We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Regular Destination with the Wife or Friends”
Review of Joey Burnaby

Joey Burnaby
Ranked #15 of 598 Restaurants in Burnaby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Free parking if you drive, and skytrain if you don't. Rooftop lounge and a big, comfy dining room.
Surrey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Regular Destination with the Wife or Friends”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Joey chain has to be one of my favourite restaurants. I normally go to Joey Burnaby (dozens of times) and occasionally Joey Coquitlam. All seem nice though.

FOOD
-great food and good value
-love the California Chicken Sandwich (Burger) with guacamole and fries (get a side of sambal mayo)
-love the Baja Fish Tacos
-people rave about their tuna

STAFF
-great staff who are friendly and attentive without being bothersome
-the Managers routinely keep and eye on everything


VENUE
-upbeat and trendy
-clean front to back
-I often see the Police eat here
-they have a restaurant side and lounge side



If you don't have a Joey in your neck of the woods, then these restaurants are a must if visiting Vancouver / Burnaby / Coquitlam / Bellevue (Washington)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuljinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Great food, service and ambience. Pretty simple recipe for success. I wish more restaurants were like this.

Helpful?
Thank Jsobol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A beautiful and amazing experience - Thank you Gillian for the moment”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I had booked reservations online and was amazed by the privacy and hospitality of the staff especially Gillian who made this a special night as I celebrated an anniversary with my girlfriend.

Arrived 30 minutes early and they seated us only with a few minute delay to make sure that a booth was available.
We were seated by the excellent Hostess/Server Gillian who took care of us during the evening. We ordered, asked upon numerous times about the food, service as well as refills and such.

The food menu and decor was beautiful and just an exceptional time.
At the end of the evening, we thanked Gillian and hope she's reading this as well as her Manager.
Above and beyond service, very courteous, kind and helpful. Also, compared to other places that I've been to, this by far beats all others in relation to service, decor, friendly and great team environment.

Looking forward to coming back again each year to celebrate our anniversary again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HandsomeDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Lunch with my son and three of his colleagues. Warm friendly and knowledgeable service. We all had different dishes and all were good or very good. I had the mozzarella, shrimp and pesto flatbread which was outstanding and just the right amount for lunch. They even have us some great samplers whilst we waited. All in all very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trom100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We first found Joey's in Kelowna a few years ago, then the great one on Broadway in Vancouver. But now we have found the new one in Burnaby. We have eaten here several times and yesterday we had a late lunch out on the patio. It was a glorious end-of-summer day. As ever, the menu was full of delicious things to eat. While we waited for our daughter to join us we ordered the little sushi rolls, which simply could not have been cuter in their bright coloured wraps and were stunningly fresh and just delicious. In our visits we have had various sandwiches, the tuna mango salad, the fish tacos, and many other things on the menu. The food is consistently delicious and fresh. Nice wine list. Nice service. I love to go to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey Burnaby also viewed

Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
 
Burnaby, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Joey Burnaby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing