We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acid trip” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crystal Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Leduc B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Acid trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel could be a hallucinogenic drug trip. The carpets are a strange combination of yellows to reds .
The rooms are very plain with wild color schemes. The bed lights are red (for whatever reason) and placed wrong to utilize. There was a small circular table in the room with two bright Orange office chairs. East Indian music was playing in the elevator. I believe someone described it as a very old cheap Vegas hotel .
For the continental breakfast they served pickled eggs. I tried the very old cereal and found out the hard way, the milk had soured. We couldn’t even get a reasonable coffee. It was dispensed from a vending machine and tasted as if the coffee grounds had been reused continuously over the past several months. Please eat someplace else.
If you wish you leave your auto there, you may do so free for 7 days for free if you are returning for a stay night’s stay and $5 a day after that.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collettechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
10
21
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, SK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here so we could make our 6 am flight the next morning (and another night on once we returned from holidays). Yes the rooms were 'interesting' but the whole experience (from check in to check out) wasn't that bad. Everything seemed to be clean when we stayed there. The staff were friendly. I would stay there again for easy access to the airport (the price wasn't too bad either).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dice401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

If you are looking for a great deal for flying and parking, here it is. The hotel is not fancy and the service isn't outstanding but you get a great deal on a average room and free parking for one week.

I did compare all the hotels in the area and their really is no better value.

The hotel could use some updating and I did find that the front desk staff is either understaffed or not available?

I did like the fireplace in the room, the bed is really nice and there is a big TV.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the one week free parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodeoFoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

A huge company, we were in urgent need of many rooms for a nights accomadation. We had credit card to guarentee rooms. Was refused with no reason!! Asked to speak with management and even that was denied. Was told manager is in meetings all day and could not return our phone call until later in the day, if even then! This is front staff. Why run a hotel that cannot accept large booking?? Would NOT recommend this hotel to ANYONE!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aurbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

I think they 'make' up the room rates as they like. Tackiest mess I've ever seen anywhere. No wake up call, no alarm clock, neon orange vinyl chairs, pink walls w. water damage,kids carpeting,one towel, no toiletpaper, poor ventilation. This place is a NIGHTMARE. No wake up call (I think the girl at the front desk was mentally challenged- I'm not kidding - the am guy was for sure), NO SHUTTLE - NO BREAKFAST(not even water). We all had to call cabs last minute - no apology- I have never witnessed anything like this place anywhere. It was like being in some sick fantasy world. Disgusting; a complete rip-off and atrocity. I wish I'd saved myself >100.00 and slept on an airport bench.

Room Tip: Just stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Tried this hotel numerous times and always encountered rude front desk staff. The room rates fluctuate depending on how busy it is. Always difficult to find a parking space and had my vehicle damaged twice.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

A friend and I went here to get a room. We were pretty surprised at the attitude of the girl at the front desk. We asked If there were any rooms available. She told us no. I found this very curious so when I left decided to call to see if there were any rooms available. The very same women explained that there were plenty of rooms. I took this to heart as I didn't appreciate being turned down service. Being only 22, I'm guessing that's why this happened. Clearly not very nice people to deal with as we are two mature adults just looking for a place to rest our heads before catching a flight in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattsmith31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leduc
0.1 mi away
Stars Inn
Stars Inn
#12 of 16 in Leduc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Edmonton International Airport
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Executive Royal Hotel Leduc-Nisku
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Edmonton International Airport
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Edmonton International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Star Inn

Property: Crystal Star Inn
Address: 8334 Sparrow Cres, Leduc, Alberta T9E 8B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Leduc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Leduc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crystal Star Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes east of Edmonton International Airport. Stars Inn was built with all travellers in mind. With 115 rooms offering modern and sophisticated accommodations for all travel needs, with complimentary services like airport shuttle, parking, use of fitness facilities, indoor pool. Enjoy state-of-the-art golf in our virtual golf rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crystal Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Star Hotel Leduc
Crystal Star Inn Leduc, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing