We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Day Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Happy Day Inn Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Vancouver
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in one of the suites from June 22 to June 24. It was our second visit to the hotel. The room is great - we are a family of 4 - 3 adults and 1 child. The bedroom was very large and spacious, we really appreciate being able to cook in the room. Everything was clean, the shower is fantastic. We should have asked for some extra pillows but the ones that came with the room were big and fluffy. I liked not having heavy blankets on the bed as it is summer and anything more than a blanket is too warm anyway. The only thing we would upgrade in the room is the television - we'd have liked to been able to connect our little dvd player to the tv to watch a movie but there isn't a way to change input on the television or remote, though we can connect the player at the back. Location is fantastic. Have no idea about the continental breakfast but that wasn't a selling point for us anyway. We liked making breakfast in our room and the second morning we wanted to go out for breakfast. The price can't be beat - $100 for a suite for 4 people per night? People say you get what you pay for but at the Happy Day Inn you get what you pay for and more!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to book. Last year when I used the toll free line with the reservation agent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pluckyducky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    36
    10
    34
See reviews for
34
32
15
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We traveled Canada for 2 weeks and stayed in hotels of average same price, this was our last place before we went home - this was the worst. We were covered in bed bug bites, the place seriously needs to be fumigated!!! The Continental breakfast is a complete waste of time and money. All the baked goodies was stale, the fruit was old and busy drying out. There is no place to sit since it is served in the small lobby. Microwave was horribly filthy - should be cleaned daily. Our bath plug was blocked from dirt, both these were not cleaned after we mentioned it to staff. People were coming and leaving at 3am making such a noise. I would not recommend this to anyone and def does not deserve a 3 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I visit to Vancouver for my personal Work. I booked room in Happy Day Inn for 2 Days. I like the Rooms and Services of of Hotel and Hotel Staff. Hotel also look nice and at very good place. I enjoyed their.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy_Day_Inn, Manager at Happy Day Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words. I am glad to hear we were able to serve you well. We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Continental breakfast is NO GO: just a few stale donuts and some orange juice diluted with water...this stuff lies on a counter in a corner of the tiny lobby...barely any seating area (maybe one arm chair). That is not what I would call "complimentary breakfast".
----
Free internet: that is true; there is free wifi internet, but the signal is quite weak and I kept losing the connection
----
The door safety latch in the room was broken..with the screws coming loose
----
Cable TV was bad too: the image on the TV was not clear at all, as if the signal was being received via an antenna, even though there was cable. Not that inspiring!
----
The room seemed decently clean, but my sheets had some pen ink markings; it seemed like they were not washed thoroughly.
----
If you can manage to reserve a room for less that $50/night including taxes, then it may be worth it if you are on a budget. There is free parking and easy access to transportation (bus #106 takes you to the Edmonds sky train station from where you can reach downtown Vancouver in about 20 minutes)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misterfmtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy_Day_Inn, Manager at Happy Day Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
I am sorry to here of your displeasure.

A North American continental breakfast consists of pastries, juice, coffee, tea of which we serve fresh daily (pastries are bought before the breakfast is served fresh from Tim Hortons on a daily basis). We have 4 chairs in the lobby but as we are a small property of 32 rooms we encourage guests to use the tray provided in their room and feel free to take their breakfast back to their room if there is a lack of space in the lobby.
-----------
We have upgraded our internet throughout the building as of February 2012. There is high speed coverage throughout the building and the parking lot.
-----------
I am sorry to hear about the door latch, was this issue brought to the attention of the front desk? We have a full time maintenance person on duty daily Mon - Fri to address issues such as this one.
------------
Did you bring the cable tv issue to the front desk? We have a maintenance person to address these issues. We also have spare TVs in case of TVs breaking down.
------------
We have an outside company wash all of our bed linens as we do not have sufficient capacity for industrial size washers and dryers. Was this issue also brought to the front desk? We pride ourselves on accommodating our guests and ensuring their stay is comfortable. We would have been more than happy to change the linens immediately.
------------

I am very sorry to hear of your displeasure, but would encourage on the next visit to address the issues you may encounter (hopefully there are none) immediately as we have someone at the front desk 24 hours per day to assist guests in every way possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Room: Clean but very basic in terms of linens for bed (a thin blanket and bedspread over sheets)
Cleaning Staff: No concept of what the 'Do Not Disturb' sign meant. Two days in a row our room was entered without permission and the third day following there was an additional attempt.
Front Desk Staff: We always found them pleasant.
Continental Breakfast: Basic muffins, doughnuts and coffee from Tim Hortons.
Location: For those without transportation this location is out of the way.
Overall: For the price, my husband and I were not expecting much. It is clean and basic. Some may not mind their room being entered without authorization but with no in room safe, we prefer to stay at a place where privacy is respected.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TamandTomAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy_Day_Inn, Manager at Happy Day Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
With regards to the do not disturb sign. It is hotel policy to enter the room once every two days. In individual cases where a guest may stay with us long term (a week or longer) we have extended this period on the guests request. I am sorry you felt your privacy was not respected. We have addressed this issue with the cleaning staff and we are actively pursuing different ideas regarding our policy on entering rooms. I can assure you that as a small family owned motel we only have 3 housekeepers and all have been in service for more than 3 years with no issues at all.

We hope to have the pleasure to serve you in the future and would be more than happy to address your privacy concerns upon reservation and upon check in should you decide to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2012. Room were quiet, clean incl.kitchenette, TV. Queen bed mattresses were all right.
Amenities: free save parking, free good connection to the internet,
they offer simple breakfast snacks in the lobby which is incl.in the affordable price
everything worked, friendly staff
ask for Senior or BCAA rate discount 10%
The only issue this motel has is that there is no elevator. There are many steps to walk from the undercover parking up to the rooms #300 with luggage.
Overal a positive stay

Room Tip: quiet rooms # 303 & 305 in the back, away from the Hwy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_d181780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed for one night and our experience was awesome. Room was very clean. I like the high, big mattress for a bed and when we entered the room it was there. Best thing is the washroom has a tub for a relaxing bathe. Brewed coffee are available for free in the room. Pop and other drinks are not. Parking was safe. Very accommodating staff and had a free breakfast before we left. Highly recommended. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnaby
The Met Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Westminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Maywood
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Coquitlam
#4 of 4 in Coquitlam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn
#3 of 4 in Coquitlam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Day Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Day Inn Hotel

Property: Happy Day Inn Hotel
Address: 7330 6th St, Burnaby, British Columbia V3N 3L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Day Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your travel is for pleasure or business, you will find your stay at the Happy Day Inn an enjoyable one where you will get your money’s worth. And since our rates are amazingly affordable, you can spend more on your vacation or business. Happy Day Inn is located 20 minutes from Downtown Vancouver in the heart of Burnaby in beautiful British Columbia. Its central location, within easy reach to all modes of public transportation makes it an ideal starting point for discovering Vancouver and the Lower Mainland. It is also convenient for people who would like to get away from the congested downtown area and yet remain close to it. Choose from a variety of rooms with queen beds, two double beds and suites. For the convenience of our long term guests, we have rooms with fully equipped kitchenettes. All our rooms are modern, nicely appointed that have private bathrooms, color Cable TVs, direct dial phones with data ports and voice mail and air conditioning. Our deluxe rooms have additional facilities including coffee makers with free coffee/tea and hair dryers etc. Our complementary continental breakfast is a perfect way to start your day. In the evening, you can relax in the Sauna or have a workout in our fitness room. We have special offers for long-term stays. Our 500 sq. ft. meeting room can accommodate up to 40 people and has all modern facilities for a business meeting or seminar / symposium. All of the above comes with ample free secured parking for your maximum comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Happy Day Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Day Hotel Burnaby
Hotel Happy Day

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing