We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience to Treasure. Old Fashioned, and Great!”
Review of Hotel Kirchbuhl

Hotel Kirchbuhl
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schoenau im Schwarzwald
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kirchbuhl
Reviewed September 1, 2013

There are not many hotels like this one left, and I fear they are slowly going away. Kirchbuhl is a classic old building that has been very well maintained and keeps the original charm with minimal modern changes. Frau Zimmerman keeps a clean and comfortable hotel, and personally welcomes every guest. The restaurant is old fashioned in every detail and the food delicious.

I have spent more nights here than I can remember, over more than 15 years of business trips to this town. I treasure the chance to experience a type of hotel and hospitality that is a bit of history, as well as very pleasant.

This hotel has steep narrow stairs, there is no AC (not needed in this climate), and the rooms are basic. It is not a good place for big suitcases or those who want an elevator. But those who stay here will remember their stay, forever, and I think with fondness.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and shape, and there are steep narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for one evening on a business trip. In my drive up to the location I passed by it, when I turned around and came back, Frau Zimmerman had come out to greet me and guide me to a parking spot right in front of the hotel (free). I knew it was going be excellent service, and it didn't disappoint. Check in was very easy, although I arrived later in the evening. The room was very nice and exceptionally clean. Internet access was available (free) and very fast. Breakfast (free) was great - had both traditional Bavarian as well as standard fare. Staying here did not feel at all like being in a hotel, and I mean that in a good way. I hope to return, but for a local holiday. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugger003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My Husband & I stayed here for one night. We where warmly welcomed by the pleasant Frau Zimmerman, a really homely lady. The Hotel was very traditionally decorated in style with the building. Our room was on the top floor, so up a couple of flights of stairs which didn`t matter to us as we where only staying for one night. The room was very nice and clean. We where able to park the car at the rear of the Hotel for free. The town is a really lovely place with a nice square. The weekend we stayed, there was a music fair on which we went along to and really enjoyed the atmosphere of the place and the people there. Breakfast at the Hotel was very good and plenty to eat. We would like to visit again maybe for longer next time and would thoroughly recommend this pleasant, homely Hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe a low level room if you are staying for more than one night and have a lot of luggage. The st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilly188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I first stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and was happy to stay here again on this trip. The lady who runs the hotel Frau Zimmerman is wonderful. She makes you feel quite at home and it was a pleasure to stay with her again. The hotel is typical of the German Bavarian style. The rooms are very comfortable, really comfortable beds, modern bathroom, tv and wi fi in room. The breakfast served each morning if typical german style. Boiled eggs, omelette, cold cut meats, fresh breads and rolls, juice, fruit, cereal, yoghurt. The dining area is lovely and is open for dinning all but one night a week. The meals are quite large and very tasty. The hotel is located just a street away from the main town square and near the old church. It is close to nearby ski runs. There is a local bus to Feldburg - large ski resort and also a bus going to Titisee famours for cookoo clocks. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
5  Thank BrissieChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Unser Zimmer war ruhig und im Schwarzwaldstil eingerichtet. Nichts besonderes aber trotzdem nett und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kris3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kirchbuhl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kirchbuhl

Address: Kirchbuehlstr. 6, 79677 Schoenau im Schwarzwald, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schoenau im Schwarzwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Schoenau im Schwarzwald
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing