We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heartwood Inn and Spa(Drumheller)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Badlands Motel(Drumheller)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
86
82
35
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
82
35
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstim hortonssteam roomlarge hot tubfree popcorncontinental breakfastwaffle makereasy accesstoastnice breakfastnice hotelwafflesfridge and microwavecleaning stafflots of parkingcomfortable stayking bedbooked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 213 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We took a hockey team to Drumheller this past weekend and stayed at the Jurassic Inn. We had a fantastic experience. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The hotel provided each of our players a welcome package consisting of a sports drink, touque, candy and chips. There was complimentary popcorn, cookies and lemon water provided in the lobby. The rooms and common areas were well maintained and clean. It appeared that the property was recently updated. The breakfast was typical but well presented and the area was well maintained. I can't point out a negative aspect of our stay. We highly recommend the Jurassic!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurassicGM, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Wow, what terrific compliments. Thank you so very much. We do, so very much, look forward to seeing the hockey teams have a good time when they stay with us for any tournaments in Drumheller. Thank you again, we look forward to your visit with us the next time you are in the land of the Dinosaurs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We drove all night to get to Alberta on a family holiday. We ended up sleeping for a few hours in the hotel next door's parking lot. At 9 am I went to the Canalta to see if they had rooms, not only did they have rooms, they got us and our son into a room early. We got to have breakfast, time in the pool and a great night's sleep that night, and more pool time and breakfast the next day. What a great hotel, close to BP's for supper and of course to the Tyrrell!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms will have an outside door - great for moving things in and heading out to see the area. Better than having to go through the lobby all the time. Front rooms are a bit noisier but it is a very minor detail.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanyn_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurassicGM, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2017

Thank you for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My family and I recently re-located from Ontario to Alberta. We stayed at the Canalta Jurassic Inn in Drumheller, AB for a week with our 19 month old daughter and our 100lb Rottie. We had a lovely room, complete with a kitchenette - after four days on the road, it was wonderful to be able to make our own meals rather than eat out every night.
There are laundry facilities on site, and an outstanding housekeeping staff - especially Charlie - she loved our big doggie (he was spoiled with treats any chance they got)!!
The GM Michelle, and Chantal at the front desk were so welcoming, friendly and professional.
We never really had time to check out the pool/hot tub/exercise room, but they are there.
Thanks so much for such a wonderful stay during a bit of a stressful point in our family's life :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamRosedale_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurassicGM, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

You are so very welcome! It was a pleasure meeting you all. Thank you for your wonderful comments...we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel was very clean, I was very impressed by the spotless white bathroom! They gave ample towels, glasses and coffeemaker, fridge, microwave, and even laundry bags and great pillows. It was a very comfortable stay, and the front desk staff were very friendly. The continental breakfast was really nice, complete with hard-boiled eggs, frenchtoast, pancakes, toast, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, pastry and juice/coffee, with a little lunchroom with a TV in it. They also had snacks for free during the day/evening, with popcorn and cake.

My only complaints would be that the AC did not work overly well, only cooled the room slightly, and it's a fairly pricey place for a small town, but it was worth it for how nice it was!

Room Tip: Be warned, they do not have an elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, ask for a main floor room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aetherwyrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurassicGM, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

I was very happy to see your review. Thank you. We have exciting new changes to our hotel in the very near future regarding those amenities you were hoping for. I value your comments and look forward to sharing them with all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, I wasn't even sure it was open, but it turns out they are just redoing the exterior of the building. We were several hours early for our check in and the room wasn't ready, so the front desk clerk offered us a map and some suggestions for things to see and do while we waited.
We returned an hour later, as instructed, and checked into our room. There were fresh chocolate chip cookies and popcorn in the lobby for a snack. That made a huge hit with the kids! Our room was very clean. It was tastefully decorated and quite quiet. We only heard one door in the middle of the night, not the usual flushing toilets and such that comes with some hotel room stays :)
Continental breakfast (included with the room rate) provided a good selection for the picky eaters too. Fruit, bagels, hard boiled eggs, fresh made pancakes, toast, cereal, sweet buns, etc along with a selection of juices, milk & coffee. Everyone in our group found something to satisfy the morning growlies.
The only disappointment (for the kids) was that there is no pool, just a hot tub and steam room. But with so much to see and do in Drumheller, it wasn't a big deal for me :)
Check out was a breeze and we were back on the road. Would happily stay here again when we're in the Drumheller area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelmomSundre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurassicGM, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have had great stays with us. We look forward to when you come again to Drumheller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews