We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view, ambience and some really nice dinners”

Horizons Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Horizons Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 593 Restaurants in Burnaby
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Burnaby Mountain Parkway
Burnaby British Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, ambience and some really nice dinners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have been to Horizons quite often for lunch and dinner. We have some American friends who like to go there when they visit us. The view at sunset is sublime. The restaurant is open, airy with a west coast feel. The waiters are attentive and professional. I have had some lovely dinners: grilled fish over mesquite, italian fish stew, lamb done braised and rack; all delicious. And the burned lemon cheesecake is just fabulous.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burnabytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    120
    55
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dining out Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I haven't been to Horizons in about 20 years. Back in the early 90's it was all nouveau cuisine, very pretty but not a whole lot of substance. So I went with a group of friends and was most impressed. The options were great, the price was very reasonable and the meal itself was delicious.

The view from the top of Burnaby Mountain is spectacular and the restaurant certainly takes advantage of that.

In the past I had told people about my experience - which at the time was sort of ho-hum. Now, however, I would highly recommend it. Very pleased that my recent experience in January changed my opinion for the better. Will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“food experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The food was average. My clams and mussels combo appetizer was very rank, My second course was salmon, very ordinary. You would expect more since Vancouver is home to the salmon. I would not recommend this restaurant. I could have a view anywhere else in the city.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sybilsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, great views (even when cloudy and foggy)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a good choice for a nice restaurant meal in Burnaby, even for locals who are not looking for the typical tourist views. We arrived on a very cloudy (often foggy) evening and I was surprised that the view of the city is still pretty spectacular. The room is remarkably warm and friendly for such a large place and the window tables are all well placed and comfortable.

All four meals at our table were very tasty. Appetizers were a bit on the small size (especially for their price), but other than that, no complaints.

The service was extremely attentive, and professional. We were there during the "Dine Out, Vancouver" promotion week and the restaurant was full, but service was still very good.

The Dine Out menu was really exceptional and a good value. We chose other items, which were considerably more pricey.

Definitely a repeat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller98735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have just come back from a meal at Horizons. we bought a Groupon which was $49.00 for two meals including appetizer and dessert. The meal was excellent. The service was also excellent. I have been to Horizons years ago and was NOT impressed at all. Tonight I was totally impressed by the quality of the food, the service and presentation. My husband and I both had the steak and it was lovely. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone and the view of Vancouver from the restaurant cannot be beaten.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bailey709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horizons Restaurant also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Horizons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing