We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverview Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Okotoks B&B and Inns
Mountain Home, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had been planning a motorcycle ride from the USA since Jan 2013. At the last minute our hotel in High River cancelled due to the floods. Luckily The Riverview had openings for all four of us. All we could say when we turned off the road onto the drive was OMG !!! The tree lined drive led to a large house overlooking the Sheep River. We were greeted by Mila and given a tour of all the amenities. After a day of riding, it was great to sit in the hot tub then jump in the pool. Our room was spacious and fully stocked. The game room was excellent and relaxing. We spent a few hours shooting pool and talking to Josh about the local area. The next morning, Josh ensured we had anything we wanted for breakfast. We joked that he would make a great "wife". LOL To sum our stay up, the views were great, we were well taken care of and highly encourage you to stay here anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river on the top floor. We saw deer in the evening this way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_GuyX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
4
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I were in the Enbridge Ride to Conquer Cancer and had a reservation for June 22nd. When the Ride was postponed because of the floods we cancelled our reservation on Thursday evening, June 19. We were advised by police and media to stay off the roads that weekend. The owner would not refund our money. He indicated he could not re-sell the rooms. However, a friend of ours called on the afternoon of June 22nd to request a room and he told her he had no rooms available. We called him again and he will not refund our money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Okotoks hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Overall, it was a great place to get away from the hubbub of Calgary and celebrate my birthday. The pool was wonderful and the pathway to Sheep River was amazing. Breakfast was delicious - blueberry pancakes & ham. Only drawback was the lack of a warm greeting instead I received a "don't do" list ... Don't put plastic bags down the toilet! Very strange. The best part was meeting 2 couples from U.S. Georgia.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeekSleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first visit to a bed and breakfast. I don't think this is your normal bed and breakfast. First off, it is a few minutes from Okotoks, but really only 5 minutes. The place is huge. The family (in our case only one person there) lives in part of the house, the rest is for guests. This is a 13,000 square foot home so there is plenty of room. Being the winter, the price was great and we had the place to ourselves. Meeting people is nice but in this case being alone was perfect for what we wanted. We enjoyed our room, watching the super bowl, the view, the indoor hot tub (didn't use the pool) and breakfast was great. Josh (owner/son) was very nice and had pleasant conversation with him. The view is stunning and as we were searching for the place my girlfriend said in a joking way, I hope that house is the place. (she hadn't seen photos) Well it was. We really enjoyed driving some golf balls into the valley. Especially being February! Full bar downstairs with all the tools you would need, fridge, ice maker, pool table, darts, air hockey, games, books, you name it. We loved the bath robes in the room. The home theatre room though was not in service. No big deal for us, but they do feature it on their website. Well worth staying at and maybe a wedding spot someday? Well that is down the road but he did mention it is a popular spot for that and I can certainly see why. It would be a great spot for a several couples all looking at going away for a weekend.

Room Tip: We were in the Zen room (cheapest) and it was very good. The other rooms (we snuck a peek) were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanwhiskey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed overnight on our way to Calgary airport but wish we had stayed longer. This was more like a boutique hotel than bed and breakfast. The view from the terrace was stunning. Excellent value for the quality of the accommodation and great stop over for Calgary.

Room Tip: Room with the balcony was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairways56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast is in a great location just outside of Okotoks. The view is breathtaking. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The shared space was amazing. Absolutley the place has a lot of potential. This place is run by one person that clearly has too much to do and it shows.

Suggestions for improvement:
The pool was a mess...filled with dead flys and the hot tub was luke warm. It was clear that area was barely used or maintained. The breakfast was mediocre (the cook didn't have the makings to make a simple omelette and the muffins served were store bought). It was a very expensive B&B that didn't go out of it's way to provide a good breakfast. I've been to a lot of B&B's that were tenfold better in terms of what is provided for breakfast. Plus there were no nice little touches like home baked cookies or baked goods as treats in the common area. Things I've come to expect in the B&B's I've gone to for the price. We had to ask for clean towels.

I'll be honest we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCTraveler154936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed overnight to get out of the city and had a great weekend. We were amazed by all the offerings available at a bed and breakfast! They had a swimming pool with hot tub, work out area, games room with pool table, air hockey and Foosball. They have excellent common areas for guests to relax and the view from the huge deck is breath taking. The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable with all the same features that a hotel would have such as available wifi and flat screens. The grounds are excellent for hiking around, looking at the stars or having a camp fire over looking the river valley. We are excited to return in the next couple of weeks.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have great views of the river valley! North rooms are quiet and great for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donkey_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okotoks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Residence Inn Calgary South
Residence Inn Calgary South
#60 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Deerfoot Inn and Casino
#49 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Riverview Bed & Breakfast
Address: 80th Street North | Box 787, Okotoks, Alberta T1S 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Okotoks
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Okotoks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverview Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside our 10,000 square foot Bed and Breakfast you will find full amenities including an indoor pool, fitness room, large projection Movie Theater and Games room for you to enjoy. Other features include comfortable beds, private en-suite bathrooms, high speed wireless internet, and flat-screen TV’s in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Riverview Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview Bed & Breakfast Okotoks, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing