We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful intro to Turkish fare!”
Review of Anatolia's Gate

Anatolia's Gate
Ranked #35 of 601 Restaurants in Burnaby
Cuisines: Turkish
Restaurant details
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful intro to Turkish fare!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family has been all over the world, but never to Turkey. We decided the next best thing was Turkish food, so my wife found Anatolia's Gate. It was clean and simple in layout, with a big brick oven behind the counter. Turks love fresh bread called lavash, which is much like a pita on growth hormones. Ours was at least eighteen inches by twelve, brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with white and black sesame seeds. It was fresh from the oven, smelled wonderful, and lasted three of us the entire meal. We had a sampling of shepherd salad, lentil soup (with lemon), chicken wraps (called durhams) and a meat/cheese and egg delight called meat pide. The hummus and dill yogurt dips were lovely, and all was served beautifully by Mustafa, our young waiter. All the staff seemed to be under twenty. The whole menu is halal, at medium prices. We were all stuffed for $14 each.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't miss this hidden gem”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This restaurant is pretty low key and off the beaten path, but the food is fantastic. I always eat too much here, partly because of the delicious bread (which is huge!) that comes at the beginning with the great yogurt dip. We had the lamb curry, too, but with the large portions, had enough left over for another meal the next day. Try out this great Turkish place, its worth the visit. Unlike some of the other reviews, we had no issue with the service, we were seated promptly and our food came quickly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LEBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
“Try the Lamb Chops”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent service and clean premises! They have Halal meat and some of the staff also spoke Arabic - making it easy to order and get directions. very large portions for a very reasonable price!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SRA_Trainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The food used to be very good! It is not any more :(”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The first time we went there (two years ago) we were impressed by the quality of food. But the last two times we went there, we were really disappointed. They serve awesome bread and yogurt at the beginning of the meal, but that is the only good thing. All the kebabs are dry and the meat tasted awful. The rice was not cooked properly and we had to ask our server to change it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShookaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Questionable Service”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our first time here, and I got to say, from the moment we walked in, to the moment we were seated, I couldn't tell who were waiters and who were cooks. Combine that with a restaurant that doesn't look polished, and you got a disaster on your hands. We were seated promptly. But never got our drinks until after our appy. As we watched a line-up form at the door, tables being reserved for late guests created anger amung those waiting. Front table were being used, as where we were, and those tables didn't receive prompt service. Drink empty? O'well. Need a dessert menu? O'well. Need your bill? You get my point. Okay, for the good stuff. I mean food. Lavash bread was so good I had to order 2! However, disappointed as the chef who brought it over expected me to use the old yogurt dip instead of providing a new one. Thought it would be professional if you order a second. Overall, the food is worth going back for. Oh, and the Baklava, as yummy as it is, was a little small for either of us to appreciate. That said, I hope the owner will read this, update the restaurant, get some waiter uniforms, and keep the staff with a sharp eye for service, and a well needed host. While there we seen many customers that were already waiting to be seated by one waiter, be asked again by another waiter. Well, that's my two cents, hope you like the review.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank daedalas1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anatolia's Gate also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Anatolia's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing