We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have to stay in Burnaby it's okay I guess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Tlell, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you have to stay in Burnaby it's okay I guess”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I had to stay here for work travel. It was the only place not close to any late night restaurants, I swear. Standard room and service, no balconies though. Surrounded by a concrete jungle. I think it's partially in a mall. Convenient for bus routes.

Room Tip: If you can find one with an opeining window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerHaiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I'm surprised that you did not find one of the dozens of restaurants directly around our hotel. We have a list of them at the front desk for you, as well as many delivery menus to suit every taste. We are located in the most popular area of Burnaby - Metrotown. There are 3 major office towers, as well as many residential towers. We are directly adjacent to the largest shopping and entertainment complex in BC, and directly across from the Metrotown Skytrain station, making downtown Vancouver a short 15 minute ride away on rapid transit.

We hope to see you again when your travels next bring you to our area.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    118
    56
    12
    14
See reviews for
82
63
29
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Lost our keys to the house after a late night movie.. So crashed at this hotel around 2:30am.. Concierge was friendly, we didn't try room service. Tv service was good, wifi was good. Breakfast was very filling and fresh.
Overall, no complaints here. Also we happened to break the coffee pot by mistake but they Sid they won't charge us..

This is a central location with good commuting options via skytrain and bus.. That's why I live here! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarti s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear aarti s,

Thank you for your review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our great location as well as friendly staff. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge their good stay.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

About 20 min ride by Skytrain to downtown, less than 3 minute walk from Skytrain exit, and supermarket(s) just beside it, for solo traveler with a tight budget (and a little spare time) ,this hotel is excellent for location and price.
The room is clean and comfortable. Did not expect speckless tiles or luxurious mood at the first place, so to my opinion, it's quite up to the standard supposedly to have. Breakfast so-so, staff helpful, no problem at all. .
Only thing to say is about the air-con machine:it got really noisy while it operates. Outside the window were air-con tanks form nearby mall, so it gets noisy even from the outside. If you are sensitive to noise and coming during summer, consider.

Room Tip: There was a large construction site just beside the hotel at 2013 summer. Ask a room NOT facing it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggy_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. I am sorry that your a/c unit was a bit noisy. I hope that you alerted our staff so our maintenance department could take a look at the unit. We have recently completed replacement of every unit in the hotel, and the newer units are much quieter when operating as they should. I hope that we can once again offer you accommodation when you are in our area.

Linda Griffiths - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I didn't expect anything special here, and I didn't get it. Overall, no complaints but I think I can get better value for money elsewhere, including many of the good hotels downtown. Remember when HIEx was one of the lower-priced options? No more ...

Access from the Skytrain is a bit odd; down a dark staircase, across a bus bay, over dimly-lit curb that tripped my wife up.

Room was satisfactory. Bed a bit soft, but that's an individual thing. Heating-cooling system that was simple to use, not too loud, and effective, although it didn't respond for a few minutes and we wondered if it would work at all.

I didn't have high expectations for breakfast, having had many a continental-plus breakfast. But golly. I had an omelet-like disk and another sausage-like disk, neither of which would have met even Costco's standards; couldn't finish them. Dry, boring pastries. Fairly good coffee. Free newspapers.

No problem with the construction, since we weren't there in working hours, but our south-facing room on the 5th of 6 floors was right above a busy bus bay. The Skytrain was a gentle whirr in the background, and the buses weren't noisy, EXCEPT that they all have the low-floor entry, and every time the bus door opens it is requires to beep repeatedly to warn people. Not enough to wake you up, but if you are up in the night it is loud and frequent enough to be a small issue. But eventually there will be a gap in the buses and it's back to dreamland. If you're a light sleeper, ask to be across the hall.

Room Tip: Avoid south side over bus bays. Height doesn't help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kawaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear kawaguy,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I traveled to Vancouver from Michgan for work and stayed for two weeks. The location was perfect as it was across the street from the train station and next to a mall. I left my fan run at night and could not hear the train coming and going. The hot breakfast every morning served a variety for anyone's tastes. The laundry facility was adequate. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was accommodating and kind. I would stay here again over and over.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have stayed at this location several times and it has been uniformly good. The location was ideal with a good sushi restaurant and several family type restaurants a short walk away. However, there is a massive re-construction around the hotel site and all of the surrounding buildings have been torn down. Part of the hotel itself also appears to be under construction. Our room was looking a bit tired and the carpet clearly needed replacing. No complaints about the service but this is not the place it used to be. Once all the construction is done, it will likely be a top choice again. Give it a year or so.

Room Tip: The formerly "quiet" side would be the north side, but that now faces a huge construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagebrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. It is true that there is a lot of construction in our area, and the adjacent mall (Station Square) is undergoing a significant renovation. This works takes place between 8 am and 5 pm on weekedays. We expect the mall renovation to be complete in 6 to 8 months, however, during that time, our hotel remains fully operational. We are also currently undertaking renovations to our hotel. We have already completed the breakfast bar and fitness room, and the meeting rooms will be complete by the end of October. During December and January, we will be completely refreshing all of our guestrooms, including furniture, seating, draperies, wallpaper, and carpeting. We will complete the guestroom renovations in phases, so that we can take sections of rooms out of order so as not to impact guest stays. We work hard to ensure the comfort of our guests while we undertake these upgrades, to ensure your stay will not be affected. I know you will love our newly renovated hotel when it is complete at the beginning of the new year.

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were welcomed by professional staff and they found us a room although we were well ahead of booking in time. This room was opposite the Sky Train Station and as I suffer from migraines I could not cope with the noise every few minutes. The reception staff quickly and without fuss offered us another room to check out and this one was quiet at night which is the main thing. Yes, there is building work going on at the rear but it is only between 8am and 5pm. The room had a microwave and fridge in addition to the usual amenities we are used to in England. Plastic cutlery is available at reception. The breakfast had in addition to the usual, a pancake machine and warm cinnamon buns (yum!). The pool and patio looked inviting with swimming towels available. We used Sky Train frequently to get into the centre of Vancouver, average time 18 mins.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amdramhwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of our hotel - I appreciate it very much. All of our guest service team endeavor to make each guest's stay as comfortable as possible, and I am glad we helped to make your visit a good one.

We hope to see you again when you next come to our area.

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnaby
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 90 in Vancouver
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Address: 4405 Central Blvd. | Beside Metrotown Shopping and Entertainment Complex, Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 4M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby > Maywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated hotel, guestrooms, conference space and all public space. The Burnaby Hotel 18 min to downtown, BC Place, Rogers Arena & Vancouver Convention Centre by Skytrain. Connected to Metropolis at Metrotown the 2nd largest shopping and entertainment complex in Canada. The hotel also offers complementary full hot buffet breakfast, underground parking and wifi. The location is ideal for leisure and corporate guests looking for Greater Vancouver accommodations also close to companies like Translink, Electronic Arts, BC Hydro and Telus. The hotel offers conference space with natural light, the Fraser Ballroom can accommodate upto 150 for a sitdown dinner with outdoor terraces as well as a boardroom for upto 10 guests. Full service catering and A/V equipment. Additional amenities include outdoor pool and sun deck and business centre.The adjacent area is undergoing renovation and there may be construction noise during the day from 8 am to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnaby
Holiday Inn Burnaby
Burnaby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing