We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest value in garden setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Porte Mages

Au Porte Mages
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
York, UK
Level Contributor
270 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Honest value in garden setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Amidst a score of restaurants in this tourist hilltop village, this restaurant has a very pleasant garden and good value food. Service was quick and friendly. Salads were enjoyable and good value, though a side order of fries was a bit expensive at €5.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flipper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    90
    39
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the best we ate at in France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

This little gem was tucked away in Les Baux. Great outdoor space, very good food, decent service (which says a lot in France).

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flavioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The crepe was great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

The service was awful, but the garden setting was pleasant.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank trailergypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
303 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Nice food and atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stopped here for lunch after visiting the sights of Les Baux and we each had a salad and shared a 50 cl house rose wine. The tuna nicoise was quite tasty with all the classic ingredients fresh and tasty. The tuna was canned tuna, but what can you expect for an 11E salad. It was actually quite good. My wife had the salad Gabriel which was also quite tasty. I see from the only previous review of this place that another patron had a bad experience. All I can say is it is in a beatiful setting seated outdoors on a picture perfect day and the food was quite good. Every restaurant has an off day now and then. In a way I'm glad I did not check Trip Advisor before going to Les Baux as I would have avoided this restaurant. Good food reasonably priced and a charming setting. Give it a shot.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchguy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Porte Mages also viewed

Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Au Porte Mages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing