We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK”
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
Ranked #4 of 602 Restaurants in Burnaby
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marlborough
Long Island City
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's OK”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Well it's all about execution and much of it is flawed there.
Cocktails are watery, they don't know how to make a martini. We sent it back and the new one was bad too.
Calamari overbreaded.
Cod too dry.
Salmon was very good.
Service friendly and attentive but the girls don't know much about good food.

Overall it was disappointing. We went there because our first choices were fully booked and the location was convenient for us, low expectations and no good surprise.

Too bad.

Helpful?
Thank CuriousFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    118
    46
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

While I normally have a disdain for chain restaurants, Cactus Club always impresses. The food & service are always great! Stephanie was our server at lunch today and the restaurant was very busy. She was on the ball and very friendly! The food was also excellent as always! As the restaurant was so busy we had to wait a few minutes for a table and the manager came to apologize for the wait giving us his card so we could call ahead next time to avoid the wait. Today was our second time here this week as we were also here for dinner earlier in the week. The food and service was also excellent on that stop as well!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nfriesen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always a treat!!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Cactus Club Cafe always has great food with friendly service. It is a great place to have a business lunch or to unwind after a busy work day.....
A great place to return to and always superior service with great food!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GNAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very nice, indeed!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

A small group of four of us were there on a Friday night. We had made reservations, but were very late due to the weather. We lost our reservation, but only waited a few minutes for another table. Staff was very friendly overall and our waitress, Melanie was very attentive. We started off with an order of calamari to share, a starter size salad of seasonal greens, and my husband ordered the celeriac soup. We found the calamari very tasty, not chewy, and plenty for 4 people. The salad was just for me, but it was so big that we all shared it. It was very good with strawberries, feta cheese, almonds and a lemon dressing. My husband was happy with the soup. For mains, two of us ordered the butternut squash and prawn ravioli, one order of Rob's hunter chicken and one order of the peppercorn sirloin. The ravioli was "melt in your mouth" heavenly good, each ravioli with a prawn on top. The hunter chicken was beautifully presented with green beans and roasted potatoes, topped with a very tender, moist chicken breast and mushroom glaze. The peppercorn sirloin was delicious and came with mashed potatoes and string beans. The only dessert we ordered was a piece of key lime pie that my husband and I shared. It was presented with a huge pile of whip cream on top (more whip cream than pie) and because of that we had a difficult time really tasting much of the key lime. We mentioned it to our server and another staff member who took our payment, but neither was very concerned about it. Be warned, the restaurant is very noisy and compacted. Overall, the food was outstanding and we will definitely be back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place and has parking”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Ate there last night with friends and it was my first visit to that location. Service was fast, pleasant and well managed.
Food was good, however not too impressed with the breaded calamari appetizer. A little too much breading and very little flavour. Entrees were served in good time and nicely presented.
I would make a point of returning the nxt time I'm in town.

Helpful?
Thank claudedoiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing