We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A so-so experience”

Greater Vancouver Zoo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open year round and located only 45 minutes from Vancouver, Step Into The Wild at the largest zoo in BC! Discover the sights and sounds of over 500 animals (140 species) on 120 acres of land in the beautiful Fraser Valley! Experience the Zoo your way by bringing your own wagons, roller blades, bikes, skateboards, and picnic lunches. Ride the miniature train, watch a variety of daily educational talks & feedings and be sure to catch one of the Birds of Prey presentations! The playground and large picnic areas are great for birthdays, company BBQ's, group events or family picnics. In the summer, spend a Night In The Wild as you camp overnight inside the Zoo, and be sure to sign up for one of our popular Junior Zoologist Day Camps! Since 1970, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is focused on enriching our guests experiences with entertaining enriching activities about the wonderful world of animals.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A so-so experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have lived near this zoo for about 35 years and I have been there only twice, both times for kid's field trips. We went with a school group today so we had the advantage of a hefty discount. I am not a big fan of zoos to start with. From the beginning then. Huge car park but the allotted spaces are so small and we had trouble upon leaving. Opening our doors to load the kids was difficult . In fact, I had to back out of the spot before my wife could open her door to get in.It is a very busy place but we were able to enter the zoo quickly. The information booth was not open during our visit. I thought it would be a good idea to be able to receive a printed map of the grounds showing where various animals are located. From what I can gather, at least half, if not more, of the animal population is nocturnal. So no chance of seeing a lot of what may be there. The train ride was fun and it is a nice attraction. A hint here - do not sit too close to the engine as the P.A. system can not be heard above the engine noise. Very limited food selection at the cafe, so much so that when we left the zoo we stopped down the road for lunch at a food mall. Prices are what you would expect at a tourist trap, meaning a day with kids, buying their lunch, train ride, and entry can be costly for a family. It was a so-so experience but at least the kids have an opportunity see some animals up close.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RIJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Greater Vancouver Zoo.
Our information booth is mostly run by our volunteers. It is open daily at 2:15 pm, and open for most of the day on the weekends and sometimes during the weekdays. However, it is dependent on when we have volunteers to run the booth.
As a movement to become a more environmentally friendly facility, last spring, we stopped producing printed maps for Zoo guests. We now have 8 large map boards that are located throughout the Zoo; each board also has a QR code that will bring up a map of the Zoo on a smartphone.
Zoo guests enjoy visiting the Zoo at various times throughout the year, as this provides an opportunity to see how animal behaviors change throughout the year. Many of our animals tends to be more active on cooler days, as opposed to warm days when they seek shade to keep cool. During the peak season, we also offer daily educational talks and feedings for a variety of animals that often provide better viewing options.
Thanks again for the review, we hope you'll be back for a visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    125
    87
    55
    55
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My Favorite Zoo.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Ive looked at some of reviews a bit confused. The last time I went about a month ago the Animals looked perfectly fine to me. This Zoo is amazing the play area is great and I love the quick food. Last time I went one of the workers at the zoo was getting yelled at because the one of the girls selling some type of food didn't speak English very well. The lady getting yelled at seemed to remain calm and have it all under control. The Animals have lots of room which is really nice to see and theres all types of animals to see. I highly recommend this zoo to all ages.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aero_5_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for the review, we're glad to hear that you enjoy visiting the Zoo!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rainy zoo day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

It was raining most of the time we were at the zoo, so not the best day to have a great experience, but we had a good time anyway. The animals' enclosures are large with lots of natural vegetation and we were lucky to be there at feeding time for the big cats and the giraffe.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianaChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Greater Vancouver Zoo.
Having a chance to watch our educational talks & feedings is a great experience.
We hope to see you again soon, and hopefully with a bit nicer weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This zoo is awful! All the animals look depressed, under stimulated, and kind of out of it, as if they've been drugged! This zoo needs to be shut down. Zoos should not be private! There is obvious neglect in this zoo and I can't believe the authorities don't do something about it! If you want a decent zoo, go to Kamloops Wildlife Park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank OKPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We appreciate our guests' taking the time to post their concerns.
The Greater Vancouver Zoo is accredited by Canada's Accredited Zoo's and Aquariums (CAZA). The accreditation process takes place every five years where we go through a very comprehensive application submission, followed by a review from the CAZA Accreditation Committee Board, and then a team of inspectors is selected from this committee for a 3.5 day on-site inspection. They inspect all aspects of operations including animal health care, exhibits, husbandry of all animals, educational programs, safety/security, guest services, conservation, research, staff training programs, finance and physical facilities.
CAZA-accredited zoos and aquariums are dedicated to the highest standards of animal care. They nurture, protect and care for more than 100,000 animals representing over 2000 species. Often these animals are the last remaining representatives of their species and survive with the help of zoo and aquarium endangered animal management programs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Country Zoo with charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family enjoyed a wonderful day at the GVZoo and a drive out of the city. I can imagine the lack of bus route is a limitation for many who will otherwise miss out on this great attraction.
While, as a privately owned zoo, it does not enjoy the benefits of government grants and is therefore not as flashy, we were especially impressed with the facilities and care the animals were receiving. You can certainly tell in talking to the keepers that the animal's well being is their #1 priority and there are strict standards in place to ensure this happens.
It was also amazing to find a facility that allows for people to bring their own bikes, etc. to the grounds. It is a large property. To anyone who complains about it's lack I would say - contribute and visit so they can afford to do more, because the willingness seems to be there for sure!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tlvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We're glad to hear that you and your family had a great visit to the Zoo. We appreciate that you understand the challenges we face as a privately run Zoo, and that you recognize that our animals well being is our # 1 priority!
We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greater Vancouver Zoo also viewed

 
Fort Langley, Langley
 

Been to Greater Vancouver Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing