We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Base for Exploring the Badlands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heartwood Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Base for Exploring the Badlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our party of five stayed the upper turret room and the cottage for three nights. Both were excellent – comfortable and attractive. The Inn is well located for exploring the badlands. The hosts, Patrice and Zeke, were extremely helpful, booking tickets to the Rosebud theatre and giving great recommendations.
Breakfast was excellent and we had the great good fortune to have one of Zeke’s amazing dinners.
We had a great time and would go back in a flash!

Room Tip: Turret for romance. Cottage for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Nice of you to give us such a wonderful review. Very much appreciated. The Badlands are so amazing, we want the whole world to come and enjoy the hoodoos, the fossils - scenery that is so unique. Use us for your headquarters and spend a weekend or a week exploring the wonders of the Canadian Badlands. Cheers Patrice Wolf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    53
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
52
169
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were planning a roadtrip and last-minute realized we wouldn't make our final destination the same day, so we booked with Zeke the day before. We were welcomed by name and shown directly to the detached cottage. Zeke got the fire going, reminding us that it could get a little chilly at night.
We loved the jet tub and the fire and even had to turn the fire down, because it got a little too warm.
Breakfast was delicious savoury, stuffed French toast, with coffee and juice.
It was just a terrific place to spend a romantic night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigmcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. The cottage now boasts a new large deck and the interior is being updated this winter - so hopefully you will come back and check it out again. Promises to be even more romantic. Patrice Wolf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

only stayed 1 night at this quaint little property. very friendly owners, relaxing night. was a pleasure staying there,.... will return for sure!
comfortable beds, cozie fireplaces add warmth. jacuzzi tub was great.
has all the comforts of home

Room Tip: didnt eat there, however people we talked to in town said the french toast is awesome! unfortunate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudelpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, sorry you missed out on Zeke's French toast. I've been eating it for 8 years and still love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I use Trip Advisor as my starting point while looking for properties as I travel and I feel that it is my responsibility to give honest reviews of where I stay and eat. I do not usually give lengthy reviews, however because of all the positive reviews on TA for the Heartland, I feel that it should have some balance. Everything is not as it seems and I have to beg to differ with some of the recent reviewers. Our stay represented poor value at an off-season rate of $147 a night (dog fee of 25 one time charge included) - I thought I was booking a bed and breakfast, and the reviewers spoke so highly of the breakfast, and even though we did not want to spend that much, thought that with the great breakfast we would bite the bullet. After booking, we found out that the breakfast part of the B and B was not included and would be 10 dollars more per person - on principle we did not go to breakfast but did eat at 'Whiffs' in town and it was quite good. Upon arrival, we found that we booked a room in the basement of a B and B that was very tired and in need of some TLC. This was not a horrible stay by any means, but certainly NOT what we expected. This stay did not represent good value in any way. If you have time, more details follow . . .

First let me say that the owner was a very nice lady and took a genuine interest in Lucy, our rescued toy poodle. All the staff were friendly enough.

We just made a 14 day swing of Alberta. We left Vancouver area with a stop in Kamloops where we stayed in a great little hotel - The Plaza - for 88 for the night, that included a full buffet breakfast for two, plus no charge for our little poodle. See review on TA.

Next we travelled to Canmore for 3 days of hiking in the mountain trails. We stayed at the Copperstone Resort - again we got an off-season rate of $105. This was a great property with a great bed in a one bedroom new condo. Granite countertops, great flooring, full kitchen, super clean, hot tub, barbeque {did some nice NY strips one night, chicken another, and pork T-Loins the other}. and a fitness gym that I enjoyed working out in - It was a great stay and we will return as it represented good off-season value for dollar. No charge for Lucy. See Review on TA.

The third leg had us in Calgary to watch our daughter play basketball. The Fairmont Palliser had a great rate on their king suite. This was an amazing property and a 5 star hotel with a great king suite with a view of the city from the 8th floor. Bathroom a bit small compared to the HUGE suite. Great coffee in suite and everything first class (See review on TA). Parking downtown Calgary is not cheap, but as we were out on excursions every day, it was not an issue. Review on TA.

After the weekend tournament, we headed to Drumheller to visit the Tyrell Museum. We were excited about this leg of the trip and the Museum is a 'must see' if you are in this area. We also visited the Dinosaur Provincial Park - Breathtaking. I will give details of the Heartland B and B after I touch on our Edmonton Hotel.

The Mettera was in an excellent location - in the heart of a trendy area called Whyte Avenue in Old Strathcona and one of the closest hotels to our activities. It was a huge king suite with granite countertops, excellent designer tile and carpet flooring, and a wonderful bed. Our $75 dollar a night suite price included a full buffet breakfast and a wine and appy reception every day. Although this is a 3+ star property, it was the nicest that we stayed in over our 15 days. See review on TA

Now the Heartland:

Like all the properties we stayed in, The Heartland was very clean.

Like all the properties we stayed in, The Heartland had great towels.

The sink and bar fridge appeared to be new and were very nice.

The closet was adequate.

There was a clumsy built in bench that got in the way and made this area very cramped.

But we had the "Lower Turret" room = room in the basement that was a 3/4 submerged with two small windows with blinds. The access to this room was very cramped and with my knee issues - in line for replacements - access was difficult.

During our first day/night, the neighbours had two dogs that were very loud.

As it was a basement room - it required a simple electric heater to keep it warm and the heat was inconsistent.

The shower was ok, but as it was a basement room, it took a long time for the hot water to show up, but there was plenty of hot water. The ceiling of the shower was unfinished and missing a cover for the forced air heat.

The floors were 1.29 laminate and the transition trim was loose and my wife tripped on it

The bed left us with sore backs. The bedding was not hotel/inn class.

Not much in the room matches - some might call this quaint.

The Heartland is situated in a depressed area of the town and has a view of the IGA and the railway - this did not matter to us as we were in the basement. I would think that folks in the upper rooms would have been disappointed. The exterior is in tough shape with all the woodwork crying for a paint job and many issues with the trim. This did not affect our stay, however was an indication of the quality of the property. I will add pictures at a later time once I get them off my camera.

I started the review stating that this stay did not represent good value for an off-season property. This was the most expensive of the 6 we stayed in - currently writing this from our last property, an $80 room at the Sawridge Inn and conference centre in Jasper that is also very nice, and it should have been the least expensive.

From my experience of travelling and staying in at least 4 properties a year, some years 10 properties, I can say that $70 a night would have represented good value.

Lucy was $25 extra - I was informed of this up front, but this was the only property of 6 that charged for the 9 pound toy poodle. Not complaining - knew up front.

Do go to the Tyrell, choose a different property to stay at in Drumheller.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this property but did not see the upper level rooms. I can only speak to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dbinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your 5 stars for cleanliness. Since your stay we have started the much needed renovations to the exterior of the Inn. A dozen new windows, new siding, new decks off of 3 of our rooms. When that is completed, all new paint. The Lower Turret where you stayed boasts a new very large window.
Had you mentioned your knee issues and we would have attempted to find you a handicap accessible room.
Drumheller did not suffer any flood damage this summer, and it was perhaps due to the devastation around Alberta we had our best season ever this year! Unfortunately many other areas in Alberta suffered losses because thousands of tourists stayed away - many hotels adjusted their prices lower to attract visitors. You are to be commended for visiting our friends in Canmore and other beautiful areas throughout Alberta - I'm sure they appreciated your business very much!
Come Hell or High Water - Alberta is open for business. Thanks for your review
Patrice Wolf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Heartwood Inn and Spa and found a nice gem in the Badlands of Alberta. The hosts were very friendly, attentive and helpful. The upper turret room was better than we imagined. Very clean and maintained. We look forward to booking here on our next trip to the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Upper Turret room. A popular room with the king bed and large jetted tub. I hope you will come back and see us again. I think the fall is the best time to visit our valley, still warm, beautiful colors and few tourists. Perfect
Patrice Wolf owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the cottage and absolutely enjoyed the experience. This was our first foray in to staying at an inn and we discovered we really enjoy it. The owner was very friendly and informative and more than willing to do whatever he had to to allow you to have a great visit. We enjoyed the fireplace in the room and the peaceful tranquility of the cottage. The breakfast was good as well. We would recommend this to anyone wishing to be pampered while still feeling at home.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We don't want you to feel too much like home! But we do try to accommodate people's wishes and that's what keeps us having fun.
Best regards,
Patrice Wolf owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I found this charming Inn on our way to Calgary and wound up staying two nights in Drumheller. The room was exceptionally cozy and the Patrice, one of the owners was so very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this as the best place to stay in Drumheller !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We are so grateful that nice people like you stumble upon us. Because we can be so busy, most people book far in advance - so it is rare that we get 'walk in' visitors. I have a feeling we'll be seeing you again. Thank you for the wonderful and kind words.
Patrice Wolf owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drumheller hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Drumheller Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Drumheller
Quality Hotel Drumheller
#6 of 9 in Drumheller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Drumheller AB
Travelodge Drumheller AB
#9 of 9 in Drumheller
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Drumheller
Super 8 Drumheller
#3 of 9 in Drumheller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartwood Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartwood Inn and Spa

Property: Heartwood Inn and Spa
Address: 320 Railway Ave E, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartwood Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Heartwood Inn and Spa, Drumheller, the heart of the Canadian Badlands; home to the Royal Tyrrell - the finest dinosaur/fossil museum in Canada. Our rooms (some kid and pet-friendly) are luxuriously appointed and all have private en-suite bathrooms. For a romantic getaway imagine double-sized jetted tub, bubble bath, fireplace, chocolates and champagne. The Heartwood has two guest houses for families or groups: the Chancel with three beds, full kitchen, big back yard and bathroom with jetted tub. Our completely equipped Vacation Bungalow (located just across the street from the hotel), has a large yard, off-street parking, firepit and barbeque. Make the Heartwood Inn and Spa your choice for those special occasions - small weddings, anniversary parties, corporate retreats, family reunions, Spa Getaways and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Heartwood Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartwood Inn And Spa Drumheller, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing