We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot say enough”
Review of Rico's in the Village - CLOSED

Rico's in the Village
Cuisines: South American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Airdrie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cannot say enough”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went here for my 30th birthday, since I always like to try new places, and man, what a place. It is such a unique experience since it is in a renovated church. The owner has such a passion for his restaurant and it beams through him. Some say it is expensive, but we paid about $75 per person, with drinks and an amazing array of food, so I do not think that is out of reach for a fine dining restaurant. Please go here so they stay around for a long time

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joshiggity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    6
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very unique experience”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Took my best friend and her daughter for her 18th birthday. The older house has been converted to a Tapas style restaurant. Met by a very friendly waiter who looked after all of our needs throughout the meal. We ordered a number of different entrees, all being done to perfection and extremely tasty. Rico himself always comes out to chat with the owners. If you haven't tried it, make it a place to eat. Just an awesome place for a nice friend or family meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank didsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A little gem in Airdrie”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

What a refreshing alternative to the chain restos setting up shop here in Airdrie! Delicious tapas style food, as good as any I have had elsewhere in the world, including its native Spain. Rico is a warm, inviting host, and regularly dishes up specials based on his inspiration for the day, a nice touch. Only complaint is the small size of the place, sometimes hard to get into on weekends. Wine selection is excellent and very reasonably priced. Our new "fave" place to escape on a Friday night when home cooking won't cut it!

Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another Airdrie Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a relatively new (to us) little place and is done in the high end style. Old house completely renovated and beautiful. The ambiance feel is unique and the owner is more than willing toshare the history with you. The food is matched to a wine list with the wine being the primary focus. The portions are setup to be an appitizer for the drinks.You can however just go and eat and really enjoy it. Very nice experience with great food and staff. The prices were very reasonable for the high quality!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1shoelace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This brilliant gem nestled in the heart of Airdrie was an absolute treaure find! The pristine service and warmth of the staff and proprietor will leave you feeling like family. Rico's South American grilled meats topped off with his original rich French sauces are a match made in heaven! Although the balsamic reduction elevates grilled vegtables to a new level, it should really be sold by shot glass ... amazing. Plan to attend more than once as it is impossible to try everything on menu and you'll want to. Everyone has a right to their opinion, but I believe "Hector B" must have been having a bad day as I do not believe Rico to be capable of it. We strated going to Rico's about almost a year ago and take all of our important clients and best friends there as it is such a treat to be able to take a first time guest. Rico's is a must try destination. Seriously... try it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 167Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rico's in the Village also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing