We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I could have stayed a month”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cabro D'or

La Cabro D'or
Reserve with
La Cabro D'or is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Carolina
Level Contributor
341 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“I could have stayed a month”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were enjoying a touring day visiting Les Baux and followed our Michelin recommendation to try La Cabro d'Or. We stumbled on paradise. The beautiful grounds and lovely setting were a great welcome, but it was the food. Oh my gosh, the food. We opted for the set menu lunch and found it very properly priced for the quality of the meal and the experience. I am a vegetarian and the staff was quick to say they could easily modify all the dishes to accommodate me. There were three in my party and we agree this was one of the greatest meal experiences we have had. I would love to go back and stay a month. It is a destination restaurant if you are anywhere even close.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmcfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    115
    50
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
322 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Deserves its Michelin star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

First class chef and French food (no English menu) served by an extremely professional team. Great presentation and multiple tastes and sauces accompanied by an excellent wine list, including an extensive list of local Provence wines. A real dining experience. Reservations are required.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cosmo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
302 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“my Michelin experience--”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

so.. while I think I eat well, and in some very nice restaurants around the world, I just don't get the Michelin star experience very often, but I did tonight! This was an extraordinary experience from the moment we were greeted as we entered the beautiful restaurant. This is the sister restaurant to the Michelin multiple star just down the street where dinner can and does cost around $650 per person--ouch! And while this is not cheap by any means, the service was impeccable, the food was literally stunning, right down to the very last bite of the house provided desert that came after the desert we ordered--the presentation was as we had hoped, beautiful, the flavors were memorable, I really can't say enough about it--and the servers were personable and spoke good English, more then ready with a suggestion, an interpretation, whatever we needed--if you want an epicurean experience in a perfectly lovely setting, this is it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Does it really have a Michelin star?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We are a young couple used to travelling a lot and always staying in 5 star hotels and eating in Michelin starred restaurants. We know what good is and we certainly know good service. After hearing friends talking about how great the food was in la cabro d'or we decided to book it for my husband's birthday. Bad decision. I know it is February and it is technically low season for this restaurant, however given that it is open and the chef is in the kitchen, the service must be as good as always... And it wasn't. It almost felt like they had their junior staff serving. Waiters serving us through the wrong side, wine not being decanted properly, plates left on the table for sometime after we were done, at least 10 minutes sitting without being offered an aperitif, a sommelier that looked 12 and had big silver bracelets.... Etc etc etc.
I could go on and on. Watching the waitress trying to filet my fish at the table would be a whole chapter! The food was good - not fantastic - but when dinning at this level, one is not just looking for the food, it as much about the experience as it is about the food. We don't mind paying high prices to eat well, but we do get very upset when we are expecting Michelin service and it feels
more like gastropub.
In this part of the world there are several better options. Try the restaurant in the hotel du cote des olivades, for example. Small, elegant, outstanding food and great service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
250 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Worth the Michelin Star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a wonderful restaurant. We ate here twice and both times were fabulous. The food is incredibly good. Although it is expensive, you get what you pay for - great food, excellent service and lovely atmosphere. Staff were very friendly and all spoke at least a little English. The food was incredibly tasty and meals were well portioned. La Cabro D'or really does deserve the michelin star it holds!

Helpful?
Thank Retired_at_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabro D'or also viewed

Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Maussane-les-Alpilles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Cabro D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing