We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have to stay in Hanna, this would be the place.”
Review of Canalta Hanna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canalta Hanna
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanna
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you have to stay in Hanna, this would be the place.”
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Reasonably clean and in decent condition (in the newer section). It's very basic, but this is the best option if you are staying in Hanna. Convenient location and parking. There is kettle popcorn and cookies in the lobby free for guests. The bathroom is ultra small and has no sink in it (the sink is outside the bathroom). You will need to bring your own soap as the slivers that are provided are useless.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
22
6
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Recommendation is not to stay at this hotel. The rooms are overpriced for the quality of the hotel. There is no elevator, the bathrooms are old with staining. The room smell is musty. The continental breakfast is mediocre at best. The night we stayed a 3 ton truck's endgate banged all night long. Drive into Airdre or Calgary, much better value for your money!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane155043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

About 4 months ago I purchased a "punch card" from the hotel that would allow me to use their weight room when I was in town. I fequently visit family in Hanna and enjoy going for a work out while in town.

Well today I was back to Hanna for a family visit (2010-05-04) and went down to the Super 8 for a workout. 2 women working there, who I recognized from the past informed me that the weight room was now private(only for hotel guests) and that my punch card was no longer any good. (I have only used 2 visits out of the 10 the card is good for) I asked to be refunded a portion of the card but was told that was not possible. I explained to them and showed them my punch card which clearly states "No Expiry Date" on the bottom but they didn't care.

I'm not going to say this is a poor hotel but I can say from my limited experiences with the staff that if a problem comes up they don't concern themselves and they don't honour their agreements.

I'm also in the process of contacting the Better Buisness Bureau about this incident and this particular hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyack22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanton
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We checked in for 3 rooms. Friendly staff.
Rooms nice. Good breakfast.
Clean but little pricey.
All went well

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NantonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deliagi
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2009

The staff on both occasions that we have stayed here have been super friendly. Love the free cookies and popcorn. My in laws loved the pool but were disappointed the hot tub wasn't working. The gym is great. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The ambiance at this motel was very warm inviting and friendly. We think the cost is a bit much especially in the off season, we are aware of much cheaper prices in communities that offer way more.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deliagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2009

The trouble began upon check in. When we showed up at the motel to check in they wanted the charges for the room paid upfront, because we had booked the room over the internet. No problem, except that they wanted me to pay 0.75 cents more. I realize this is pocket change but the price that the room was booked for should be the price you pay, as it did include all taxes and surcharges. The manager told us we had to pay their price. I replied that I was sorry but this was not my problem it was theirs and they should take it up with the head office as it was there web site I booked from.
The room was not very clean. The floor in the bathroom didn’t look as though it had been washed. Also it looked as though a drink had been spilled on one of the walls and had never been washed off. There was opened frozen food in the fridge freezer. The air conditioner didn’t work. The rear exit door didn’t seal properly so when the wind was howling a small pile of dirt collected inside the room. The room key pass card didn’t work from the rear entrance in the room the entire time. This was very inconvient as the majority of parking for the motel is at the rear of the motel. So every time you came back to the motel you had to run around to the front to gain access to our room. This was fun when the wind was howling and it was raining! The hot tub in the pool area wasn’t working (I was told by some in town that it had been broken for quite awhile). Last but not least the pool was colder than the lake! I had asked if they could please turn up the heat a few degrees because it was so cold, the staff just looked at me and said they would see what they could do. We went back to the pool that evening over 12 hrs later and the pool was even colder. I was very nice about everything because I believe you get farther with people by being as pleasant as possible. However, the staff at the motel does not care about their customers and it really shows in their attitudes.
The only pluses about the motel are that the bed’s, linens and towels are newer and the gym is really well equipped for a small town. The location is also very good. There is also a very good restaurant in the same parking lot as the motel. Next time I will look far a bed and breakfast to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saskatchewanPamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Hello all, Hanna has to be the smallest town (if I can even call it that) I have ever visited. I am from Toronto and I couldn't believe that this town was basically two intersections. Anyways, the hotel we stayed at was very pleasant. We did arrive there at midnight and we did have a reservation which made it easy to check-in. The room was what you probably would expect in a hotel, clean, a decent size and excellent beds. I found the beds to be very comfortable and the washroom was good as well. We decided to book this hotel in Hanna because the hotels in Drumhellar were expensive (because of the dinosaur attractions). We do not regret our stay at this place because everything about this hotel was a positive one. You won't be disappointed if you decide to stay here. Good luck!

  • Liked — The comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JPGTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanna hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hanna Canada Grey
0.0 mi away
Fox Lake Retreat
Fox Lake Retreat
#1 of 3 in Hanna
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
That Country Place
#2 of 3 in Hanna
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalta Hanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalta Hanna

Property: Canalta Hanna
Address: 113 Palliser Trail, Hanna, Alberta T0J 1P0, Canada (Formerly Super 8 Hanna)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Hanna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalta Hanna 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Canalta Hanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hanna Hotel Hanna
Canalta Hanna Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing