We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay”
Review of Super 8 Drumheller

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Drumheller
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was more than pleased with my stay in this hotel. It is fairly new and they ensure that the place is clean at all time. The free breakfast was great. There was the waffle machine, muffins, bagels, toast and a large variety of cereals and juices. Compared to places that only offer the standard donuts and coffee this was a pleasant bonus of this trip. The other thing I liked was the fact that there was no shortage of pillows on your bed. I had two queen sized beds that came with 4 pillows on each. I am not talking about the wimpy pillows that seem to have to stuffing left. This made for a comfotable sleep. The pool and hot tub were clean and not crowded so it was pleasanrt to use and there was a fresh supply of clean towels in the pool area that are continuously being replaced. My grandchildren loved the water slide in the pool. It was perfect for them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsuper8drumheller, General Manager at Super 8 Drumheller, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

We are so pleased that you had a wodnerful time during your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments and we hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to do the same again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 768 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Prices of the rooms are comparable to those in Banff, and for no reason other than 'they can'. The pool and waterslide are good for kids, although small. The room was 'ok', there were hairs in the bathroom, the toilet did not work, nor did the tv. The gal working the front desk was great, and helped us out as best as she could. She was overwhelmed, and place understaffed, especially for a weekend. The gym room was nice to work out in, except the tv also did not work there. The breakfast was the usual continental ho-hum, so we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divarancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We are a family of 4 that has stayed at many super 8's - and we have no idea why this hotel was so expensive. We were charged over $200.00 a night - definitely not worth it and will not go back. We made a reservation for a pet friendly room (centralized booking) but when we arrived our room was not pet friendly. The front desk staff we're very helpful and made arrangements for our pet to stay in our room. There is a free breakfast in the morning but there are very few tables to accommodate the guests.

Room Tip: For the price that the super 8 charges - you would get better value for your money next door at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We took our 8 and 3 year old to stay here for 3 days while we visited the sites in Drumheller. The kids loved it. The pool was great, loved the slide and the hot tub. Very clean. The rooms were a great size and very clean. Room cleaning was always very prompt during our stay. The continental breakfast was awesome. Waffles, toast, bagles, cereals, fruit, eggs, a very nice assortment. Our room was only 3 away from the kitchen area and I would suggest trying to get a room further away as the beeping of the waffle maker starting at 5:30 am woukld wake us up. That would be my only complaint of this hotel. A great stay and would stay there again...the kids wanted to live there.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the kitchen to avoid waffle maker beeping :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We just took the family to Drumheller and while we were suprised at the higher price than most Super 8s, the rooms were also a bit nice too. Check in was prompt, the room was nicely cleaned and the pool was just fine for a budget hotel.

My only complaint is that they have a very limited time for the breakfast and a relatively small room for it. Other Super 8s we stayed at on holiday had at least 2 more hours of breakfast availablity overall (ie: Medicine Hat). One of the draws of the Super 8 is the breakfast and it seems a bit cheap to limit it this way in a busy location.

Not sure what Terry C is complaining about with the breakfast quality though? Make your own waffle bar, multiple dry cereals, oatmeal, english muffins, bagels, hard boiled eggs, juices, a couple types of fresh soft bread for toast, etc. Oh, and the apples were nice Galas, nothing shrivled or bruised; we sniched a couple to take on our day. There was a nice older lady working the breakfast area keeping everything stocked.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our check-in was prompt and the staff seemed nice enough. Our room was ok, though the hotel seems a bit dated. Don't drink the water if you're expecting something palatable. Also, the air conditioning was quite loud, and unfortunately also necessary. While we there, signs were posted about some "harmless beetle infestation" they were attempting to manage. While I spied no sign of beetles in our room, it did pique my apprehension that they were even necessary.

We stopped by the pool, which was quite chaotic. It was fairly crowded when we went and regrettably 1/2 the pool is required for a waterslide splash-down zone, so it really limits the usability of the pool if anyone is sliding and completely makes swimming a lap impossible. What can you expect for a hotel pool, I guess?

The breakfast area offered a fairly typical assortment of breakfast foods. The biggest grip with the breakfast was that the seating area was rather limited and we had to settle for a table that barely fit our family and had others practically tripping over us. Still, free is free and beggars can't be choosers I suppose...

I've stayed at a few hotels in Drumheller now and perhaps I just haven't found the right one as they all seem mediocre at best, with the Super 8 being no exception. If you're just passing through for a night to visit the museum (as almost everyone is) and just need a place to stay for a night, it will do, but don't expect to be blown away.

Room Tip: If you have a lot to load/unload from a vehicle, get a room with a door to the outside parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed 2 nights there - was very nice - had room with 2 Queen beds, microwave, fridge. Room 117. Management was very pleasant and helpful. Motel is close to Mcdonalds, A&W, O"sheas Restaurant and Lounge. Motel has pool with waterslide although we did not use them. Also - there is a hot tub/jaccuzzi. On the downside, the remote for the T.V. wouldn't work. except for power on. Saw a few bugs in room- beetles perhaps -maybe roaches - not sure. Didn't bother me too much - I just caught them and put them outside. They have ice machine, pop machine, snack machine and general meeting area for eating the free continental breakfast - although my friend and I did not take advantage of the latter. All rooms are non-smoking and you can just step outside your door and smoke or go to the rear smoking area of the building. Beds were very cozy and the pillows (4 of them) were very fluffy. (although I prefer mine a fair bit firmer) There is also a coffee maker in the rooms and there is free coffee daily. All rooms have two entrances - on from the hall and one outside acess. All in all the stay there was quite pleasant but we found it to be quite expensive- approx. $180/night.
I would recomend this motel to anyone who can afford it.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the main floor - 114 and 115 are extra large rooms I think as they protruded out fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsuper8drumheller, General Manager at Super 8 Drumheller, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and so very pleased that you had an enjoyable time. We also hope you took in all the attractions and that someday you will return.
Sincerely,
Bonnie Walbourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drumheller hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Drumheller Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Drumheller
Quality Hotel Drumheller
#6 of 9 in Drumheller
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Drumheller AB
Travelodge Drumheller AB
#7 of 9 in Drumheller
415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heartwood Inn and Spa
Heartwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 9 in Drumheller
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Drumheller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Drumheller

Address: 600-680 2 St W | Highway 10 and 2nd Street, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Price Range: $102 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Drumheller 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Drumheller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Drumheller Hotel Drumheller
Super 8 Motel Drumheller
Super Eight Drumheller
Drumheller Super 8
Drumheller Super Eight
Super 8 Drumheller Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing