We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the kids big and small”

Greater Vancouver Zoo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open year round and located only 45 minutes from Vancouver, Step Into The Wild at the largest zoo in BC! Discover the sights and sounds of over 500 animals (140 species) on 120 acres of land in the beautiful Fraser Valley! Experience the Zoo your way by bringing your own wagons, roller blades, bikes, skateboards, and picnic lunches. Ride the miniature train, watch a variety of daily educational talks & feedings and be sure to catch one of the Birds of Prey presentations! The playground and large picnic areas are great for birthdays, company BBQ's, group events or family picnics. In the summer, spend a Night In The Wild as you camp overnight inside the Zoo, and be sure to sign up for one of our popular Junior Zoologist Day Camps! Since 1970, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is focused on enriching our guests experiences with entertaining enriching activities about the wonderful world of animals.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Take the kids big and small”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent the day at the zoo with grandkids. It is a big place so go early. The staff were very knowledgable and spent time talking with the children. The different sites are well marked butgive yourself time to get to the different events that happen throughout the day. Don't miss the birds of prey show . Truly amazing andvery interactive. When Grandma gets tired take a trip on the train. A great place for the whole family.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DLeaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for writing a review on your visit to the Zoo. We're glad to hear that you had a great time with your grand kids. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    125
    87
    55
    56
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
“zoo”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It is an awsome zoo alot of walking so it would be nice if they would get more pedal bikes,had to wait long times to rent one.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank grammie7_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Greater Vancouver Zoo. We're glad to hear that you had a great time visiting, and appreciate you letting us know about the long wait you experienced for the pedal bikes. Sorry about the long wait times that you experienced during our peak season, we try our best to keep our wait times at a minimum. Another option that many of our guests enjoy as opposed to renting pedal bikes, is bringing your own bikes, blades, etc into the Zoo. However, we understand that this option doesn't work for everyone, and the pedal bikes are sure a fun way to experience the Zoo! We hope to see you back at the Zoo again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“horrible -the saddest place”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very expensive
Living conditions for the animals is dismal
Exploitation or sanctuary ?
Many of the animals, I learned after the fact, have died, some have been moved as the habitat is unsuitable to the extreme

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank s p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We appreciate our guests’ taking the time to post their concerns about their visit to the Greater Vancouver Zoo.
Home to over 500 animals in the beautiful Fraser Valley, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is CAZA (Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums) accredited. Since 1970, the Zoo has been dedicated to preservation, conservation and the protection of endangered species. We engage visitors in recreational, educational and conservation-oriented activities about animals and the zoo environment, and promote respect for and connections with the natural world. We have ongoing conservation projects including the Oregon Spotted Frog Recovery Project, and through our Quarters for Conservation Program we're able to generate funds for supporting field conservation projects for endangered species.
The CAZA accreditation process takes place every five years (we went through our re-accreditation process last year in 2012) where we go through a very comprehensive application submission, followed by a review from the CAZA Accreditation Committee Board, and then a team of inspectors is selected from this committee for a 3.5 day on-site inspection. They inspect all aspects of zoo operations including animal health care, exhibits, husbandry of all our animals, educational programs, safety/security, guest services, conservation, research, staff training programs, finance and physical facilities.
Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums (CAZA) is a charitable organization dedicated to promoting the welfare of animals and encouraging the advancement and improvement of education, conservation and science. CAZA-accredited zoos and aquariums are dedicated to the highest standards of animal care. They nurture, protect and care for more than 100,000 animals representing over 2,000 species. Often these animals are the last remaining representatives of their species and survive with the help of zoo and aquarium endangered animal management programs.
Unlike many Zoo’s, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding, and rely solely on admission rates to run the Zoo. Our rates are continually reviewed to ensure that they're competitive with other attractions in the lower mainland.
We're continually making improvements and enhancements to the Zoo for our guests and animals. Recent improvements at the Zoo include: a North American Wilds walk through section, and the movement towards a paperless facility with the recent addition of 8 large map boards located throughout the Zoo.
Currently, we're nearing completion on a new Animal Care Center. The new building will house our animal quarantine (for new arrivals), hospital (for the treatment of sick and injured animals and minor surgery) and commissary facilities (food preparation and nutrition). The new facility will incorporate advanced technology that will enable more on-site treatment of animals with speed and accuracy which will reduce stress on the animals and staff alike.
We are also building a new lemur house (with a bigger area, that will offer better viewing in the winter through plexiglass), a perimeter road (this road will be designated for zoo vehicles as a means to get around the Zoo without disrupting public walkways), and new safety and barrier fences are being installed.
Thanks again for posting your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Way to Spend A Day”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I were looking for fun things to do with our 3 year old grandson, so we decided to visit the "Greater Vancouver Zoo" as it was close to home and looked interesting! We discovered that they had a seasonal "Family" package price which was exceptionally reasonable and included riding the "train" as often as you wanted to! Our grandson loves trains, and this was his highlight on every trip to the zoo, after we spent time visiting with the animals, which are all mostly up close and not at all shy! We would take a lunch and picnic some days, at the tables which are available throughout the park, and we would often have the local ducks, geese, swans, etc. floating past us which made lunchtime so much fun! Most days we managed to take the train trip around the park at least once, sometimes twice, and this soon became our favorite place to spend time during the Spring and Summer months! By the way, parking is included in the seasonal price...where else will you find such a deal? Truly a wonderful asset to the community!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for posting your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy visiting the Zoo so much. Zoo memberships offer great benefits, and truly are the best value. We can't wait for you to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wish it were a better home for the animals”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

it's a small zoo, and having been to bigger zoos (Seattle and Portland) and seeing how much room the animals have there, it makes me sad for these animals. It's more like an exotic animal jail. They don't appear unhealthy and they do have a train that takes you around the property, but I wish the animals had a better environment.

Helpful?
Thank Slugbuglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVZoo, General Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We appreciate our guests' taking the time to post their concerns.
The Greater Vancouver Zoo is home to over 500 animals on 120 acres of land. Woodland Park Zoo (Seattle) is 187 acres with 1100 animals, and Oregon Zoo (Portland) is 64 acres with 2200 animals. In comparison to the Zoo's you mentioned, Oregon and Woodland Park, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is privately owned whereas Oregon and Woodland Park are public non-profits. They receive funding from the government, whereas the Greater Vancouver Zoo doesn't. We rely solely on admission rates to operate. All animals at the Greater Vancouver Zoo receive high standards of care, and have ample enclosure space.
Last summer, we went through our CAZA (Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums) re-accreditation. The accreditation process takes place every five years where we go through a very comprehensive application submission, followed by a review from the CAZA Accreditation Committee Board, and then a team of inspectors is selected from this committee for a 3.5 day on-site inspection. They inspect all aspects of zoo operations including animal health care, exhibits, husbandry of all our animals, educational programs, safety/security, guest services, conservation, research, staff training programs, finance and physical facilities. CAZA-accredited zoos and aquariums are dedicated to the highest standards of animal care. They nurture, protect and care for more than 100,000 animals representing over 2000 species. Often these animals are the last remaining representatives of their species and survive with the help of zoo and aquarium endangered animal management programs.
We appreciate your feedback, and hope you will visit the Zoo again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greater Vancouver Zoo also viewed

 
Fort Langley, Langley
 

Been to Greater Vancouver Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing