We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make this play a yearly committment. Well worth the trip.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Canadian Badlands Passion Play

The Canadian Badlands Passion Play
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Drumheller
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deep in the Canadian Badlands, a location famous for its prehistoric attractions, lies a hidden valley where the events of a not-so-distant past echo, a place where ancient Israel is reborn and you can experience, "the greatest story ever told." The 14,000 who come each July are moved to laughter and tears by the dramatic portrayal of the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ.
Hardisty, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Make this play a yearly committment. Well worth the trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This venue is excellent to take in from ticket sales to parking. All volunteer staff basically; it is amazing at how well orchastrated it is. The play itself has many messages and scenes that will touch your heart yet again. The actors and the extras all get my applause for the energy they put into their parts, especially with all the movement within the large set.
This will be a yearly sabbatical for my family.

Helpful?
Thank MaryandCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    33
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canadian Badlands Passion Play”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Excellent - The staff are very friendly and helpful. Very well organized and well run. The play is very professional, interesting, and well performed. Affordable and well worth seeing!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“What an inspiration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to the Passion Play in Drumheller. The size and scale of this outdoor production is amazing - I was dumbstruck as horses galloped onto the set! This, however, pales in comparison to such a vivid, emotional and authentic interpretation of the greatest times in human history! We brought our 3 young children aged 6, 7 and 9 - they had no trouble sitting quietly for the ~3 hour performance due to its riveting nature, and the questions we got from them on the ride home only helped to reinforce their faith in Christ.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mattt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

A definite to-do activity for anyone's bucket list! I am not a religious person so had my reservations about going but The Passion Play was fantastic believers and non-believers alike! The badlands scenery was absolutely stunning and lent for the perfect backdrop for this poignant story. The acting and costumes were fantastic as well. Seating had lots elbow room and space for bottoms and legs. Bring a cushion to sit on as it is a wooden bench with back and three hours + is a long time to be sitting on such a hard surface! On warm days a hat, sunscreen, umbrella for before the play, intermission and after the play (not during as it impedes others' sight-lines) would be helpful for protecting yourself from the sun. Take lots of water Bring cash for water/ ice cream/ popsicles/ etc sold during intermission. Bathrooms were clean and plentiful. This venue is well organized and the volunteers are very friendly and helpful!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TooTallTeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing, one of a kind play”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The actors are phenomenal, but what really makes this play stand out is the scenery. The backdrop of the passion play is amazing, and the play uses the surroundings to it's full potential. We went to the evening show, which felt quite dramatic near the end as the sun was slowly fading in time to the end of the story. I attended with a friend who did not have a religious/Christian background, and while he didn't understand or recognize most of the parables, he agreed that it was an incredible show. I would suggest bringing snacks and/or drinks to the show, but they do have a full concession with food (hot dogs, beef on a bun, ice cream, etc...) We did order the beef on a bun, which was tasty.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canadian Badlands Passion Play also viewed

 
Drumheller, Alberta
 

Been to The Canadian Badlands Passion Play? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing