We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Provence

Bistro Provence
Ranked #11 of 94 Restaurants in Okotoks
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bistro 1882 is a casual Okotoks restaurant, 10 minutes south of Calgary
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

I know a new owner has taken over but the fare is still truly remarkable [it helps to have a chef from Normandy!]. It is pricey but the quality of food is extremely high. We go once a year on special occasions; book a reservation otherwise you might be disappointed and sit by the windows and order dessert!!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelJunkie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    9
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unbelievable restaurant in sleepy hallow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

my husband and I have gone a couple of times for dinner and we always do about 4-6 dishes that we share. Never have been disappointed and simply dream about their Foie Gras and Truffle Oil served with Tagliatelle - my mouth is watering just thinking about it. With a bottle of wine, 4-6 plates and desert our bill is usually around $100. Just love this place!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MsZorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Great Service and Wonderful Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is our all time favorite place to go for amazing dining. Ed is a wonderful owner/host who welcomes you into his restaurant. The atmosphere melts the stress of daily life away in an instant. The menu is simple with fresh ingredients and choices for everyone. The aroma, taste and presentation of the food is remarkable. We have dined in many restaurants all over the world (especially Paris) and we have to say that this is the best! Nicholas (Executive Chef) knows how to blend the various flavours and textures to create scrumptious dishes. The restaurant is small so reservations are recommended.
Bistro Provence is a wonderful place to hold meduim size events. There is a room that holds 35 + people for any special occasions. We have held 2 birthday parites and we found that Ed & Nicholas worked with us to tailor the menu to our requirements. Both events were wonderful! Do take the drive out to Okotoks to dine at a wonderful place!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank westeddy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Money and time well spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

What a lovely surprise, this place is a real gem. Bravo to the Chef. You won't be disappointed. From the minute you walk in, you know your in for a treat. If you are looking for great food and friendly staff you have found it here. Went in for lunch and have already picked out what I will be having for dinner on my next visit (which will be soon). Thanks for a wonderful meal and a great experience.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AnotherCanadian47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“To experience one of the finest dining experiences around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Having frequented L'Petite Table for serval years In Okotoks, I was greatly disappointed when it closed down. But to my surprise and delight, the restaurant re-opend under new ownership and kept it's French cuisine. There is now a new owner who has taken the reigns and the restaurant is once again thriving! I went outone evening with 8 close friends to experience the new menu and see what the chef had in store for us. The experience was absoutely delighful, the food was phenomenal and the service could not be better! It is definitely worth the drive out to Okotoks to experience this quaint little restaurant and the wonderful French cuisine that is presented. I can't to return soon.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Provence also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing