We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is what makes it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Drumheller AB
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Rifle, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The location is what makes it”
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This is a very budget hotel. My husband and I stayed in a room with one queen bed, and it was in tight quarters. However, we weren't in Drumheller to stay in our room. We were there to enjoy the museum and Canada Day and the surrounding attractions. This place did the job, and I would stay there again simply for the location. It is right on the river and across the bridge from the tallest dinosaur, the park, a trail along the river and the core of downtown. That is what is important to us, not the hotel. We had a room that faced the river, which was especially nice. It was a 15 minute walk to the heart of downtown.

Even on Canada Day, when the hotel was packed, it was quiet at night. The only thing we had issues with was the bed. It was very soft and we rolled into the middle.

I didn't find any "budget" priced hotels in Drumheller for the dates we were there, but I would stay at this hotel again simply for the location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    137
    117
    42
    31
See reviews for
191
85
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

As was mentioned in other reviews, the motel isn't much to look at from the outside (what motel is?) but the rooms are neutrally updated, exceptionally clean, in a convenient location, quiet and provide good value for a reasonable price. Frankly, the whole town isn't much to look at but people/services were friendly and we were astounded by how much there is to keep busy in the area - especially if you take advantage of programs at the museum. We stayed for 2 nights and spent minimal time in the room as there was so much to see in the Drumheller area. The small fridge, coffee maker and microwave were just what we needed to make our own breakfast and store things for the roadtrip. A 24 hr grocery store and a range of retail for basics are nearby in the town. Our room on the back side was quiet and had a good view of the river & giant dinosaur. There wasn't much space to move around the room but the 2 queen beds were comfortable and provided adequate accommodation for 2 adults and 2 kids. There was room outside to use picnic tables and a small grassy area overlooking the river. Initially there was an odd odour that we thought was from cigarette smoke but it turned out to be from the coffee maker which made it more acceptable to us.

Regardless of where you stay, be prepared for plenty of mosquitoes!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onaping, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

The Travelodge Motel in Drumheller is pretty good for a motel, its old but you can tell they have tried to fix it up. Its located on the older side of town but it’s a small town so It doesn’t really matter. We had a room facing the river its really not that great there is no parking in the back and there is a big metal fence between the motel and the river. My son liked that he could see the large dinosaur across the river from the room though. The room was small but it was clean and the beds were comfy, so it did its purpose. The girls at the front desk were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brouse_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

The Drumheller Travelodge sits on the bank of the Red River, just outside of downtown Drumheller. It is a typical motel style with rooms opening directly to the outdoors. Half of the rooms have a view of the river and large dinosaur statues on the opposite side; half overlook the parking lot. I and friends all had 2nd floor river view rooms with great views of the sunrise. All rooms were equipped with small refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, blow dryers, wifi, and cable tv. The hotel appears to be recently renovated, and the rooms were very clean, comfortable, and well appointed. Rooms seem to vary a lot in size; some singles even have couches and coffee tables as well as desks. The motel has a progressive environmental policy, with in room recycling bins and small notecards that guests can use to either request that the linens be changed daily or not. The staff was exceptionally helpful and courteous, and the afternoon chocolate chip cookies at the front desk and complimentary hot chocolate were a very nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pakkoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This hotel was very clean and comfortable. We had a room at the back which was quiet. The restaurant next door was great. The coin laundry had 2 washers and dryers is clean condition. No complaints at all.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kelly_3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

It did not look like much from the outside but were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the sleepy bear room and it was big. They had twin beds for the kids in a seperate area from the king bed with a tv, games and vcr. It had a frige and microwave. The staff was really nice and helpful. It is close to the museum and downtown area. The fossil shop across the street is fantastic and the woman who works there is great to talk to. We loved Drumheller.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BcAtHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This hotel was very reasonably priced. I stayed only one night, but the room was clean and comfortable. Not too many amenities, although the room did have mini-fridge and microwave. The bed was very comfortable with very nice linens, not the usual thin scratchy blanket! Bathroom was clean. All rooms open to outdoor walkway, so security might be an issue for some. It was a very temperate July night so I didn't either the heat or air conditioning, so can't comment on that. Only issue I could foresee is anyone travelling with a family or even one other person, as the room was quite small. For me, it was fine. Also, the walls are pretty thin, so you can hear other's TV's, etc. Not an issue after about 10 PM, but might bother families with young children, etc.
I did have a room on the back side, which afforded a view of the river and dinosaur, very neat!
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a cheap night's stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drumheller hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Drumheller
Quality Hotel Drumheller
#6 of 9 in Drumheller
194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Drumheller Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
0.7 mi away
Heartwood Inn and Spa
Heartwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 9 in Drumheller
344 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Drumheller
Super 8 Drumheller
#3 of 9 in Drumheller
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Drumheller AB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Drumheller AB

Property: Travelodge Drumheller AB
Address: 101 Grove Place, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Drumheller AB 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Drumheller AB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Drumheller Hotel Drumheller
Travel Lodge Drumheller
Drumheller Travel Lodge
Drumheller Travelodge
Travelodge Drumheller AB Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing