We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Super 8 stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Athabasca AB
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Athabasca
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Super 8 stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night July 20 as we decided Athabasca was about half way between Grande Prairie and Fort McMurray. The hotel is on the east side of Athabasca up the hill outside of the main city centre. Our room was very large - the only negative was that the air conditioning unit was very loud. It was very warm outside and the room was very warm as well so we felt the need to run the A/C in order to get some sleep.

There was a bit of a mix-up on our reservation but it was quickly and efficiently corrected.

The breakfast room offered a very good complimentary breakfast. A&W is located right next door but we didn't eat there.

We were surprised that the laptop was in our room - however we couldn't get the internet working to check our email. Maybe an outage that day.

All in all, a good stay at the Super 8.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgary-visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Super 8 Athabasca AB, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your detail information and comment. We appreciate the feedback we received from you. With your comment, we can better ourselves in great Customer Service for your next stay. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    61
    37
    12
    9
See reviews for
57
25
8
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

On our recent trip to Athabasca for my university graduation, we stayed at Super 8 based on the reviews from TripAdvisor. It did not disappoint. I thought the lap top computer was a nice touch. It allowed us to check email and print boarding passes. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean--no complaints. It's the nicest Super 8 I've ever stayed in. Wish we had more time to spend in this pretty little town. Only down side was the price...a lot for this type of accommodation but guess they boost the price during convocation?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomDtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Super 8 Athabasca AB, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your lovely remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

I was just out for a drive and stopped in Athabasca for an overnight stay at the Super 8. This was one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The GF actually had to go looking for dust and finally found some on the top of one picture. The hotel room also had a laptop for guest use and an I pod dock. The room laptop worked well and the internet was quite fast. We didn't wake up in time for the free breakfast so I cannot comment on it. Overall the stay was fantasic and I plan to stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisinChaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Super 8 Athabasca AB, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sexsmith
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

After staying at this hotel for six weeks, I found myself needing a ride to the garage where my truck was being repaired. I inquired at the front desk if it would be possible for them to give me a ride, the staff member asked the hotel manager if he could do this as I had been a long term customer, he said no! I found this to be very strange as I have stayed at numerous hotels that offer rides for there customers. It would have taken 10 mins of his time. So after this experience I will never stay at this hotel again and will be checking out in the morning and moving to another hotel! I have never been treated this rudely at any place I have stayed before

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Super 8 Athabasca AB, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We are sorry that your experience at Super 8 Athabasca did not meet your expectations. We make it a practice to share all our guest’s comments with our staff and management team. It is through comments such as yours that we work to help improve guests' experiences.
However, we are sorry that you didn’t understand we didn’t have shuttle service at that time and were not able to give you a ride due to other works. We don’t offer separated or limited service to short term stay guests than long term stay guests, we’re just trying our best to offer better service every day.
Anyhow, you will be happy to know that, as a result of guest feedback like yours, we have implemented the following changes that we have shuttle service now, even though it runs during limited hours.
We thank you for your candidness. We've appreciated your business in the past and hope you will feel comfortable enough to try us again in the future if you would let us know when you are traveling to Athabasca again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed for one night. Room was very clean and comfortable. I travel through this town often and will stay again. HIgh speed internet worked well. Breakfast in the morning was very good and staff was friendly

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kindersley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Rooms were large and clean and lots of light. Lots of parking A very good Breakfest bar a little small but did the job and very clean. The girl at the front might have been a little mre happier there but help is hard to get. Was very happy staying there and will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbbceb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2007

My husband had to be there for a business trip for a couple of days and we found this motel quite clean and comfortable with good service. There is wireless internet available and an A&W attached if you're into fast food. It's a close drive to Athabasca downtown with a couple of decent restaurants, a very quiet town though. On our last day of our stay, we had to check out a bit later and they were quite happy to do so and delayed our check out time by an hour. They provided free breakfast - milk and cereal with a tv in that room. The parking lot however was quite small especially when most vehicles that parks there are trucks. Overall, it's no 5 stars hotel but not too bad for a motel.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank eei01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athabasca hotels
1.5 mi away
Athabasca Lodge Motel
Athabasca Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Athabasca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.5 mi away
New Western Athabasca Inn
New Western Athabasca Inn
#3 of 3 in Athabasca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Athabasca
Days Inn Athabasca
#1 of 2 in Athabasca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Athabasca AB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Athabasca AB

Property: Super 8 Athabasca AB
Address: 4820B Woodheights Rd, Athabasca, Alberta T9S 1V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Athabasca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Athabasca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Athabasca AB 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated 73 rooms with kitchenettes and suites. Brand new Water Park and Water slide, Hot tub. 100Mbps Axia Fibre High speed internet. All rooms have 40" HD TV and room laptop. On HWY 55, connecting to HWY 2, HWY 813. Close to Athabasca University, Alberta-Pacific Forest Industries, Wabasca. Enjoy your super stay in Super 8 Athabasca! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Athabasca AB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Athabasca AB Alberta
Super Eight Athabasca
Athabasca Super 8
Athabasca Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing