We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocking R Guest Ranch
Reviewed August 6, 2012

When I googled "ranches in Alberta" the Rocking R Guest Ranch came up - how lucky for us! We travelled from Ontario to visit our son and we had the best weekend together. We stayed in the Bunkhouse cabin. Like all the other reviews, this place was perfect - squeaky clean, beautifully furnished, delicious gourmet breakfasts, hot tub, amazing views, peaceful surroundings, etc. The highlight for us was the 1 day Equestrian adventure to Kananaskis Country with Marvin and Rob. We have so many fun memories! Terri and Marvin provided us with outstanding western hospitality. We are recommending this ranch to our friends and family!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMC192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

We went to the Rocking R Ranch because every hotel room in Calgary was sold out for the Stampede. We were utterly blown away by the hospitality, the room, the cleanliness and the beauty of the ranch.
We were greeted with champagne, feasted on amazing breakfasts, given another bottle of wine the second night we stayed, given the run of the kitchen and the outside grounds and Terri made dinner reservations for us in a nearby bistro.
The horses are beautiful and friendly. The views of the Rockies in the distance and the lake were gorgeous.
I cannot recommend this Guest Ranch more strongly to everyone. Go and you will be highly impressed with the hostess, the value, and the memories.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent our 10 year anniversary weekend at the ranch and it was absolutely perfect. There was just enough in the area for us to explore a little, but not be too busy. We enjoyed just spending time at the cabin making use of the woodstove, hottub and barbecue. Horseback riding was also fun and Marv is a great teacher. Terri's breakfasts were phenomenal! The only problem was coming home and having to make our own again the next day :). We will recommend the ranch to all of our friends!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have a lovely home and starters for any holiday is that the chosen accommodation is at least as good as we are used to. There was no problem with that at Rocking R Ranch. Nothing could be faulted. The absolutely wonderful view of Eagle Lake with an uninterrupted view of the snowcapped Rockies is just for starters. 5 star accommodation with everything thought of and so well co-ordinated makes this place a cut above most other properties we've been to in places across the globe. We went for a quiet two nights to recover from our long flights into Calgary but there was so much to see and do in the local area that we pushed ourselves to fit in as much as we could before heading off to the Rockies. There is no need to stay in Calgary because the ranch is just an hour from the airport on straight roads that are well signed. We took advantage of Terri and Marvin's local knowledge and visited the local area to see indian reservations, dinosaur sites, the Badlands scenery and topped that with a Rosebud theatre dinner in the quaintest of hamlets with a highly professional theatre production as well. Yet, we need not have moved off the ranch because the facility to ride the range is available as are local walks; the hot tub and outside cooking opportunities through either barbecue or firepit brougt the days to a close and the breakfast, provided by Terri in our acccommodation, got us off to a great start.

This is a high quality establishment that superlatives cannot adequately describe. We feel lucky to have found it and our only regret is that we did not plan to stay longer. We've travelled the world and this is as good as it gets (and much better than most). Our advice for those visiting the area is to think seriously before chosing to go elsewhere because if you miss this opportunity your experience of staying in Canada will be incomplete.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My husband and I needed to get away for a couple days from the hustle and bustle. From the moment I called Rocking R I had exceptional service. The facilities are absolutely gorgeous! We were lacking nothing. Snacks were provided when we arrived and everything was very laid out and organized for us. Every detail was looked after, including spa robes and slippers. Breakfast one day was a lovely, large continental breakfast and the following day a two course, delicious hot breakfast. We stayed in the larger cabin which was immaculately clean and comfortable. Our trail ride was very enjoyable with quiet horses and excellent conversation. What a wonderful place to get away from it all and we surely will return someday, perhaps with friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChickadeeCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We were looking to try new things on one weekend...Rosebud theatre and a B&B nearby. Luckily we found the Rocking R Guest Ranch. Everything was terrific...the play was thoroughly enjoyable, the meal before delicious and the short drive scenic. The ranch sits on a ridge with a fantastic view of Eagle Lake below and the Rockies in the distance. We sat outside on a bench and watched two glorious sunsets. The cabin inside is very comfortable and the attention to detail is everywhere..from the board games, the combination of rustic and modern, notes on the pillows, to even a celebratory drink for our anniversary! The owners are so friendly and helpful...the tickets to the show were arranged by them. Both mornings we were treated to a two-course breakfast which was incredibly tasty(working around a food allergy as well!). We were truly fortunate to have discovered this gem...we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The Rocking R Ranch is a perfect getaway. The scenery is beautiful and it is very peaceful. If you are looking for a place to go to"get away from it all" then look no further than the Rocking R Ranch.

We stayed in the larger cabin which was absolutely beautiful and very clean and comfortable. The kitchen is fully functioning with everything you would need to prepare meals if you wanted to cook in the cabin and there is also a BBQ available to use. The bathroom has a soaking tub as well as a separate shower. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens. There is also a wood burning stove with wood provided which just added to the ambiance of the cabin. There is a fire pit available for use as well as a hot tub, both of which are located right next to the cabins.

The breakfast that was provided each morning was amazing. Terri would ask us in the evening what time we would like breakfast in the morning. She brought the breakfast to the cabin and took the time to to ask how we were enjoying ourselves and also to provide information on local restaurants and attractions. The presentation was beautiful and the food was delicious. What a great way to start each day!

It was such a great experience to be able to walk out the cabin door and be so close to the pastures and the horses. Marv is very informative and you can tell just by talking to him that he loves the horses. We have very little experience with horses and therefore didn't book any actual horseback riding, but after talking to Marv we would certainly feel comfortable learning to ride with him. (We are definitely going to book this the next time.) We instead opted for the carriage ride which was so much fun and the highlight of the weekend. I would certainly recommend that when staying at the ranch that you book a horse experience as it just seems fitting with the scene and Marv and Terri are very accommodating.

My husband and I wrote in the guestbook that we had been looking for a place to go to get away from the hustle and bustle of real life. We have stayed in many different places but none were quite what we were looking for...until now. I have nothing but the very best to say about the Rocking R Ranch and highly recommend it to everyone! Thank you so much Terri and Marv. You are the best hosts! We are looking forward to staying there again. We can't wait!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathmore
0 mi away
Bar Diamond Guest Ranch
Bar Diamond Guest Ranch
#1 of 1 in Bindloss
1 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Strathmore Inn
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Strathmore
Travelodge Strathmore
#2 of 5 in Strathmore
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Strathmore
Super 8 Strathmore
#4 of 5 in Strathmore
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Strathmore
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Wheat Land Hotel
#5 of 5 in Strathmore
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking R Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking R Guest Ranch

Address: Box 45, Site 14 RR1, Strathmore, Alberta T1P 1J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Strathmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Strathmore
Price Range: $202 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rocking R Guest Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Calgary you will find luxurious cabins atop a ridge with a view of Eagle Lake and the majestic Rocky Mountains. The Hitch n' Post is a cozy cabin for two and The Bunkhouse is perfect for a family getaway. Breakfast is included in the cost of your stay. We also offer spa services in the privacy of your cabin and Equestrian Adventures for all levels of riders. Minimum Night stay at the ranch is 2 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Rocking R Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocking R Guest Ranch Strathmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing