We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Vancouver Metrotown
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed October 4, 2007

I booked this hotel through Hotwire and got it at $69/night. For $20 more I was able to get 2 queen sized beds instead of a king. I was quoted $175 over the phone when I called the property directly.

This hotel is conveniently located right next to Metrotown which is a massive shopping complex on the outskirts of Vancouver. For those people not familiar with Vancouver, Burnaby (where this hotel is located) is a suburb of Vancouver. If you are interested in going into downtown Vancouver, there is a skytrain station located very close to this hotel (less than 5 minute walk) which will get you into town in around 20-30 minutes (depending on rush hour).

The hotel itself was great--free underground parking and lots of it. The room I booked was very large, contained 2 comfortable queen size beds, a chair/ottoman, and a desk for business travellers. There was also an extra-deep bathtub in the bathroom. The rooms and hallways were very clean and we did not hear any beeping from the elevators as our room was far from it. The service we received at check in was also very friendly and efficient. Although we checked in at a peak time, there was no line up because there was plenty of staff to help the customers.

My only complaint about this hotel is that the windows did not open. I know this is an architectural issues with buildings that are made to be esthetically pleasing.

I did not give this hotel 5 stars as there was nothing that significantly "wowed" me.

I would definitely stay here again. I would not recommend it to people with young children (who aren't familiar with the city) or people with mobility issues. They might be better off staying in a downtown Vancouver hotel.

The Hotwire price is a fantastic value and it would be near impossible to find a hotel of this calibre in downtown Vancouver.

  • Liked — Price!
  • Disliked — Windows don't open
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripchick29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    532
    181
    41
    27
See reviews for
336
324
100
492
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Someone else said "four rough diamonds," and I would have to agree. Recently stayed on business.

Don't ask for a smoking room - they are all on the 4th floor with less than appealing views.

The room itself was dirty: carpeting, the lounge chair had what looked like urine stains all over the cushions. The washroom ceiling was yellow blotched. Shower curtain only partially hung. Washroom floor grout soiled.

There is no minibar in the room, no bathrobe. Ventilation system made this horrible grinding sound whenever adjusting the fan speed or temperature.

Housekeeping service inconsistent - sometimes the bed looked roughly made, others it was crisp.

Staff ranged from very friendly to apathetic. Not once did anyone ask if I had enjoyed my visit. Even at checkout, I was simply handed a bill... Didn't even ask if I needed a cab or to store luggage.

Staff tell you it's 15 minutes to downtown by skytrain - it's actually more like 30 minutes from Metrotown Station to Burrard.

The lobby is unappealing. I thought they had a pool it's actually just a single swimming lane.

I would not rate this hotel at the four-diamond level that's for sure. I expect a little more from Hilton and four-diamond rating.

Pluses: mp3 jack alarm clock, complimentary in-room coffee, complimentary internet - though the connection was flaky and i'm in IT so...

While it was not completely awful staff generally did not seem to care, basic four-diamond amenities missing. I will not return when next in Vancouver.

  • Liked — Free coffee, mp3 jack radio, free internet - when it worked.
  • Disliked — Cleanliness needs improving, staff don't seem to care, missing expected amentities.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cooltorontoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2007

The hotel is about two blocks from my apartment, but ended up having to stay there after coming home from vacation to incomplete reservations. Got home at 7am to my apartment in disarray do to incomplete renovations, called the Hilton and they said to come on over right away and they would have a room for us, even though it was quite early.

I should mention my parents are Hilton diamond members therefore that may have impacted the service we got. We arrived at the hotel just after 9am and got a very nice room on the 15th floor. Rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds. I found overall the hotel to be very nice, staff very friendly even the doorman constantly asking if we needed anything and joking around with us while we waited in the lobby. The staff here all should be comended I have never had better service!

The executive lounge is one of the best I've seen, amazing views of Burnaby and Vancouver. We went there for an evening snack and found enough to feed a small village, including ribs, spring rolls, and a delicous pasta dish. Also there was a vast selection of meats, chesses, taco chips, salsa ect also a variety of deserts. There is also a very large plasma tv. Overall the lounge is very good.

The hotel is in a great location, while not in the center of vancouver, it is only 1 block from the metrotown skytrain which will zip you downtown in 15 mins. Also the #19 stanley park bus leaves from metrotown and stops at several locations around downtown, this is also a night bus so it runs very late!

The hotel is located in a asian mall, crystal mall with lots of cheap shopping and eating opitions. Directly across from the Hilton is Metrotown, which is Canada's second largest mall, and has anything you may need.

Overall I highly enjoyed my stay and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cora_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

You get a bad impression when you first walk into the lobby - it's empty, aside from an ugly table and some artificial flowers. The rooms (exec floors) are vast and empty, with skinny plasterboard walls. Avoid 02 rooms like the plague unless you want to avoid sleeping. The lounge is minute, food well below average, drinks on that irritating “honor” basis, 42” plasmas inescapable. This is not a “real” Hilton. True, it’s not as dire as the Hilton Toronto Airport, but it has the feeling that it was once a Quality or Days Inn. Reading these other reviews makes me wonder whether I was staying in the same property…

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Fleabane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

We are checking out after three nights at this excellent property, and cannot praise the staff or hotel enough. It's location near the SkyTrain made all of our 'tourist' activities easy to attend, and the views from Burnaby overlooking Vancouver were panoramic and enjoyable.

The Executive Lounge served ample and satisfying selections for extended periods of time; 5am-9am and again from 5pm-9pm. Room service was rapid and accurate, and offered at the same price as in the restaurant.

The staff here excels in customer service. Able to answer almost any question, they are quick to provide both a map and printed directions to any location we queried. Housekeeping, while not intrusive, was always quick to spy when we had left and immediately attend to our room, including evening turn-down service, complete with chocolates on the pillow.

Our 2am check-in (yes, we were running about six hours late thanks to the airline) was cheery and welcoming, even if they did pull the old "As an HHonors Gold member, we have upgraded you to xxxx" where xxxx was exactly what I had reserved and paid for. (Executive King at $159 CAD + tax)

We will be returning to Vancouver soon, and have every intention of staying at this property again.

Tips: $8CAD will get you unlimited transport on SkyTrain and buses until 2am, effectively eliminating the need for rental cars or taxis during your stay. I do not recommend public transit with luggage. Taxi from airport in the middle of the night ran $29CAD. With the additional traffic of daytime travel, we are told to expect about a $38CAD fare back to YVR. Metrotown Shopping mall is the largest mall in BC and is one block from the hotel.

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Disliked — no complaint
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tahquitzinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

My wife, two children and I stayed at this Hilton property with points on Sept. 6. The location is ideal with a huge mall, plenty of eating options and the public tram within one block. Front desk staff was extremely helpful and they upgraded us to a suite with a beautiful view of downtown Vancouver and Grouse Mountain. Would recommend for both business or leisure.

  • Liked — Very clean and modern. Great executive lounge.
  • Disliked — No issues to note.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank goneallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
111 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

Very nice hotel, located quite close to central Vancouver (less than 20min from Stanley Park).
Rooms are great (ordered a king size bed one) with all needed comfort ; very friendly staff.
Parking (under the hotel) is free if you stay one night (otherwise $6 CA).
Definitively recommend it !

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tarik80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnaby
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Maywood
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#24 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,431 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Vancouver Metrotown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vancouver Metrotown

Property: Hilton Vancouver Metrotown
Address: 6083 McKay Ave, Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 2W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Burnaby
#2 Family Hotel in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Vancouver Metrotown 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore beautiful Vancouver and experience all that the Metropolis at Metrotown, British Columbia's biggest shopping and entertainment complex, has to offer when you stay at the Hilton Vancouver-Metrotown. Located in the City of Burnaby with Vancouver Sky Train only yards away, the attractions and businesses of downtown Vancouver are within easy reach 20 min Skytrain ride.Stay connected and productive in the 24-hour business center or get to work at the large desk in each Guest room. Surf the web with in-room high-speed internet access (nominal charges apply). Watch a movie on the television or listen your favorite album when you connect your MP3 player to the radio alarm clock. Guests staying in one of the hotel's Executive Rooms or Suites enjoy exclusive access to the Executive Lounge, serving complimentary breakfast in the morning and refreshments in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Vancouver Metrotown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vancouver Metrotown Hotel Burnaby
Hilton Hotel Burnaby
Hilton Burnaby
Burnaby Hilton Metrotown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing