We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating Accommodation”
Review of Canalta Brooks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canalta Brooks
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Brooks
Reviewed April 8, 2013

There are a lot of hotels in Brooks, Alberta, for such a small city. Primarily they service the transient workers who work in the oil patch. We stay there when we visit my husband's son and family who live there because he works in the oil patch. I've never really enjoyed that part of the trip because accommodations here typically house workers who rise early, stomp loudly down stairwells on their way to the parking lot and drive diesel trucks that are left idling in parking lots, warming up just outside hotel windows early in the morning. However, I found this trip to be an exception. This was largely due to the fact that the service and accommodation at the Super 8 was an exception. Our family visit coincided with a dance competition, so the hotel was already almost fully occupied - ironically - with little girls and their mothers - when we arrived without a reservation. I went in with a very specific request: a room that was not near an elevator, ice machine or stairwell. The young man at the front desk took my request seriously and, after studying his computer layout of available rooms, went so far as to run up to the third floor to ensure that one of the few rooms still available was no near the ice machine on the third floor. Perfect. We had a quiet sleep. the room was clean and nicely appointed, and the staff accommodating. I'd recommend staying at this hotel if you ever find yourself in Brooks, Alberta and in need of accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center of the hallway, facing the back are the quietest. Staying on the third (top) flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Br00ksSuper8_, General Manager at Canalta Brooks, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is our goal to provide excellent customer service to each and every guest and when a staff member goes above and beyond, like you described, it is great to get that feedback. Thank you again and we hope to see you again at the Brooks Super 8.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 226 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Ange780
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Br00ksSuper8_, General Manager at Canalta Brooks, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Desk staff was excellent and a pleasure to deal with. Pool area was clean as was the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Br00ksSuper8_, General Manager at Canalta Brooks, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Brooks Super 8. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Br00ksSuper8_, General Manager at Canalta Brooks, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Br00ksSuper8_, General Manager at Canalta Brooks, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Brooks is kind of a dumpy little city, but I stay here a lot for work. The Super 8 is really one of the best in the city.
Super clean, helpful staff, full continental breakfast, pool, hot tub, and a little gym.
Also close enough to walk to a few places, as in store, fast food, and restaurant.
It's a nice little place. No real complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dupylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Br00ksSuper8_, General Manager at Canalta Brooks, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Brooks Super 8. Brooks may not be the most exciting place but we hope we can provide excellent accomodations for those who must stay. We appreciate all feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our overall experience was very good. We received excellent service from the staff. They were friendly and helpful. We had a room with 3 double beds which was great for our family of 5. The Super 8 was close to McDonalds and O'Sheas, so we were able to walk to these restaurants for our meals. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Br00ksSuper8_, General Manager at Canalta Brooks, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We appreciate all feedback and use it to provide the best possible experience for our guests. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon! Thank you again Lana Brost General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brooks hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Brooks
Ramada Brooks
#1 of 10 in Brooks
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inns & Suites - Brooks
0.2 mi away
Heritage Inn & Suites
Heritage Inn & Suites
#5 of 10 in Brooks
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
0.6 mi away
Plains Motel
Plains Motel
#4 of 10 in Brooks
91 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Brooks AB
Travelodge Brooks AB
#9 of 10 in Brooks
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalta Brooks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalta Brooks

Address: 115 15 Ave W, Brooks, Alberta T1R 0V5, Canada (Formerly Super 8)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Brooks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Brooks
Price Range: $106 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalta Brooks 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Canalta Brooks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Brooks Hotel Brooks
Canalta Brooks Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing