We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A handy hotel in a quiet town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Strathmore
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
880 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“A handy hotel in a quiet town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

If you have business in or around Strathmore, or if you are heading east, and do not want to negotiate the Calgary traffic in the morning, this is a good place to stay. Nothing fancy, just clean, comfortable accommodation, with a basic breakfast, and free parking.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    63
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
57
50
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

The front desk was not staffed on arrival with a sign saying "press zero on the house phone". The house phone was nowhere to be seen....anywhere. When the reception staff arrived, I asked where the house phone was. On the floor, in the lobby behind a chair. Not a good start.

Our room was on the lower level. No elevator. We had a half window which looked straight into a truck bumper. Not much of a view. There was a four inch piece of wood on the carpet which looked suspiciously like feces at first glance. I guess vacuuming the carpet is done weekly. It was a good sized room with a comfortable king bed but the blankets were threadbare and frayed at the edges, nice flat screen TV, and micro-wave and small fridge. The pictures had been removed leaving the nails and other picture hanging equipement on the bare walls. To be fair, they were in the process of changing furniture but renting a room in progress seems different.

This facility offers a "no smoking - pet friendly" policy which, if you have allergies, is like having a no peeing section in the swimming pool. The room had a slight musty smell which could have easily been a pet smell.

The diesel truck parked outside started at 6:30 am and was left to idle to a few minutes while the headlights shone through the heavy drapes. Not good for trying to get a few more minutes of sleep.

Breakfast was ok. Nice size room but the reception staff are the breakfast room staff so they are often occupied checking patrons out while there is no coffee.

Thst motel is not my style anymore. Fifteen years ago, it would have been ok but not anymore.

Room Tip: I would not recommend you stay in an odd number room in the lower level because of the window size a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trafdlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

First thing we check - is the room clean? Detail had been given to the cleaning. We asked for an extra bath towel and it was at our door immediately. Front desk person was most helpful in giving us directions. It was so quiet at night, we were shocked to find out in the a.m. our floor was filled with teenage hockey players. The breakfast supplied was adequate and well supplied.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cactus0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

We were very pleasantly surprised that the hotel upgraded us to a special suite complete with two person jacuzzi, fireplace and king bed complimentary just because the hot tub was in need of maintenance. As my husband and I are accustomed to daily hot-tubs this was a Godsend. Our desk clerk was exceptionally polite and friendly and our room was just like a home away from home after a long journey. We were able to have a very relaxing evening in anticipation of another long drive in the morning. We are looking forward to staying here on our journey back. Even the art work is inspiring.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan181796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

This hotel was our first on a cross-Canada trip and looking back it was one of the nicest rooms we stayed in. Two queen-sized beds and a big bathroom made for super comfort. It was also very clean. The front desk staff were very friendly. And lastly, there was not a "lecture" about their pet policy and only a minimal fee for our dog to stay! We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvie Heights, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed at the Best Western in Strathmore Inn on our way back to BC. In is close to Calgary has all the amenities we were looking for and is very nicely priced. The complimentary breakfast is a cut above average and sure beats driving around in the morning to find a breakfast spot. The pool is not the biggest but kept very clean. Staff is totally friendly and accommodating. The bed was comfortable and the room spotless.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claresholm
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

Power issues if you want to use the hair dryer, coffee pot or microwave. Breaker blew and front desk staff couldn't resolve the issue after 40 minutes and we had to be somewhere. When we returned, the power was on but they told us if we used the coffee pot and hair dryer at same time the lights were on it would happen again. The staff didn't seem to care, so we checked out and went to the Days Inn which was beautiful and offered us a $15 discount since we had a bad experience. The Best Western gave us a $10 refund when we checked out, but we had to ask.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skater10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathmore
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Strathmore
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Strathmore
Travelodge Strathmore
#2 of 5 in Strathmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Wheat Land Hotel
#5 of 5 in Strathmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chestermere Hotel
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Strathmore
Super 8 Strathmore
#4 of 5 in Strathmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rocking R Guest Ranch
Rocking R Guest Ranch
#1 of 4 in Strathmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn
Address: 550 Highway 1, Strathmore, Alberta T1P 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Strathmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Strathmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated 3 Star AAA and Canada Star Quality hotel is located right on Highway #1 enroute to Calgary and is a great choice for the traveler who wants comfort and amenities at an affordable price. We are committed to environmental protection. Check-in to superior fiscal and environmental performance.All rooms have Wi-Fi, Microwave, Mini Fridge, Working Desk with Ergonomic Chair or seating area, some suites, HD Cable TV, Air/Heat Control, Iron & Ironing Board, and your choice of a Traditional Single Pillow-Top Comfort Support Bed or the Classic Double Pillow-Top Comfort Support Bed Room, plus start your day right with a Deluxe Continental Breakfast. Our Business Centre includes a Guest Computer & Printer, and the hotel also offers an Exercise Room, Pool and Hot Tub, Guest Laundry, Vending & Ice Machines, plus "I Forgot" items at the Front Desk.We are 100% Non-Smoking and offer Pet Free Floors. Pets are welcome on the first floor only, charges apply. Ask our friendly staff how you may earn rewards while you enjoy your sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn Alberta
Strathmore Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing