We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, quiet getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spruce Hill Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in 108 Mile Ranch
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Spent the month of May here and Definitely recommend it for rest and relaxation. The staff were phenomenal, they go out of their way to meet your every need and were happy to accommodate me during my stay (even arranging a ride into town for business). I was on the spa-plan and had dinner at the 1871 Angus Mcvee dining room every evening. Not only did they meet all my dietary restrictions but kept the menu fresh and changing from night to night. While I did not use the spa or fitness classes while here, I did walk their extensive trail system which was well marked and easy to navigate. Also the pool and hottubs were excellent and their is a well stocked gym available for no extra cost. Rooms were comfortable and up to date! Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will likely be back in the future!

Room Tip: I stayed in the hotel portion and found the rooms very comfortable and clean. Rooms have A/C, Cable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patcorbett, Owner at Spruce Hill Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you very much Valerie for your kind review after your 1 month stay with us! Thank you for commenting on how you enjoyed our food, and how our kitchen & service staff were always sensitive to your specialized dietary requirements through-out your stay, day after day!! We are also very pleased to see that you enjoyed our rooms and found them comfortable during your 1 month stay with us !! Great to know you also found the rooms "up-to-date" with complimentary wifi, cable, & that you enjoyed our beds c/w goose down duvets etc!! ...also pleased to read that you enjoyed our pools, our large fitness center, & our extensive trail system!! I am sure you found many wonderful vistas near lakes, forests, grassland meadows, and hope you enjoyed watching parts of the cattle herd of 1000 cows grazing quietly over the 20,000 acres where our trails roam!! Thanks again Valerie, & hope to see you again soon !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 264 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

The staff are amazing but the rooms need a serious overall - good cleaning but the duvet covers are old gold and worn - 1960 experience - the carpets are old and smell stale. Come on spend some money on basic upgrades.
I have eaten dinner here before but this time avoided the experience. Breakfast is good - just do not hope for an early start as breakfast is at 8:00

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank anafricanincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend to Eat breakfast and lunch at the restaurant. The woman that is serving there makes your day: she is lovely and great. Do not go to the restaurant for dinner. I am sorry to say, but the food was horrible. Meat was dry, without taste and also very expensive.

Hotel itself is very beautiful. Bit old fashioned but also very cute. They have wifi everywhere and a very beautiful and clean swimming pool. The horses walk around freely and you see several animals from your balcony. They offer free hikes in the morning and afternoon hikes for just 10 dollars.

If you are looking for a place to relax, go here. I'm sure you'll find what you're looking for. You want to be in de middle of a city? Drive further!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patcorbett, Owner at Spruce Hill Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your review, and we're certainly pleased you enjoyed everything here, including breakfasts & lunches, our rooms, and our atmosphere with horses & hikes !! We are very sorry that your dinner was not to the same standard as the breakfast and lunches that you were very kind to recommend to others. I have reviewed your report with all of our chefs already, all of the breakfast, lunches, & dinner chefs. Also, of interest and importance for you, We just changed our menu 2 nights ago, after working on it for the past 2 months, and we're so sorry that you were not here for this very important change. We would like to invite you back to try our dinners, and see if you agree that it is to the same standard as our breakfasts and lunches, so would like to invite you to give us another visit, to enjoy our breakfasts ad lunches, and give our dinners another try with our new menu ??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

1) the facility is run down and is lacking even basic maintenance.
The food, should be removed from the menu. Somebody owning or operating the place needs to get their head straight, what is offered on the menu and what the food taste like, is inhumane to offer to is patrons.
The rooms: well depending on what you order and what you expect this place is not much better then your average slummy motel in a ghetto. It is way over rated. Faucets broken, dirty tubs, unmatching furniture, decks with bare plywood. Clogged drains. TV that dont work.
The Spa, once you are able to figure out the confusing entrance, you will be in for a surprise . If you want to advertise as world class than live up to it. There is nothing great about the spa, the resort or the staff.
We wasted our money, and it excessively over priced for the quality and condition of the place.
VERY DISAPPOINTING.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patcorbett, Owner at Spruce Hill Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for your review, though we are "startled" at the same time. We try so hard to please all of our guests, all of the time. I wish I could contact you, but we don't know who you are??? We are trying to determine which room you were in so we could be addressing what you have written about the rooms, food, drains, tv's , furniture etc ?? . Our housekeepers & mntce crew are trying to figure this out. We just served about 115 people again for dinner last night, the servers all got great tips, and we know that all of the people gave tremendous compliments regarding both the food and the service because I was told so by the guests themselves. Same with our spa treatments, I personally spoke to many guests who were having treatments and 100% compliments, not one negative which is also our norm for those who take a treatment which is many as we have 16 treatment rooms. So we apologize for what seems to have happened during your brief time here (whenever that was) , I can't fathom how our food could be said to be 'inhumane' , but I sure am open to hearing what it was that caused you to say such things???? We are also trying to find out where there is a room where the tv is not working or where there is a clogged drain, or where The furniture doesn't match, as we bought everything at the same time, so we again wish we could better identify who you are, and which room you were in??? I would very very much like to reach you, speak to you, ..would you be willing to phone and ask for me please??? 1-800-668-2233 (ext.222) ??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Hills Health Ranch has chalets that my family has stayed in many times .....when we were in108 mile area.....from my experience, the family enjoyed the stay.....lots to do and see .....for a small town .... its a great place to go spend time surrounded by nature..... its quiet , comfortable and the price is right...... im going there this summer once again and have already booked my chalet .....

Room Tip: the chalets are private and well worth staying in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travlr65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patcorbett, Owner at Spruce Hill Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

We are very happy you enjoy our 3 bedroom chalets! With having a choice of staying in one of our family chalets or our hotel-style rooms, we have always found that this mix of types of accommodation is important, allowing guests to enjoy the spaciousness of a "small home", or more traditional hotel room experience at affordable prices which you mentioned! Glad to hear as well that the extensive list of "things to do" here is important to you, as so many of our staff work in the stable, in our fitness dept, our large spa, our hiking guides, & more all depending upon our guests wanting to enjoy our 20,000 acre playground. We look forward to seeing again this summer,and thank you very much for your review.....!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Yes, our room was somewhat dated as mentioned by previous reviewers, but we did not come here for the decor and were more than pleased with our accommodation. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and equipped with coffee maker, fridge, coffee table, loveseat, occasional chair, desk, free Wifi and huge jacuzzi tub & shower combo. Unfortunately our TV was not working (could not get a signal) and no one was available to help us with it. The included made-to-order breakfast was very good and all staff, both in the restaurant and other areas of the property were most pleasant.

We enjoyed the use of the hot tub and our ski the next morning on their xc ski trails. Perhaps, on another visit, we will try some of the other activities offered.

A note about the ski trails - though they were excellent, we found they were poorly marked and the trail map confusing. It is easy to get lost in that maze of trails.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patcorbett, Owner at Spruce Hill Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you very much for comments, and pleased to know that you enjoyed our food and staff services, & that you also found the room clean, comfortable, and fully equipped thereby meeting your needs for an escape! I can provide an update on the TV, which was a "1st of a kind"...the problem was our Converter box from the cable company which had just failed for some reason, and it has now been replaced by our provider Shaw Cable Company. We are happy you enjoyed the great cross country skiing here, and given that we certainly have alot of trails where we had just put in another 150 signs this fall over the 100km's of trails, we will look to add more signage next year to alleviate any confusion on the trails !! Thanks again for your kind review, and we sure hope to see you again soon!!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

While the resort is a bit dated and facilities tired (although the bed was surprisingly comfortable - great sleep!), the beautiful setting, many activities, and very friendly and welcoming staff make this a great spot for a little getaway. We were fortunate to enjoy a couple of nights as a gift.

Where the Hills shines is in it's staff... they are very welcoming and genuinely want to see all of their guests have a great experience. There are so many activities to choose from that there is no excuse to be bored... although if you want to just kick back with a good book and enjoy the scenery that is just fine too. The Hills offers a venue for many local artisans to display their works, and offers many locally produced products in their spa and gift shop.

The x-country skiing was fantastic... a very extensive network of trails, and the daily grooming ensures there is ample terrain for both classic and skate skiers to explore. There are also plenty of opportunities for the more adventurous to step off the groomed tracks. You definitely want to take a trail map with you and pay attention to where you are at trail intersections.

My wife and I both had massages following a great day on the trails. The spa staff were again very friendly and professional. The facilities while not the flashy modern spa experiences you might find at the new spa resorts, they are clean and comfortable and the staff are dedicated to your overall health and wellness.

We had a couple of breakfasts and one dinner at the resort. The food was nothing special, but good.

The pool was good, but the hot tubs were not hot... this might have been due to being recently cleaned and refilled. The facilities welcome the general public for day use which is great, but this does demand a little more effort on keeping up with maintaining the change rooms etc than was evident during our visit.

The Hills definitely offers some fantastic health and wellness programs, and with the expertise from their spa professionals, fitness programs, and great fitness facility I am sure that guests who come for longer stays to help achieve their personal health goals will be well cared for and see good results. With the daily fitness programs, recreational activities, and health focused cuisine, the Hills does offer great service.

We would definitely return in winter or summer as a couple or with our family. There is plenty to see and do for people of any age and interest.

If you are considering a stay at the Hills, keep in mind that the name includes "Ranch". This is not a high-end destination resort with fine dining. Think of it more as visiting grandma and grandpa out at the farm. The decor is rustic and dated, but the welcome is warm and genuine.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRL73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patcorbett, Owner at Spruce Hill Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, and the extensive kind comments about our staff, who are the heart and soul of the resort experience here as you so rightly noticed & experienced. Happy also that you enjoyed your bed, the extensive menu of activities for all ages where the staff are front line, the skiing, the spa-ing, and that the food was "good" !! And thank you for pointing out that we are a ranch, we don't use the word falsely like you sometimes see. We're a ranch, featuring a spa, wellness programs, skiing & all of the snow sports, and a summer riding-hiking-biking experiences over 20,000 acres!! Great to know that you will return too, most importantly!! Thanks again for taking the time to write a review ...hoping see you again in the summer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near 108 Mile Ranch
7.4 mi away
Ramada Limited 100 Mile House
Ramada Limited 100 Mile House
#7 of 8 in 100 Mile House
158 reviews
0.8 mi away
108 Resort
108 Resort
#1 of 2 in 108 Mile Ranch
113 reviews
12.3 mi away
Big Creek Lodge
Big Creek Lodge
#16 of 51 in Cariboo
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
6.6 mi away
100 Mile Motel and RV Park
100 Mile Motel and RV Park
#4 of 8 in 100 Mile House
34 reviews
6.6 mi away
Westwood Motel 100 Mile House
Westwood Motel 100 Mile House
#2 of 8 in 100 Mile House
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Hill Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Resort & Spa

Address: 4871 Hwy 97, 108 Mile Ranch, British Columbia V0K 2Z0, Canada (Formerly The Hills Health Ranch)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > 108 Mile Ranch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in 108 Mile Ranch
Price Range: $97 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Hill Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Hill Resort & Spa (formerly The Hills Health & Guest Ranch) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spruce Hill Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hills Health Ranch Hotel 108 Mile Ranch
The Hills Health Hotel
The Hills Health Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing