We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baumaniere les Baux de Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Valbonne, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor rooms”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We looked forward to staying in this hotel but we were very disappointed when we entered our room - this really was not what we expected: old furniture, old curtains, etc, everything was very dated.
It was so bad that we immediately left the hotel and did not stay for the night.
Unfortunately we had to pay the room anyway, although we only stayed in it for 2 minutes. But even if they would have paid us the €400 to stay we would have left...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean André C, Propriétaire at Baumaniere les Baux de Provence, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I am really sorry your room did not meet with your expectations. When it is possible we are pleased to offer the choice with another room however in high season it is not often the case as the hotel is fully booked. Our cancellation policy specifies that the room night is charged in case of last minute cancellation.
JA Charial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    183
    94
    68
    36
See reviews for
111
503
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a fabulous place to relax and chill out
We atyed at Le Manoir and it's like a private country house
Fantastic staff who very attentive
The restaurant is remarkable. The food is exquisite and so creative. Expensive but worth it
There is a spa which all teh family used and it is very relaxed
Swimming pools are located in all 3 properties that comprise the estate
Definitely worth a visit with plenty of interesting places within easy reach

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a remarkable dinner in a remarkable venue attended to be remarkable staff.
It is expensive but worth every Euro. For those who afford it go often,for those who can't make it a special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I looked forward to our visit for months, and was immediately under-whelmed. The suite in the main house was very over rated, and simply over priced. It was well appointed, and quite adequate, but very dark and not very special when compared to other experiences in Provence. The Sep mushroom soup was amazing, as was the entire meal. We participated in a cooking class which was a lot of fun and I thought to be a good value because we were able to eat what we prepared! The region itself is exquisite. The drive through the olive groves and the natural light made me feel as though I was in the middle of a Van Gogh painting. I literally "got chills". Our trip to the St. Remy asylum where the artist spent some time was a highlight of our entire trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKBalogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean André C, Propriétaire at Baumaniere les Baux de Provence, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I am happy to hear you liked your meal and the cooking class as well as the hotel environment. I am surprised you were disappointed by the room as the suites in the main house are usually the ones preferred by our guests. July and August are in the highest rate season. We would be glad to welcome you in spring, winter or autumn when the rates can be quite lower.
JA Charial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Tyler Brule has recently written about the homogeneity of luxury hotels these days. This is very definitely different and clearly from some earlier reviews, not to all tastes. It was very much to ours; I can quite happily imagine spending months here! (but sadly I couldn't afford it). We stayed in both the main house and the Manoir down the road. Starying in the Manoir felt like being in a french film - box hedges, fountains, white roses.....opening the long windows and lying on the bed in the afternoon with the breeze blowing gently in....and we liked the walk to and from the restaurant. The food was lovely - particularly those little stuffed red mullet - but then I like that sort of clarity of taste and lightness of touch. There was the odd glitch in the service - but lots of apologies when things didn't quite work. It was a real pleasure to be here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon here and loved it. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was a great size with a lot of history if a bit dark. The pool area is great too. We ate at the restaurant for lunch which was just fantastic despite the table of obnoxious Americans asking for their dessert 'to go'! The wine list offers a huge range in price as well as varieties. We also used the spa - it was good but not really value for money. The town of Les Baux is lovely and there are some lovely places to eat in La Mausane, which is only 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenandBellaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

After an epic lunch on the property a few days back, my husband and I decided to book spa services. Located in its sister location, which we later found out after showing up at Le Oustau Baumaniere property, at Le Cabro D'Or. The spa is on the smaller side but clean and relaxing. The sensory pool was a highlight for us and both of us were happy with our services. The locker room was pretty average. Small and not alot of amenities. I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StehanieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Baux de Provence
1.2 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#2 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Benvengudo
Benvengudo
#4 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mas d'Aigret
Hotel Le Mas d'Aigret
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
1,029 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel B Design & Spa
Hotel B Design & Spa
#1 of 3 in Paradou
175 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
Hotel Restaurant Fabian des Baux
#6 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baumaniere les Baux de Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baumaniere les Baux de Provence

Property: Baumaniere les Baux de Provence
Address: Chemin departemental 27, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France (Formerly L'Oustau de Baumaniere)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Les Baux de Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Les Baux de Provence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Les Baux de Provence
#4 Luxury Hotel in Les Baux de Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baumaniere les Baux de Provence 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baumanière Baux de Provence is a 5 stars Relais & Châteaux hotel in Provence. Its 55 guest rooms & suites, splited over 5 buildings, are decorated with a subtle combination of Provencal and modern style. There are 2 restaurants, the famous Oustau de Baumanière, awarded with 2 Michelin stars, and La Cabro d'Or Baumanière, a gastronomic restaurant with a table d'hôtes area. A wine bar and many terraces are nestled across the 20 acres of landscaped garden. The property features 3 outdoor pools (2 heated from may until October), a tennis court, a playground for children, and a spa with 6 treatments rooms, an indoor sensorial pool, a hammam and a fitness ). Baumanière - La Cabro d'Or boutique sells fine regional products. Bicycle and car rental is also available for guests to explore the region. Many activities can be booked on site: cooking classes, wine tasting classes, biological garden discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Baumaniere les Baux de Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Oustau De Baumaniere Hotel Les Baux De Provence
Oustau De Baumaniere Les Baux
Baumaniere Les Baux De Provence Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France
Oustau De Baumaniere Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing