We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JUST LIKE HOME SETTING.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phoenix House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Stettler B&B and Inns
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“JUST LIKE HOME SETTING.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I so much enjoyed my stay with David & Barbara. The home was heaped in history and very
excellent in all aspects.
We like the deck and the wonderful meals.
Also liked the convenience of the location to all the amenities.
We felt very much at home and very comfortable.
The food was simply superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had the opportunity to experience staying at Phoenix House this Sept. 2013. Dave & Barbara Lynn are wonderful hosts who run a most friendly, welcoming & clean B & B. When Dave found out we were travelling from St.Albert, he suggested we take a side trip into the little town of Donalda to visit their museum which boasts a huge oil lamp collection. He is most knowledgeable about not only the Stettler area but surrounding communities & attractions. We would highly recommend the Phoenix House & look forward to returning in the future to explore more of what this beautiful area has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave G, Owner at Phoenix House B&B, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of Phoenix House B&B. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This past weekend my daughter & I had an opportunity to enjoy the awesome hospitality of David & Barbara Lynn Goodwin and their lovely bed and breakfast. I would have no hesitation to recommend the Phoenix House in Stettler for anyone looking for a friendly, comfortable, amazing backyard complete with firepit. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at Phoenix House in August 2012. It was a lovely experience - we were made to feel very welcome. I was doing the Stettler triathlon, and was given much encouragement and support right from the first phone call! I didn't have the full breakfast, but instead was given a special power bar to help me for the tri - a very thoughtful gesture!

I stayed with my husband and young daughter (12 months). We had a lot of fun patting the friendly cat. The room was tidy and clean and had everything we wanted.

An easy enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank EmandMattUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My son was competing in a badminton tournament in Stettler in February 2013. I didn't realize how quickly the hotels booked up for this event, and was left without any room availability. As a last thought, I looked up bed and breakfasts in Stettler. I didn't think there would be any listings, but there was - the Phoenix House. I called, and the personable man on the other end said he did have one room left for the weekend. When we arrived, I found the house to be absolutely charming. The "green room" was lovely and comfortable. Dave and Barb were outgoing and very interesting people, I wish I would have had more time just to sit and talk with them. They went out of their way to be accommodating and made sure breakfast was served in time to get to the tournament. Sitting around a table sharing a good meal and conversation with new people is a great experience, especially for kids who wouldn't normally get this kind of opportunity in a bigger city. I'm glad I didn't get a room in a boring, generic hotel - the Phoenix House made our weekend road trip much more memorable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kindersley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Two of my sisters and I stayed here in Sept.2012. We found the hosts to be very friendly.
Our room was very comfortable, had awesome breakfasts. Great landscaping and since
it was fall we spent lots of time on the deck. A very beautiful place. Certainly would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shirlee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I’ve never stayed at a bed and breakfast before but decided we would give it a try while visiting Stettler since it would add to the small town charm of our trip. I was attracted to the Phoenix House because they had a very informative website with details on each room and had good reviews online.

When we showed up after our Alberta Prairies train ride, one of the owners, Dave, was at the door to welcome and greet us. He was very personable, just as he had been on the phone when I called to make the reservation. He showed us around his home and made us feel welcome.

Phoenix House B&B was originally built in 1916 and was lovingly restored after a disastrous fire. The house is so incredibly charming; it had a covered front verandah, a reading nook, a deck with an attached gazebo, patio with fountain, and a beautifully landscaped (award winning) garden.

It definitely was a very interesting experience staying at a B&B compared to a hotel. I felt like I was staying at a relative's house and had to make an effort to not be as noisy or messy as I normally would in a hotel. The other downside was that you can't really sleep in because breakfast is served promptly at 8:30am. So unless you wanted to eat a cold breakfast, you woke up in time.

Our room was very cozy and homey and had the most comfortable bed. The bedding and towels were clean and luxurious and the room included all the standard amenities you would find in a hotel. I had such a great sleep and relaxing stay here.

The next morning, Dave and Barb, cooked us a delicious wholesome breakfast, which consisted of omelettes, sausages, bacon, fruit and various baked goods (muffins and breads). It's been a while since I've sat down and eaten a proper homemade breakfast while enjoying a good conversation.

I had a good stay at the Phoenix House. It was a much more personal and charming visit than a hotel stay. I highly recommend the Phoenix House to anyone visiting Stettler!

Room Tip: Book ahead of time. There are three different rooms but they are all the same price. All of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank estherbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stettler hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Stettler
Ramada Stettler
#1 of 4 in Stettler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stettler Canalta
Stettler Canalta
#2 of 4 in Stettler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Stettler
Super 8 Stettler
#3 of 4 in Stettler
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Plains Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Stettler
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Stettler Hotel
#3 of 5 in Stettler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix House B&B

Property: Phoenix House B&B
Address: 5914 50a Ave, Stettler, Alberta T0C 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Stettler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Stettler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1916, our home has been beautifully restored and updated after a disastrous fire. Like the mythical Phoenix, we have truly risen from the ashes more glorious than ever. We offer four rooms, each with their own bathroom. Our full breakfasts are also everything you could desire. You can eat inside or on our veranda if weather permits. Look out over our beautiful flower gardens. We won 'Yard of the Year' in 2009! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Phoenix House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix House B&B Stettler, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing