We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Week Long Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My family and I recently re-located from Ontario to Alberta. We stayed at the Canalta Jurassic Inn in Drumheller, AB for a week with our 19 month old daughter and our 100lb Rottie. We had a lovely room, complete with a kitchenette - after four days on the road, it was wonderful to be able to make our own meals rather than eat out every night.
There are laundry facilities on site, and an outstanding housekeeping staff - especially Charlie - she loved our big doggie (he was spoiled with treats any chance they got)!!
The GM Michelle, and Chantal at the front desk were so welcoming, friendly and professional.
We never really had time to check out the pool/hot tub/exercise room, but they are there.
Thanks so much for such a wonderful stay during a bit of a stressful point in our family's life :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamRosedale_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurassicGM, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

You are so very welcome! It was a pleasure meeting you all. Thank you for your wonderful comments...we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 205 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel was very clean, I was very impressed by the spotless white bathroom! They gave ample towels, glasses and coffeemaker, fridge, microwave, and even laundry bags and great pillows. It was a very comfortable stay, and the front desk staff were very friendly. The continental breakfast was really nice, complete with hard-boiled eggs, frenchtoast, pancakes, toast, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, pastry and juice/coffee, with a little lunchroom with a TV in it. They also had snacks for free during the day/evening, with popcorn and cake.

My only complaints would be that the AC did not work overly well, only cooled the room slightly, and it's a fairly pricey place for a small town, but it was worth it for how nice it was!

Room Tip: Be warned, they do not have an elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, ask for a main floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aetherwyrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurassicGM, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

I was very happy to see your review. Thank you. We have exciting new changes to our hotel in the very near future regarding those amenities you were hoping for. I value your comments and look forward to sharing them with all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, I wasn't even sure it was open, but it turns out they are just redoing the exterior of the building. We were several hours early for our check in and the room wasn't ready, so the front desk clerk offered us a map and some suggestions for things to see and do while we waited.
We returned an hour later, as instructed, and checked into our room. There were fresh chocolate chip cookies and popcorn in the lobby for a snack. That made a huge hit with the kids! Our room was very clean. It was tastefully decorated and quite quiet. We only heard one door in the middle of the night, not the usual flushing toilets and such that comes with some hotel room stays :)
Continental breakfast (included with the room rate) provided a good selection for the picky eaters too. Fruit, bagels, hard boiled eggs, fresh made pancakes, toast, cereal, sweet buns, etc along with a selection of juices, milk & coffee. Everyone in our group found something to satisfy the morning growlies.
The only disappointment (for the kids) was that there is no pool, just a hot tub and steam room. But with so much to see and do in Drumheller, it wasn't a big deal for me :)
Check out was a breeze and we were back on the road. Would happily stay here again when we're in the Drumheller area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelmomSundre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurassicGM, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have had great stays with us. We look forward to when you come again to Drumheller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Looks good from the pictures online but the outside of the hotel looked a little run down when I arrived (they are redoing the exterior as of September 2012). I was quite surprised when I got into the room, probably one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at under $500/night. A nice touch was that the front desk called to make sure everything was ok with my room. A great place for families as it does cater to tourists and kids are sure to love the Jurassic Park type sign.

This hotel has easy access to the highways and lots of parking. Not the greatest selection of restaurants within walking distance (Tim Horton’s, Subway and DQ) but lots of places a short drive north of the hotel.

A great value for tourists that don’t want to spend a lot but still want a quality hotel. I have stayed here twice and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not much of a view on either side of the hotel but the west side faces a quite neighbourhood and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurassicGM, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

It was a pleasure to read such a positive as well as informative review regarding your visitis with us here at The Canalta Jurassic Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to do this. We look forward to your next visit with us. We hope you enjoy the new 'look' of the exterior of the hotel as much as we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our 3 day stay was extremely helpful and comfortable due to our customer service personnel that were always available to my family, in particular, Chantal! She was truly an asset for this hotel. This facility was very clean;however, the beds were too firm for our satisfaction, and the walls were a little thin. Other than that, we had a nice stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurassicGM, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you very much for such wonderful and positive comments that I have shared with Chantal as well as all of the other staff members here at The Canalta Jurassic Hotel. It has been such a rewarding experience for myself to have staff that truly take pride in their job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our first night in Drumheller was spent in Drumheller Inn - which was totally unacceptable. Sadly we had not called ahead to make reservations. The next morning we checked with Michelle at Jurassic Inn and she was able to book us for two nights. They had our room ready within an hour. We were treated like royalty. Breakfast was still being served and we were invited to partake. My grandson, Matthew, was thrilled with the popcorn and cookies offered each day in the lobby. We were made to feel most welcome. The steam room and jacuzzi tub were beautiful. The hotel was very well kept and clean. Breakfast was unbelievable. Would definitely return. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speziale654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurassicGM, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

It was a pleasure to be able to accomodate you all during your visit to Drumheller. Thank you kindly for your wonderful comments. We do look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to Drumheller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, mainly to meet up with family who were staying elsewhere. We both loved the hotel, the ever cheerful staff on reception. Room was very large, with simple cooking facilities, sofa and large bed. Hot popcorn (free) available in the small foyer along with coffee and brownies. Found room clean and tidy. Breakfast was good with usual continental choice available. Chantal was very friendly and helpful. Small hot tub and gym on site. Located about 12miles from Tyrel Dinosaur Museum and very short drive into town. if passing through again definite make a return visit. Thank you

Room Tip: Ground floor has oth hotel door and door leading to car park, great for unloading luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSD250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurassicGM, General Manager at Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

We here at the Canalta Jurassic Hotel are very thankful for your positive comments and happy you had such a great visit with us. It is such a pleasure to read that our guests really have enjoyed not only a clean stay, but also took part in all of our local Drumheller attractions including our Royal Tyrrell Museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drumheller hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramada Drumheller Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Drumheller
Quality Hotel Drumheller
#6 of 9 in Drumheller
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heartwood Inn and Spa
Heartwood Inn and Spa
#1 of 9 in Drumheller
362 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Drumheller AB
Travelodge Drumheller AB
#7 of 9 in Drumheller
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Drumheller
Super 8 Drumheller
#4 of 9 in Drumheller
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels

Address: 1103 Highway 9 South, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Drumheller
Price Range: $106 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jurassic Inn by Canalta Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurassic Inn By Canalta Hotel Drumheller
Best Western Drumheller
Best Western Jurassic Hotel
Drumheller Best Western
Jurassic Inn By Canalta Hotels Drumheller, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing