We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heartwood Inn and Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Certificate of Excellence
kamloops
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Website misleading,overpriced,service poor.
Asked for ice and it took 30 minutes to get some. Did not compare to website at all. According to website,there should have been a bottle of wine in the room (special incentive),should have had coffee brought to the room in the morning instead we went into the main house and had breakfast, that we thought was included in the price, at a table that wasn't the cleanest I've eaten at.
There is minimal seating to sit and watch TV unless you like watching from your bed.Not sure when photo on website was taken.
We were very disappointed and certainly wouldn't go back or recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Not having seen any other rooms and not impressed with any of it, unable to recommend any specific r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize that our service was not up to our usual standards. As a family run business, during the off season we sometimes find the hotel booked solid mid week that catches us short staffed and unable to deliver the exemplary service people have come to expect. That is why when you booked a last minute getaway you received a discount on the room. We agree the ice was delivered too slowly unfortunately we ran out and Zeke had to run to the store to purchase some. Zeke was happy to cook you his french toast breakfast even tho the kitchen and dining room were closed that day. I hope you enjoyed it. Our complimentary freshly made coffee is always available in room - but you need to call the front desk to order it. We do offer a freey bottle of wine with a Trip Advisor coupon - which you did not mention. We also offer a bottle of bubbly if it's your birthday week - but you didn't menitoned that either. We are currently interviewing for new staff so this does not happen again.
sincerely, Patrice Wolf owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    53
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
52
171
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for our first couple of nights in Canada following a transatlantic flight. We were made to feel very welcome and given a cold beer each :-)

Our room was very clean and comfortable and the spa bath a wonderful luxury. It was so good that on our one full day there we didn't get out until mid afternoon. We slept well and wound down for our subsequent trip to Waterton and across to Vancouver Island.

Wifey tried some of the spa services and enjoyed them.

Breakfast was yummy when available.

Would've got 5 stars except for breakfast not being available one morning (we were only told that in the morning) and Zeke's occasional grumpiness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your candid review of the Heartwood, soooo close to a perfect score. We will try to earn those 5 stars the next time you visit. Hope the rest of your stay was a memorable one. Sincerely, Patrice Wolf owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We (family of 4) stayed only one night but we were very pleased. Beds were comfortable, quiet and Zeke makes a good breakfast! He was also very helpful in recommending places to see, eat and routes to get us on the next leg of our journey. It is in a good location relative to many attractions. Would recommend this accomodation when staying in Drumheller.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Many folks think we are only for romantic getaways but we have nice family/pet friendly rooms and guest houses. Next time, check out the vacation Bungalow - you'd love it!
Patrice Wolf owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This Inn is a perfect location for a romantic weekend away. The rooms are extremely clean, with all the amenities you could want. The people are warm and incredibly kind. It was quiet and wonderful to have our own private entrance. We stayed in the Main Turret and just loved our room. We will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Make sure you have time to test the jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
The Main Turret is my favorite room, the little loveseat was a gift from a 91 year old friend of my family - a real treasure. Hope you'll come back and see us again soon. Patrice Wolf owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed in the MainTurret unit. Checked in to be told next morning was golfing day for the chef so no breakfast available on the premises. Clean room, comfortable bed ... BUT the next morning the people upstairs decided to get up before 6 a.m.and the plumbing noise they created was unbelievably loud - our night was cut short by several hours. The basic purpose of a hotel/inn/motel is to provide a clean, comfortable, quiet place to sleep ... while we got two out of three we still were deprived several hours sleep which made our next day's long drive very unpleasant. - I would say the Heartwood in failed! Only for that reason does it get a poor rating. Our long drive the following day was not pleasant!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize for your sleep being cut short by a noisey neighbouring room. Most people who stay at the Heartwood are sleeping in and morning noise is very rare. We will add signage to all rooms posting our hotel quet times are 10pm-9am". Patrice Wolf owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

A wonderful gem in a great location owned by wonderful friendly people who took great care us during our short visit. I highly recommend the Heartwood inn and I will certainly be back to try the French Toast... Thank you for your Hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
So happy you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate guests feedback and 'perfect' is the best compliment you could give us. Thank you. Patrice Wolf owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
309 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Quiet, comfortable, clean place to stay with friendly hosts and a fantastic breakfast! Large rooms in a historic house with lots of character. Stuffed french toast with homemade plum compote and maple syrup. The best hot coffee anywhere and fresh OJ.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and Zeke's breakfast. We love our plums and apple trees and love to share. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drumheller hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Drumheller Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Drumheller
Quality Hotel Drumheller
#6 of 9 in Drumheller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Drumheller AB
Travelodge Drumheller AB
#9 of 9 in Drumheller
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Drumheller
Super 8 Drumheller
#3 of 9 in Drumheller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartwood Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartwood Inn and Spa

Property: Heartwood Inn and Spa
Address: 320 Railway Ave E, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartwood Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Heartwood Inn and Spa, Drumheller, the heart of the Canadian Badlands; home to the Royal Tyrrell - the finest dinosaur/fossil museum in Canada. Our rooms (some kid and pet-friendly) are luxuriously appointed and all have private en-suite bathrooms. For a romantic getaway imagine double-sized jetted tub, bubble bath, fireplace, chocolates and champagne. The Heartwood has two guest houses for families or groups: the Chancel with three beds, full kitchen, big back yard and bathroom with jetted tub. Our completely equipped Vacation Bungalow (located just across the street from the hotel), has a large yard, off-street parking, firepit and barbeque. Make the Heartwood Inn and Spa your choice for those special occasions - small weddings, anniversary parties, corporate retreats, family reunions, Spa Getaways and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heartwood Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartwood Inn And Spa Drumheller, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing