We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay zoo”

Greater Vancouver Zoo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open year round and located only 45 minutes from Vancouver, Step Into The Wild at the largest zoo in BC! Discover the sights and sounds of over 140 species on 120 acres in the beautiful Fraser Valley! Experience the Zoo your way by bringing your own wagons, roller blades, bikes, skateboards, and picnic lunches. The playground and large picnic areas are great for birthdays, company BBQ's, group events or family picnics. In the summer, spend a Night In The Wild as you camp overnight inside the Zoo, and be sure to sign up for one of our popular Junior Zoologist Day Camps! Since 1970, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is focused on education and conservation.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I've been to many zoo/aquariums (such as San Diego , Toronto Metro , Marine Land , Portland and a few others.) and honestly out of all the zoos ,the greater vancouver zoo has some of the biggest exhibits I've seen ( which is a good and bad thing.) The zoos layout is not bad lots of walking with minimal exhibits ( not a huge variety with big exhibits). Which in turns makes some of the animals hard to see and sometimes invisible. Which in my opinion is a good thing for the animals and bad for the customers. Some parts of the zoo are starting to show their age and are needing some repair. The location of the zoo is out of the way if your just visiting the city, about an hour or so drive from vancouver. Overall though not bad for kids and some adults but slightly overpriced ( just because it's hard to see a variety of animals ; unlike other zoos I've been too which you see a lot more animals for about the same price) and not tourist friendly. It's definately not the worst or best I've seen.

Thank Chris1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review the Greater Vancouver Zoo.
Unlike many other Zoo’s, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding, and rely solely on admission rates to operate the Zoo year round.
We’re continually making improvements to the Zoo. This past summer, we completed our New Animal Care Center. The new building houses our animal quarantine (for new arrivals), hospital (for the treatment of sick and injured animals and minor surgery) and commissary facilities (food preparation and nutrition). The new facility incorporates advanced technology that enables more on-site treatment of animals with speed and accuracy which reduces stress on the animals and staff alike.
Currently, we’re building a new lemur house with a bigger area, which will offer better viewing in the winter.
Thanks again for the review; we hope you’ll visit the Zoo again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bring your own"
in 10 reviews
"lion feeding"
in 16 reviews
"grizzly bear"
in 16 reviews
"science world"
in 5 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 12 reviews
"lots of space"
in 5 reviews
"large enclosures"
in 10 reviews
"picnic tables"
in 6 reviews
"radical raptors"
in 6 reviews
"bike"
in 19 reviews
"grandchildren"
in 12 reviews
"membership"
in 9 reviews
"angela"
in 6 reviews
"wagon"
in 5 reviews
"stroller"
in 10 reviews
"talks"
in 5 reviews
"rescue"
in 5 reviews
Filter

224 - 228 of 434 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great place to see wild animals outdoor instead of in cages etc.! I remember visiting this place when I was a child and remember seeing a elephant for the first time and I believe I saw giraffes too! I recommend this outdoor zoo for anyone who loves to see animals from all over the world.

2  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thanks for the review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy visiting the Zoo, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Kind of run down and see them in cages the did not look happy most if them were just lay there that sad

Thank kerriebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

We appreciate our guests posting their concerns about their visit to the Greater Vancouver Zoo.
The Greater Vancouver Zoo is CAZA (Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums) accredited. The accreditation process takes place every five years, and they inspect all aspects of zoo operations including animal health care, exhibits, husbandry of all our animals, educational programs, safety/security, guest services, conservation, research, staff training programs, finance and physical facilities.
If you visit the Zoo at various times throughout the year, you'll notice that our animals behaviors change with the seasons. When you visited during the summer, is when many of our animals tend to be less active and seek shade to keep cool. Many of our visitors often find the fall and spring to be when our animals are most active.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is an expensive outing for a family . It is a privately owned facility that needs work . I love animals & will not visit again .

Thank luvtotravel020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

We appreciate our guests taking the time to post their concerns about their trip to the Zoo.
Unlike many Zoo’s, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding, and rely solely on admission rates to operate the Zoo year round. We're continually making improvements to the Zoo. For example, in August 2013 we completed our Animal Care Center, and currently we're building a new lemur enclosure.
We continually review our rates to ensure they're competitive with other attractions in the lower mainland.
Thanks again for the review. We hope you'll consider returning to the Zoo again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My son loved the experience from the time he was 6 months ....a great family experience. We continued to visit the zoo as he grew up. I have taken my grandchildren and have gone with groups of friends. You need time to visit and definitely take the time to walk and enjoy.

Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thanks for the review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy visiting the Greater Vancouver Zoo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greater Vancouver Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Greater Vancouver Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing