We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Drumheller
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newcastle Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

After spending two days tent camping in the rain prior to the recent Alberta flooding, we were so relieved to find the Newcastle Country Inn. It was a much nicer alternative to the over-priced chain hotels in town. Judith and Clarence were so generous and accommodating during our visit. It really felt like we were guests in their home. They also gave us very helpful advice about avoiding road closures due to the flooding, so we were able to reach our destinations. After a relaxing visit for two days, we were ready to face sleeping in a tent once again!

Room Tip: They are located on a quiet residential street, so all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terribWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    24
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
47
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

All the excellent reviews are correct! It is a Wonderful Inn with Fabulous hosts to take care of you. We were at the Inn a year ago and it is was just as relaxing and enjoyable as our first stay.
Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Newcastle Inn proved to be hidden gem in a tourist hotspot. Friendly owners, comfortable rooms, nice atmosphere and a highly enjoyable experience. A wonderful place to stay in a unique town. Oh, and don't confuse it with that other hotel just down the street.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgfhjjfhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This past weekend I returned home to Drumheller to visit family and spent 3 nights at the Newcastle Country Inn. The owners Judith and Clarence have made this Inn a gem of a place to stay. What struck me the most is how clean they keep it and how accommodating they are to their guests. The room was comfortable and the bed was very cozy (matttress and linens). Although I spent most of the day out and about, it was nice to be able to return to the room where I felt very relaxed and was able to kick back and watch TV on a 32" screen from my bed. In the morning it was steps down the hallway to a nice bright kitchen area where a fresh pot of coffee was on and I was able to enjoy a light breakfast of yogart, fruit and toast before heading out for the day. In my eyes this was the perfect place to stay and I highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Our group of 3 adults and 3 children spent two wonderful days in Drumheller and stayed at the Newcastle Country Inn. The accommodations were very clean (like brand new) and comfortable and there were many yummy options for the self-serve breakfast. The owners were very friendly and helpful and looked after us like family. It was a nice alternative to motel and hotel rooms and reasonably priced. If we go back to Drumheller we would definitely stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret_Van_Westen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virden, Mb.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

There is nothing really wrong except its classification as a "bargain".Our room was also very small,with small amenities;tv etc. but at a much higher price than paid for complete mountain view suites with resort amenities:,gym, pool,hot tub during the same trip.We also stayed at other comparable Tripadvisor "bargains" at half the price,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sikevirden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while touring the area, it’s nice affordable option to the larger chain hotels.

Our room was small, just large enough for the bed, a dresser (small fridge on the dresser), TV and small dinette table with 2 chairs. But it was all we needed. The room was extremely clean and very well maintained. The bed was quite comfortable. There weren't too many other guests so we found it pretty quiet.

The wifi worked great for us, better than some of the bigger hotels we stayed in.

The included breakfast was pretty standard continental fare but was enough to keep us going for the morning. Nice cheery little kitchen set up with a few tables & chairs. Nice deck just outside the back door near our room where we enjoyed our lunch one day.

Judith & Clarence are quite friendly hosts. Judith pointed out some attractions we may not have known about otherwise and some restaurants as well.

It’s a bit of a distance from the centre of town but that makes for a nice quiet stay. Just a note, only one grocery store in town and it's crazy expensive so if you are travelling on a budget you might want to pick up what you need in a larger town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drumheller hotels
1.4 mi away
Ramada Drumheller Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Heartwood Inn and Spa
Heartwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 9 in Drumheller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Drumheller
Quality Hotel Drumheller
#6 of 9 in Drumheller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Drumheller AB
Travelodge Drumheller AB
#9 of 9 in Drumheller
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Country Inn

Property: Newcastle Country Inn
Address: 1130 Newcastle Trail, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful inn with 11 air-conditioned rooms each with their own bath. Each room has a 32 inch flat screen TV with cable, mini fridge, table and 2 chairs, good lighting, and free wifi. A lovely self-serve breakfast with lots of choices start the day off right. Gluten free available upon request. Please let us know when you check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Drumheller
Newcastle Country Hotel
Drumheller Country Inn
Newcastle Country Inn Drumheller, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing