We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost cheap and really cheerful...”
Review of Green Basil

Green Basil
Ranked #78 of 601 Restaurants in Burnaby
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marlborough
British Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Almost cheap and really cheerful...”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very busy and bustling and that makes sense... We ate off the Combo for Six menu because it was too tricky to get the 5 of us agreeing about it all http://www.greenbasilthai.com/downloads/dinner_menu_Final2.pdf ...Tons of food and very tasty, too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank widget50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    30
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Decent Thai and average service”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to get a Thai fix they have a good range of curries and noodle dishes here. The green curry was better than average actually. I do find it curious they charge additional for rice though with a curry dish, I don't think I've ever seen it served without. Phad Thai was passable, although it seemed a little too oily. Service was ok, but looking at the reaction and manner of other tables, I don't think it's the place for that memorable anniversary or birthday dinner. Just across the street from MetroTown mall, so it is an easy place to meet up after shopping to get away from the crowds.

Helpful?
Thank Indiananimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent...”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten Thai food all over the world and aside from Thailand, this is the most authentic Thai. Have had. Ate there several times in m week he on business, and even took out several young coconuts to hel with my recovery from jet lag / a cold.... And the staff at amazing, food super tasty and you get what you want... When you want and no disappointments! Love it!

Helpful?
Thank Curious-Cow-PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Bc Canada
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fast Service”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were staying at the Holiday Inn Express so went for a walk and found this great Thai Restaurant for supper. In and out in less than an hour. Food was all very fresh and tasted excellent. Service was fast and friendly and not overly priced. Great place to eat. Would definitely go back there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarabyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Good service, meals were average. Tamarind Pad Thai was way too sweet for us, we should have ordered the tomato based Pad Thai.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SCgirl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Basil also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Green Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing