my honeymoon and it is a great base for exploring the area. My husband and I stayed in le Bijou and it's fun for people watching and sometimes people are watching you if they happen to go to the right cave when exploring the chateau. We went to dinner at nearby Riboto de Taven (suggestion from Ute) and Oustau de Baumaniere and let me tell you, it is pretty fun to walk up the cobblestones to the B&B at night. It's so quiet and surreal and you might happen to run into a local, friendly dog. When we left, we got some great tips from Benoit on where to explore next. We also were in need of an adapter and Ute happened to have one because another guest left it there and they let us keep it! It was very generous and we really appreciated it.

Additionally, the shower room was awesome. It was really neat to see the views as you bathed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spec80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

With so many choices for accommodation in Provence it was difficult to decide where to stay, until I saw Le Prince Noir on Tripadvisor. I just knew that I had to stay here and this choice was proved to be one of the best I have made for our three week holiday in Provence!

We loved the town of Le Baux de Provence, although some find it too touristy. It is a such a beautiful place and the setting is magnificent and so also the location and setting of Le Prince Noir right underneath the castle at the very top of this hilltop town. This establishment is unique (we stayed in the Le Bijou suite) and it is worth it to spend the extra money to stay here. Ute and Benoit are excellent hosts. We arrived during a cold spell and were pleasantly surprised to find a cosy, well heated and well equipped room. Our breakfast on the first (very cold)morning, was served right inside our own little kitchen by Ute herself. Weather permitting, the other breakfast were enjoyed on the terrace with the best views of the town underneath, as well as the castle. We had fresh juice , coffee, pastries, fruit, cheese and yogurt every morning. The kitchen is small but equipped with basic cutlery etc to prepare small lunches etc as well as a kettle to make your own coffee or tea.

We spent four nights here and had enough time to get to know the town as well as the surrounding towns like St Remy de Provence. Ute always gave us tips and good advice for day trips etc and late in the afternoons when we came back, the tourist buses have left, and the town was quiet again.

We didn't want to leave and the only mistake was that this was our first stop on a three week journey, every other place after Prince Noir just seemed too ordinary!

I would highly recommend this charming B&B without hesitation. It is well appointed, cosy and romantic. The only downside probably is that it is quite difficult to get there because of the many stairs and it is also a steep walk, so with suitcases it is a bit of a challenge. It is possible though to bring your car in quite close to the entrance when you arrive to unload all of your luggage if you prefer, before taking it back to the car park just outside of the town. Even if I have to crawl up there in future, I would still do it, it is that special!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ters317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This B&B provides a unique experience to stay in a medieval village which could be a film set. The accommodation is comfortable and appropriately decorated and furnished. The hosts, Ute and Benoit are charming and made our stay very relaxing. The village is busy in the day but quiet in the evening with reasonably priced restaurants within easy walking distance and more expensive ones outside of the village.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Les Baux should not be missed. Yet another unique French village. Superb! Le Prince Noir was relatively easy to walk to with our bags and our rental car in a safe carpark just outside the village. A very warm welcome. Perfect English spoken. The room was v ery nice and reasonably spacious. En-suite was excellent though would have preferred a sliding door that you couldn't see through! Breakfast was great out on the deck and it was nice when our host sat and joined us. He was very entertaining to listen to when he told how his parents had built the street and retained the authenticity of the village. Not an easy task! We had two nights and we would have liked a bit longer there. Very centred in the village. Quite a few reasonably priced cafes for lunch or dinner. Good boutiques, then an easy drive to Avignon.Have written to 2 travel agents and many friends to recommend both the Prince Noir and Les Baux.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Baux de Provence
1.0 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Benvengudo
Benvengudo
#4 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baumaniere les Baux de Provence
Baumaniere les Baux de Provence
#5 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Mas d'Aigret
Hotel Le Mas d'Aigret
#2 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
444 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
#6 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
248 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Ripaille Hotel
La Ripaille Hotel
#2 of 8 in Fontvieille
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Prince Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Prince Noir

Address: rue de l Orme | Cite Haute, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Les Baux de Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Les Baux de Provence
Price Range: $116 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Baux de Provence is one of the most fascinating areas in all of Provence and it is a very special place to stay in this guest house (especially when the crowds have all disappeared and you and the few permanent residents have Les Baux to yourselves)... Nestled in the heart of Les Baux in Provence is this delightful tiny inn with just three rooms... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Prince Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Prince Noir Hotel Les Baux De Provence
Le Prince Noir Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing