We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Okotoks”
Review of Las Maracas - CLOSED

Las Maracas
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Okotoks
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Gem in Okotoks”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

What can I say about this great little gem we have so near to us.
We have been coming here since their opening, and every time has been a great food experience. From the authentic Mexican fare, to the exceptional service by the owners and staff, it just keeps getting better and better.
Our favorite "go to" lunch is a starter of quesa fundito with chorizo, followed by the Sopa Azteca, all accompanied by a steaming hot Mexican Coffee. We normally finish off with a dessert of the excellent Tres Leche cake, the chef/owner's personal take on this tasty Mexican staple. Much better than the ones we've had down in Mexico.
Overall, the menu has a reasonable choice of varied items, and everything we've tried has always been well prepared, flavourful, and at a reasonable cost.
The great food and the appropriate decor, along with the colorful decorations brought directly from Mexico by the owners, add up to a great food experience.
Las Maracas has become one of our favourite restaurants here in Okotoks and we look forward to many more wonderful meals here.
(BTW... congrats on the excellent review from the Calgary Herald food critic. He has just discovered what we have known all along, that your restaurant rocks.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Percy G in Okot... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious and freshest Mexican salsa ever!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

So fresh! The salsa, guacamole, and our dinners were delicious! Definitely return! Service was fast but not rushed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank s f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ambiance matched not so good food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

visited with family for dinner in November and was struck by odd lighting open very small kitchen area. It Felt like lunch take out and staff were very, very disorganized ... looked completely lost and you could tell by other patros expressions that nobody was very impressed. Food arrived in stages whereby our daughter was left to eat on her own. Deep friend "boxed" flavour and salty. Plate presentation completely absent. Bad menu ordering setup and choices too numerous to adequately discern. Left with bad taste in mouth, kids hated it and wife said she would be surprised if place is still open next year as it seemed like nobody knew what was going on. Needs a complete overhaul from management right down to menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OurFamilyTravelsLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I were in Okotoks for a Hockey game and decided to stop by as we both LOVE Mexican food. This place was awesome, what felt like very authentic styled Mexican food. We both had a meal, two alcoholic beverages and shared a dessert and are bill was
35$ which I thought was incredibly reasonable for dinner. I would definitely drive out from Calgary again and the "Tres Leches" is a MUST!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura-KellyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“more than worth the short drive to Okotoks”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

"At last" (by Etta James) a real "taqueria" in our mist. My husband & I go at least once a week & just love this delightful new restaurant opened October of late last year in Okotoks. Whereas, we both love tex mex, Las Maracas is an authentic Mexican taqueria. Taquitos are prepared with the finest ingredients & a special love that only a trained chef brings to a kitchen. We started with the Sopa Azteca, a tortilla soup which is a meal in itself with wonderful favors. The tacos de chuletas are deliciosos. Now my favorite for weeks were the sopecitos de chorizo. Two make a perfect lunch portion. We then allowed ourselves to try the fajitas tampiqueña "beef fillet" & they were just outstanding (now my new favorite". They make great coffee & "fresh" Margaritas. Portions are perfect for tasting & sharing. Prices are very reasonable. If your are lucky to have their weekdays lunch special when chef makes his cream soup, well you know you've died & gone to heaven. We are still working our way through the menu!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerseygirl4491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Maracas also viewed

 
Okotoks, Alberta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing