We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Horsethief Canyon

Horsethief Canyon
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Drumheller
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great scenery, although the flies and mosquitoes were awful. A few steep paths down into the canyon but too wet for us to go down, but looked like gun

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    134
    16
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The scenery here is breath taking! The hike wasn't to hard for our family of 5. It was a bit muddy and slippery in sections from rain but it was still great. Would hike this area over and over!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KiKiG154914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philpstoun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stopped by the canyon on our way back to Calgary. had we had hiking shoes, we would have walked the path down into the canyon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronald v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing place to explore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been there twice now, there is lots of places to explore and you can spend all day there! It's quite tiring, especially for my two dogs. Lots of climbing so wear good shoes and there are no trails and no signs so you need to pay attention to where you are going so you don't get lost. There are lots of sea floor fossils and I'm sure there's more than that, just not that I have found. My only suggestion is that they should have more signs, whether at the start or randomly throughout, just to give more information on the history of the area. Other than that I love that there are no trails to guide you because you feel more free and there is less traffic!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Schmit-Sickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horsethief Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

It's a long walk from top to bottom...the view from the top is lovely and you can see how horses and other animals would be able to hide in the valley

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LEG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horsethief Canyon also viewed

Drumheller, Alberta
 

Been to Horsethief Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing