We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagle Lake RV Resort
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We camped here August long weekend. A group of us went and we all thouroughly enjoyed every minute there. We went out a few nights before to pick our site and Ty was a great help. We had the perfect site and he explained everything that the campground had to offer - so much to do here!
The lake wasn't great for swimming but we still went boating and had a blast. I have never seen bathrooms that clean before either....keep up the great work.
We will definately go back!!
Julie and David

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaldwinAtEagleLake, Owner at Eagle Lake RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Hi Julie,
Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit. We are glad you and your friends had fun.
As you mentioned, sometimes the lake isn't the best for swimming, (May and June are usually optimal) that is why we concentrate on providing lots of things to do in the park, most of them free. That we have control over, the lake is run by Mother Nature and she doesn't always listen to us.
We work very hard to make sure the bathrooms are clean. No-one likes doing it, but we sure love the compliments. I'll be sure to let the staff know it really does matter to be in there as often as we are.
We look forward to seeing you in 2013.
Leslie :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We held a seasonal site at Eagle Lake for 8 seasons. We made many great friends with the seasonal campers and the workers. The staff is always friendly and helpful. One of the best memories is that everyone helps everyone no matter how big or small the project is. The campsites are nice and the openess was great with our little kids so we could see them wander around the park and the petting farm. Very quiet at night. The fishing has been great for Walleye and Pike.
We left our seasonal site to do more travelling with our kids before they out grow us. This is our first season away from Eagle Lake and have already been back three times this year as a weekend camper!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaldwinAtEagleLake, Owner at Eagle Lake RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thanks Wade.
It's great to hear from you. I hope you and your lovely family are enjoying your travels. Thanks too for the great fishing picture! We look forward to seeing you next year.
Leslie :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

we paid almost 600.00 for 7 days of camping in there trailer they have for rent, To witch i should of had hot water the whole time i was there, we did not not even one day I went to the office and complained about this nothing was done,then the toilet over flowed all over the floor and we went to the office again, it took them till the next day in the mid afternoon to come fix it i had 4 kids with me and in the night we had to leave the trailer that we paid for to go to the bathroom,
they then sent in a woman with a mop to clean up the mess from the toilet,she came in with a mop to clean carpet ,, to me this was very strange i have never cleaned carpet in my house with a mop,,, for the rest of our vaction the trailer smelled like an out house,
when we first checked in i had to boil water to wash all the dishes that were not clean,
the staff were rude,, when i went to them about not having hot water or any other problem i had out there,, We also asked the staff if there were leeches in the water they told us no and the kids came out with them all over there bodys.
The hole reason i spent so much money on this trailer was to have a relaxing week with 4 kids not a hand full of stress i coulda done that at home for free!!!!!!!!!!
We will never be back to this resort EVER AGAIN VERY UNHAPPY!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaldwinAtEagleLake, Owner at Eagle Lake RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Hello Jackie,
I am sorry that you did not get an orientation on how to enjoy your vacation in an RV. Camping is much different than staying in a hotel or motel. When we have repeat guests booking, we do not schedule teaching time with them. If they give away their booking to someone, (as is what happened in your case) we don't know that you need this vital time. We did our best to take care of you when you told us that you were having problems, and as these problems did not come up in stays later in the season, (we checked the unit over, tested it, then specifically asked later guests-just to be sure) it leads us to believe that your challenges were an overuse issue. RVs have smaller tanks for hot water and toilet water than homes. I cannot comment on the dishes as this was not brought to our attention at the time so have no basis for answering.
As to leeches in the water, we answer environment-based questions to the best of our current knowledge. In the previous 20 summers that I have been here, there have been no real problems with leeches, so there was no reason to believe there would be for your stay either. It is a lake though, so each year can be different, we do our best to monitor the information coming our way.
I hope that these comments address your concerns.
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the August long weekend. A young man working there said there wasn't a full service available, only un serviced, then said he could put us in a 15 amp seasonal spot for the weekend. Great, right?! We get there to find out there is no sewer and we weren't told, so that was our first disappointment.

It's a communal hookup spot. You better hope you have long cords to reach several feet away. My hubby did the power water hookup as I went about and set up other stuff. We didn't have a neighbour for the first 2 days and when they pulled in, I guess they had paid for 30 amp and we were using it. (bad communication on our part because I obviously didn't tell my husband and really, who would think there would be two different ones at the communal post.

So the office came to us and said we owe more money. We offered to pay for the two nights that we had used, and change power outlets because it was a mistake, but she said no, we already gave them a credit, so you have to pay. Personally, I think that is wrong, but who am I? (a person who thinks they could improve communication!)

The location is ok, the sunsets are beautiful, there are a ton of birds, which are nice but we had a lot of poop on the awning, so be prepared to clean! The washroom is small, but fairly clean, the lake has leeches and I wouldn't let my dog swim in it (or kids). If the campground cleaned up their junk lying around (old cars, boats, scrap junk) they could certainly improve the appearance. If they had more than one dump station that would speed up process for people waiting.

We tried it, but definetly wont go back and will not be recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank 4frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaldwinAtEagleLake, Owner at Eagle Lake RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Hi there,

We are sorry to hear that you weren't happy. It sounds like there were a couple of places where communication fell apart. I'd like to share what we are doing to make it better.
The original section of the park does have an older style layout, which is why we use it mainly for stays by the week or the month. However, rather than keep someone in an unserviced stall when they could be having some kind of power, we do move people there when we have a last minute opening. I am sorry that that didn't work out for you as well as you had hoped. With the older style of lay-out, decisions sometimes have to be made and when someone is plugged into the wrong amperage, staff have to do their best to keep both sets of campers happy. This means there are days when we can't take care of everyone exactly the way they want to be taken care of unfortunately. When you were upgraded to a 15 amp site in our long-term section, you should have been accompanied by our staff. We usually have one of them walk over with you to make sure you find the right plug-in and to get you one of our loaner cords if you cannot reach with yours. I stressed to staff that this is mandatory and not an optional service that campers can say no to. (I don't know if you were offered this service, I just want you to know that we have increased the emphasis on it being provided.)
As we do not have any sites with sewer, I reminded staff to elaborate when people ask for "full-hook-up" to respond with "none of our sites have sewer hook-ups".
You are right about the junky cars etc. We used to take a variety of items into our storage area, some of which have been abandoned. It is a lengthy process to get them removed. We have finally made some headway in that department and have also moved our storage area so that new items are less obvious.
A second dump station would definitely be nice, due to the very high cost of doing this though, it is not in the plans for the near future.
The lake is a natural environment and we have no control over it. Most years we have no reports of leeches, but some years we may have some. They do make good food for the fish, so anglers seem to appreciate the large walleye and pike they pull out of here.
We are glad you liked the sunsets. We can't take any credit for them, but we like them too.
Please email me (Leslie) at info@eaglelakeRVresort.com to talk about what we can do to win you back.
Thanks for taking the time to help us improve. :-)
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Poor staff knowledge, rude and inconsiderate as they ruin a family gathering. Can not even book several sites together even tho we booked in May. Even tho it was there error they will probably charge us for cancellation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleLakeRVResort, Owner at Eagle Lake RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Hi Kent,

We are sorry that you were not happy with your experience booking with us. If you could please forward the details to me, I will look into it personally and get back to you regarding this.
Our email address is info@eaglelakeRVresort.com. Please mark it attention Leslie, Regarding TripAdvisor/Poor Booking so I can spot it as soon as you send it.
Thank you for bringing this problem to my attention.

Leslie
owner/operator
Eagle Lake RV Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We camped at Eagle lake with friends of ours, first time there for both families. We LOVED it. Easy reservations, easy check-in, nice sites. Campground was very clean. Our kids liked the open grass areas....and the parents liked being able to see them. What we really noticed was how quiet it was after 11pm, no rowdy party's or loud music. Also, its not far from town if you need anything. Pets were welcome which was nice too.
Looking forward to our next trip there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TBesplug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleLakeRVResort, Owner at Eagle Lake RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Hi Trevor and family,

Thanks so much for the kind words. We loved having you here and look forward to your next visit. :-)
Leslie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This will be our 5th season at Eagle Lake and we love our camping family! We have made some great friends throughout the years and most people remember us because of our 4 legged children lol. Its a great family campground where we go to relax and our kids have the same friends every year and have so much to do!! Great family place!! Come and see for yourself!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Famvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleLakeRVResort, Owner at Eagle Lake RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Hey Sylvie and Jeff,
Great to hear from you-thanks so much. We are looking forward to seeing you and your four-legged kids (and the two legged ones as well!). :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strathmore hotels
6.2 mi away
Best Western Strathmore Inn
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Strathmore
Travelodge Strathmore
#3 of 5 in Strathmore
303 reviews
5.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Strathmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Super 8 Strathmore
Super 8 Strathmore
#4 of 5 in Strathmore
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocking R Guest Ranch
Rocking R Guest Ranch
#1 of 4 in Strathmore
133 reviews
6.4 mi away
No photo provided
Wheat Land Hotel
#5 of 5 in Strathmore
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Lake RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Lake RV Resort

Address: Range Road 243, Strathmore, Alberta T1P 1J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Strathmore
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Strathmore
Price Range: $23 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family fun in a quiet country resort~Camping (power and water or unserviced), picnicking, walleye fishing. Farm animals, hayrides, play areas, store, showers, laundry, self-propelled boat rentals. Just 10 minutes to Strathmore, 40 minutes west to Calgary. Voted as one of Canada's Top 100 Places to Camp and Strathmore's Business of the Year in 2010. :-) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eagle Lake RV Resort Strathmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing