We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Tasty”
Review of Green Basil

Green Basil
Ranked #186 of 598 Restaurants in Burnaby
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Marlborough
British Columbia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very Tasty”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Decor is plain and a bit cold but the food is very tasty. Service is quick and the place is usually crowded. The servers will give you advice if you have difficulty choosing. The prices are very reasonable and the clientele is mostly Asian. That probably indicates a good place to eat!

Helpful?
Thank TuckerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    28
    19
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The food here was really excellent! The service was a little slow at the end getting our bills etc. but other than that it was really good.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for Thai!”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

If you would rather skip the big chain restaruants that seem to be everywhere in this area, then check this place out. It is right across the street from Metrotown mall. They have a really nice 'down town' atmosphere and excellent Thai food. I had my curry served in a real pinapple!!!. Good service too:-) I have been for dinner at Green Basil sevral time and will come again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoom_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, british columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

lunch special is great, try the green curry. Across from Metrotown, limited parking.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orchid_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worst food i've ever had. stay far away from here”
Reviewed May 19, 2010

absolutely horrendous. i love thai food, and was excited to try a new place. we recently moved, and this one is close to us and had some good reviews here, so we tried it. what a mistake. we actually sent our food back it was so awful. i don't know what the hell they think they're serving, but it most certainly isn't thai food. vague asain slop, perhaps, but not thai. the pad thai was goopy and sugary sweet - and after sending it back they told us that they use a mix for the sauce. ugh. i cannot tell you how completely awful this was. there was not one redeeming feature. this was an hour and a half of my life - and $40 - that I'll never get back. and i will never forget the look on my husband's face as he was served a gloppy white mess that was supposed to be some sort of stirfry. you couldn't pay me to try another dish from this terrible, terrible restaurant. i left wishing we had gone to the food fair at metrotown instead, it was that bad. we both felt fortunate that neither of us was sick after. perhaps that's because we hardly ate any of what we ordered. i still regret not just walking out, and i've never done anything like that before.

tripadvisor asks me to select if i would recommend this to a friend y/n. i wouldn't recommend it to an enemy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vanbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Basil also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Green Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing